We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Comfortable Accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Park City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Comfortable Accommodations”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I recently stayed at the White Elephant Residences and had a wonderful stay. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious. The service is great and the staff does a wonderful job. They truly go above and beyond. They are located in a convenient location that is close to town and close to the water.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrdirsteins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania J, Manager at White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear hrdirsteins,
Thank you very much for your review. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that the rooms and staff have been received by you so positively.
I hope you will return.
Kind Regards,
Tania Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    10
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
55
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We've stayed here twice, and each time it has been lovely. The rooms are spacious and the beds comfortable. The service is competent and unobtrusive. The rooms are more than clean, the bathrooms luxurious, the linens top-notch. The pool is great for kids (not for lap swimmers, but where is there such a place?) and the property is close to beaches and about a 5 minute stroll from town. The only time we needed to use taxis was to go to and from the airport. Food at the Brant Point Grille was excellent. We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BakerNomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania J, Manager at White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Bakernomi,
It was so nice of you to take the time to write your review. Its great to know you have become a regular and enjoy the amenities and location. Im glad to know you'll be back!
Kind Regards,
Tania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

If you're not looking to be right directly on the beach, this is an amazing option as it's still right on the water (marina-side) and right in the middle of town; steps from all of the charming shopping, restaurants, pubs and the very active marina (we love the villagey-feel so it was perfect for us). It's a two minute walk to "children's beach" which has a great jungle gym set up and a life guard (great for the kids!); and it's about a 12 minute walk to "Jetty Beach" which has a very fun pavilion restaurant with cocktails and a beach toy store ---- gorgeous beach.

As for the hotel itself, we originally booked the least expensive room in the newer main hotel section, 'the Inn,' which was room #32. It was perfectly fine; gorgeous and modern, but felt really cramped for my husband, myself and our 3-year old son. So, we made the decision for the super splurge upgrade to the Wampanog Suite (sp?) which was a 2nd level two bedroom suite complete with well appointed kitchen (everything you need except a stove/oven), a fireplace and a large living room. It was just beautiful; clean modern bathrooms and extremely high end linens. We all slept extremely well!

There is one pool and it is more than adequate, although we wished it had a hot tub --- but it was fine. There is pool-side service offering light snacks and a light drink menu and they were on point with complimentary refreshments, etc. The Brant Point Grill is a huge treat --- highly recommend any meal there; delicious and right on the water/marina.

The White Elephant offers complimentary bicycles, bottled water and daily snacks/coffee/tea in the lobby.

Service at The White Elephant is an 11 out of 10; anything you could want is arranged. I was in the mood for a manicure/pedicure --- the White Elephant Spa doesn't have a salon, so the concierge had me booked at J. Pareve Salon (2 minute walk away) in a matter of seconds. It's just that kind of place; remarkable service.

If you happen to be there on a rainy day, bring a glass of wine and snuggle up in the gorgeous lobby by the fireplace and play any one of the dozens of offered board games --- very fun.

Important to note: Unless you're staying in the main "Inn" building of the hotel, it appeared as though 'handicap accessible' features were very hard to come by on this property and in Nantucket in general. The building our 2nd story room was in had no elevator (there are 3 levels); so we hauled our strolled up and down the stairs (a minor annoyance); just something to keep in mind.

I would highly recommend the White Elephant!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania J, Manager at White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear RLA,
That really is a lovely review of the staff and property and we really appreciate it! I am so pleased you were happy with the décor of both styles of accommodations at the White Elephant Village, and as you so eloquently put it "the suites in the Inn are gorgeous and modern" I do agree with you that the space of the Residences is more ideal for a family situation, especially if staying longer than a couple of days. It really was fun to read your review and know how much you enjoyed the island as well. I think it is a truly magical place!
We look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards,
Tania Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Arrived late on a Friday night and the only room available wasn't as reserved/specified. The next day Manager Tania Jones made everything right and then some and turned a potentially unpleasant situation into a fond memory. Her staff were extraordinarily friendly and helpful throughout our long weekend. Judy is probably the best Concierge on the island. This is a great location for seeing the town while not being overwhelmed by the crowds. Pool, bikes, beach chairs and toys, coolers, etc, all available without charge. Be sure and take the complimentary boat from their sister property ( 5 min walk), The White Elephant, across the bay to lunch or dinner at Toppers at The Wauwinet. Great views and delicious meal. Have the oysters farmed right off their coast within sight of the table. Property only about a year old so everything is new. I think this is the best place to stay on the island.

Room Tip: Suite 31 is the two story Penthouse Suite, but still very reasonably priced, and has an outdoor dec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wpm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania J, Manager at White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear wpm3,
Thank you very much for your review. I am so pleased to hear that your initial problem with the room was solved and that we were able to turn your experience into such a happy stay. Judy really is a wealth of knowledge and she will be delighted to hear that you took the time to mention her. We certainly hope to see you again and thanks again for such a lovely review!
Kind Regards,
Tania Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This was my first time to visit Nantucket, my travel companion had been here numerous times before. On her recommendation, we stayed here at the White Elephant. All I can say is wow! An absolutely amazing place - great location, excellent service and just beautiful properties.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oks943idk4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania J, Manager at White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear oks943idk4,
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted you enjoyed our property and services. I know its a bit of a trek from the UK, but hopefully you will be able to return again!
Kind Regards,
Tania Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This was my first visit to Nantucket and having had such an enjoyable stay at the White Elephant Residences I will definitely be returning.

The first thing we saw when we arrived was the amazing reception area, I honestly think I could have stayed in here it was so gorgeous, the decoration is beautiful and everything is in-keeping with the White Elephant brand (I'm a brand girl and the little touches really impressed me)

The staff were really helpful and friendly throughout our stay, keeping our mimosas topped at the bar and lending us the bikes (and helmets!) to ride around the island. I would definitely recommend this activity, we took a fairly long bike ride down to the beach and it was so pretty.

The accommodation was great and everything you want is within a short distance. the staff were really helpful when it came to recommendations for places to eat and things to do.

I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania J, Manager at White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Carlie83,
Thank you so much for your review. Its so great to hear how much you enjoyed staying here and we look forward to welcoming you as our guest again, hopefully soon!.
Kind Regards,
Tania Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We paid a full price to stay here in late August 2013. Our fifth hotel in a world trip taking in seven countries and around ten hotels. Some of these are exceptional hotels in major cities, so we have good comparative benchmarks. Where do I start?

- Room 35 is very small. Beautifully finished but nowhere really to sit, no room for bags. Claustrophobic.
- Minimal view. Looked into a wall. Zero outlook. Very disappointing.
- No dining facilities, no room service. Perhaps we should have read the fine print better.
- Staff, in general, were disinterested. It showed in many ways. Perfunctory verging on rude. Casual verging on dismissive. They didn't seem too happy themselves.
- Attention to detail lacking in some key areas. We were given bikes with flat tires and a brake that didn't work. The attendant swapped them out but didn't send them off to be fixed - they may have been offered to some other poor guest. Safety first!!!

In summary, this is a very poor cousin the the White Elephant hotel, which has views, F&B, friendly staff and feels like a proper hotel. We would not return, and leave this place feeling like we have been fleeced for the US$750 per night (plus taxes) that we paid.

Postscript: you may think "it's an island, its peak season, what did you expect?" Well, it's really simple: training, courtesy, attention to detail and some typically warm and graceful American hospitality could have transformed this from a lamentable experience to something considerably better.

Room Tip: Choose the sister hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania J, Manager at White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Roger S,
This was a very difficult review for me to read as I can see on no level did we meet even basic expectations. There is no excuse for any of your observations. I am just saddened that you had what amounts to a very poor experience and will reach out to you directly as well. We take this kind of feedback very seriously and it will be dissected piece by piece for all of us here to work on to hopefully ensure this is not repeated.
Kind Regards,
Tania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.2 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
443 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#11 of 14 in Nantucket
230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 14 in Nantucket
463 reviews
2.6 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 14 in Nantucket
270 reviews
0.1 mi away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nantucket
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn

Property: White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
Address: 19 N Water St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3561
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the White Elephant Village on Nantucket Island.The Village comprises the intimate Inn and the spacious Residences where guests enjoy all the pampering, amenities and services ofthe acclaimed White Elephant Hotel.Ideal for a family vacation, a couple’s getaway, or a weekendescape with friends, the Village offers accommodations from deluxeInn guest rooms and suites to three–bedroom Residences, each with aspacious living room and pantry.Set amidst beautiful gardens and beckoning pathways, theVillage offers guests exclusive access to a stunning lobby, the hub formorning coffee and afternoon snacks, the heated outdoor poolfor treats like ice cream served from an old fashioned cart, to a poolcabana for an afternoon nap. Guests can also access the White Elephant Spa and Brant Point Grill-both just a block away at the White Elephant Hotel.When not relaxing, guests can work out in the fitness room,set off on a bike ride (bikes on us), or meander through townbrowsing the unique shops and galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing