We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice property”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is a nice hotel only a block or two from downtown Nantucket with shops and restaurants. The hotel gave us bikes during our stay at no charge. We rode them to various beaches on the island. The hotel also provides tea and coffee - in your room and at reception. There is also a pool. The staff is very nice and seems to want to be helpful and make your stay enjoyable. Although for our entire stay (almost a week) they called us by the wrong name. Every time we called. I ask that this be fixed - repeatedly. On our last day they booked us a taxi to the airport - under the wrong name! There was a lot of confusion and frustration. It's annoying to be repeatedly called Mr and Mrs so-and-so when this is not your name. We think it must have been the people who were in our room before us.
Also, lunch at the pool is not good. We ordered fruit salad. It had four very thin slices of melon and a strawberry! That's it! And it cost around $12. It was a joke. It wasn't even enough as a snack.
Otherwise the hotel is nice and I do recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovestotravel156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania J, Manager at White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear lovestotravel156,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay. I must apologize again for the incorrect name usage, we did indeed have a glitch in the phone system and it was pulling the wrong name during your stay. I can imagine myself how frustrating that must have been for you and we are sincerely sorry, this has been corrected, but it should have been corrected in a much more timely fashion. Your comment on the fruit salad definitely highlighted another issue that has also been taken care of. Thank you very much for your kind words about the staff and the amenities that you did enjoy. I truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again!
Kind Regards,
Tania Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    8
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
45
54
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hyannis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed in June for a quick getaway before summer gets into full swing. Had fantastic weather for the whole trip and the experience was made even better by the friendly and helpful staff.

Victor greeted us at the dock and shuttled us to the Inn. On the way he suggested places to have dinner and even called the hotel to have someone (Rosie) make our dinner reservations. Upon check-in we were greeted warmly by the front desk and then Victor showed us to the room. He took the time to go over the room with us so we were comfortable and ensured everything was in order. We had a single king room which was well-appointed, clean and comfortable. We were right around the corner from the desk and a short walk to the hotel pool and downtown.

We took advantage of the complimentary bicycles which was a great way to explore downtown and even made the trek on the bike path to Surfside Beach. The desk provided helmets, locks, and even gave us some bottle water for the trip.

Although we spent most of our brief stay off property, whenever we ran into a staff member they greeted us with a smile and made us feel welcome. I would highly recommend the property to anyone coming to Nantucket. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania J, Manager at White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Jason C,
Thank you kindly for your review. We are so pleased you had such a nice time and enjoyed the bikes and the weather. Thank you very much for your comments about the staff, these will be shared, in particular with Victor and Rosie, we are very lucky to have so many veteran staff who truly enjoy taking care of our guests.
June is such a pretty, non hectic time on the island, perhaps if you enjoy that slower pace we will see you again in September?
Kind Regards,
Tania Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This high-end property is extremely well conceived and beautifully designed. We originally booked at the hotel, but we upgraded to the Village to able to use their heated swimming pool which is restricted to Village guests, only. We saw the accommodations in the hotel and the Village, so we can compare--they are both really tasteful, but boy o boy, the Village is so fresh! If you can afford it, go for it! Life is short is what we told ourselves.
Our suite was in mint condition; bathrooms out of the pages of AD, bedrooms tasteful and service personnel presenting the room (Pete) was fantastic. We simply fell right into the rhythm of the property which is silence even on the charming street. We felt as though we were in our own newly appointed apartment.
Nantucket is high-end and this ranks among the terrific restful weekends we will ever have..o and the weather was perfect!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MVeeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania J, Manager at White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear MVeec,
What a lovely review. We are delighted to hear how much your enjoyed the style and comfort of the rooms. I will be sure to share this with all the staff, especially Pete. It is so kind of you to mention him by name.
We look forward to welcoming you as our guests again in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards,
Tania Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My Wife and I stayed in the White Elephant Village in April on our Honeymoon. Our suite was luxurious, stylish and welcoming; with a note & thoughtful gift to congratulate us on our wedding.
From the moment we arrived on the Island and were chauffeured to our suite, every member of staff went above and beyond to make our stay truly enjoyable. A special mention must go to Kylie, the Housekeeping manager, who organised some dress suit alterations at incredibly short notice. The customer service is exceptional and truly unique!

We will be back to stay at our next available opportunity. We can't recommend the White Elephant highly enough!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OAW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania J, Manager at White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear OAW2013,
Thank you very much for your review and congratulations again on your recent wedding. Im so pleased Kylie was able to help you out, we are lucky to have such a skilled seamstress on staff who has more than once been able to help out in an emergency.
We look forward to seeing you again!
Kind Regards,
Tania Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waitsfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

First, the hotel in reality met the promise of the photos. No "camera angle" tricks. Second, the bathroom was first class. Third, the suite was a perfect layout: small, cozy, bright, & comfortable. It was too rainy for us to use the pool, but we did make use of the hotel ride service, due to that same rain. Awesome! We also used Wave passes to tour the island. Fourth, we'll be back in Sept. terrific, pampering experience.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Regalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania J, Manager at White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Regalla,
Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your suite and the amenities and services. September is such a special time on the island, we look forward to taking care of you on your next visit!
Kind Regards,
Tania Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

White Elephant Village RESIDENCES top them all! We had a 2 Bedroom Suite this past weekend and love it! It does not get any better than the Residences at White Elephant on the island of Nantucket. Spacious quiet rooms. Nice living room common area. Terrific location with close 5 minute walk into town. Pool with cabanas. Great amenities like beach chairs and unlimited bottle water (the 4 adults might have consumed 20 bottles over the 3 days!). Friendly staff that is very accommodating. We did the White Elephant Hotel last year and now will make the Residences an annual trip!

Room Tip: Try to get 2nd Floor Room in Residences! Very Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania J, Manager at White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Tim M,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Its so nice to read how much you enjoyed the amenities and the property. Glad to hear you'll be back!
Kind Regards,
Tania Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My wife and I recently visited the White Elelphant Village for our 25th Anniversary. We could not have been happier with our stay. The staff was excellent and some of the most professional staff I have ever had dealings with on a trip. They welcomed us early and had even upgraded us to a junior suite at no charge. There was a Bottle of wine and a note wishing us a happy anniversary. Al one of the staff was extremely helpful bringing us ice whenever we needed it and giving us ride in the courtesy vehicle to a restaurant outside the area when we had a hard time finding one open downtown we liked. This place gives exceptional service without being over bearing as can be the case. We would definetly recommend to anyone and would stay here again on our next visit

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania J, Manager at White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Steven H Coventry,
Thank you so much for your kind words. Im delighted to hear you and your wife enjoyed your anniversary with us. The staff were all thrilled to read your comments. Hopefully we will see you on your next anniversary or maybe before?
Kind Regards,
Tania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.2 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
437 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#11 of 14 in Nantucket
218 reviews
2.6 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 14 in Nantucket
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#3 of 14 in Nantucket
273 reviews
0.3 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 14 in Nantucket
451 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn

Property: White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
Address: 19 N Water St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3561
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the White Elephant Village on Nantucket Island.The Village comprises the intimate Inn and the spacious Residences where guests enjoy all the pampering, amenities and services ofthe acclaimed White Elephant Hotel.Ideal for a family vacation, a couple’s getaway, or a weekendescape with friends, the Village offers accommodations from deluxeInn guest rooms and suites to three–bedroom Residences, each with aspacious living room and pantry.Set amidst beautiful gardens and beckoning pathways, theVillage offers guests exclusive access to a stunning lobby, the hub formorning coffee and afternoon snacks, the heated outdoor poolfor treats like ice cream served from an old fashioned cart, to a poolcabana for an afternoon nap. Guests can also access the White Elephant Spa and Brant Point Grill-both just a block away at the White Elephant Hotel.When not relaxing, guests can work out in the fitness room,set off on a bike ride (bikes on us), or meander through townbrowsing the unique shops and galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing