We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Get Away”
Review of 76 Main

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
76 Main
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My family recently stayed at 76 Main Street in Nantucket for the Thanksgiving holiday weekend. We felt the Inn was meticulously maintained, that the three rooms we reserved were comfortable and nicely decorated and that the staff were pleasant and accomodated any needs. The Inn is situated on a lovely street close to town shopping and resturaunts. A highlight of the trip was meeting Vice President Biden and several of his secret service staff who were in Nantucket for the holiday. In addition, we found all aspects of this community (retailors, resturaunt staff, ferry personnel) to be friendly and welcoming. We will look forward to a future stay at the Inn and would highly recommend it to potential guests.

Room Tip: I believe any room located at the Inn would be a good choice. Personally, I would not want to be pl...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBellardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at 76 Main, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

We are so pleased that you chose our Nantucket boutique hotel for your family's Thanksgiving getaway. It is gratifying to read your compliments on 76 Main being "meticulously maintained" and your praise for our decor and service. Thank you for your kind words and may you have a joyous holiday season. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
There are newer reviews for 76 Main
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

I have lived on the Cape most of my life and work at a popular beach front resort on the Cape so a little get away to visit friends on Nantucket did not lead me to expect much different than what I have experienced. Initially the price was beyond my expectation but after staying there and receiving the treatment they provided, I was amazed and felt it was all well worth it! Everything about the place is quaint and elegant. The bed was unbelievably comfortable and I enjoyed the style of the interior decorations throughout the property. The customer service was also superb. The location is also terrific; right near shopping, dining and the ferry. I highly recommend staying here and will continue to every time I visit Nantucket!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at 76 Main, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

We are thrilled that we exceeded your expectations and that you had a great time at our Nantucket boutique hotel. We greatly appreciate your recommendation and are pleased that you found the beds to be "unbelievably comfortable" and the service to be superb. Also, thanks for the kudos on our decor. Our interior designer, Rachel Reider, is fantastic and we feel she's created such a special environment at 76 Main. We look forward to being your "main stay" on Nantucket! hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I stayed here during the off season. Location CANNOT be beat (right at the end of Main Street). It is beautiful inside as it was recently remodeled. I stayed in room 7 (on the second floor) and was happy with the size. It’s definitely smaller (queen bed, chair, two end tables and small dresser) and I felt I had enough space to move around in the bathroom (full bathtub). It is definitely charming, while updated and remodeled. The only downside to room 7 was it was right next to the stairs to the third floor, so it was easy to hear people coming up and down.


I will agree that breakfast in the morning was nothing to write home about – but there are some good bakeries in town and there was enough (fruit/muffins/yogurt) to get you started for the day. Interestingly, both inn keepers are leaving (I wonder if that says something about management) so keep in mind as new inn keepers come in – but all in all I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lovetotravel352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at 76 Main, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our boutique Nantucket hotel and liked the beautiful results of our renovation. While we are sorry to see our current resident managers move on, we are committed to the level of service that has become a trademark of 76 Main and hope you'll return again. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed at 76 Main for an anniversary weekend and it was fantastic. We stayed in one of the guest cottages off of the courtyard and the room was spacious, clean and decorated perfectly for a Nantucket get away. The breakfast food that they served each morning was great - homemade scones, croissants, muffins along with cereals, fruits, coffee and juices. The location is perfect - conveniently located in town and a short walk from either the Steamship or Hyline ferry. The managers were on-site and accessible for questions. Loved the weekend and hope to return each year - 76 Main is great!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4Family2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at 76 Main, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

We are so pleased to hear that you loved your stay and (it appears!) everything about 76 Main. We are honored that you chose to stay at our Nantucket boutique hotel to celebrate your special occasion. We would love it if you made a visit to us an annual occasion. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed at 76 Main for 3 nights in mid October with another couple. First, the inn is beautifully decorated, newly renovated, and very clean. We both booked "petite queen" rooms for the same price, which are the least expensive option offered. We stayed in room #12 which is on the 3rd floor and were very happy with our room. It wasn't overly large, but it was comfortable. The bathroom was a decent size and nicely renovated. The only complaint we had were the scratchy polyester sheets. Our friends had room #5 on the second floor. Although nicely decorated, it was half the size of our room. There was very little floor space other than a path to walk around the bed. The sink was in the corner of the bedroom because it didn't fit in the incredibly small bathroom. When you stepped out of the shower, you were pretty much walking into the toilet. Needless to say, especially after having seen our room which was the same price, our friends were rather disappointed with their cramped room. This room should be significantly discounted from the other rooms and the description of the room/bathroom should be more clear so there are no surprises upon arrival. There is a decent continental type breakfast offered in the dining area each morning. There is also a nice patio area outside. In the evening (at least on weekends) there are drinks on the patio around 5pm. You bring your own alcohol and they provide a limited selection of mixers (soda, tonic, etc). There is a gas firepit on the patio. The ignition switch is faulty, so the fire dies out every 15 minutes, and you need to find an inn keeper to re-light it. It would be nice if this problem was rectified. Also, on our last night there, we wanted to sit outside and have a fire around 7:30pm. The woman working that night, although friendly, told my friend when she asked for the cushions that go on the outdoor couches by the firepit, that she had already taken them inside for the night. I then spoke with her myself, and offered to bring the cushions back inside when we were done. She did agree at this point to take them back out. I don't understand advertising a firepit and outdoor seating to people if it's unavailable at 7:30pm? The location of the inn is great. Just steps into town, and a 5 minute walk from the ferry. As a whole, the inn itself is very nice. The innkeepers were nice as well, but the level of service could be stepped up a notch, and the description of room #5 needs to be more clear.

Room Tip: If booking a petite queen, book room #12, avoid room #5, its TINY and the bathroom sink is in the be...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spec784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at 76 Main, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you so much for your review and thoughts. We are pleased that you found 76 Main to be beautiful and enjoyed your stay despite some issues. Regarding the size of your room as compared to your travel companions -- we agree that there is a disparity and we will be changing the classification going forward into 2014 so that they are not considered to be in the same room type. You made a fair point that needs to be addressed. In addition, we have contacted your friends to discuss the matter directly with them.

We also have spoken to our onsite managers about the fire pit and cushions and we believe that we have corrected those areas of concern. We can understand your disappointment when the courtyard experience wasn't as you anticipated it would be -- it is really a central perk of the property. Thank you for sharing your disappointment and for giving us the opportunity to improve. We hope to see you again at 76 Main or at another of our Lark Hotels in New England.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

76 Main was the perfect two night getaway. Our kids gave it to us as a 40th wedding Anniv. present, and we were thrilled. Every detail was perfect. It was a cross between a boutique hotel and a cozy B & B. The smell of Scallion and Asiago Cheese scones woke me up the first meeting, and no rush to get down and enjoy. Breakfast was serve yourself til 11:00. Coffee, pastries, cereal, fruits, juice- and something homemade each morning. The managers were very nice and so helpful with anything we needed. Our room was just right for two, and extremely clean. The decorations were classy but not fussy. Everything had a crisp, clean design to it, while being a cozy and comfy place to stay. I would stay at any of the Lark hotels anytime if they are all like 76 Main.

Room Tip: We stayed in the upstairs and it was delightful. Our room had a bathroom plenty big for just us two...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmoe57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at 76 Main, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

It was lovely to have you stay. We are so honored that your kids choose our Nantucket boutique hotel as your destination for your 40th wedding anniversary. Thank you for your review and thoughts about our "classy but not fussy" decor and yummy, but not overdone, breakfasts. We look forward to welcoming you back to 76 Main or to one of our other Lark Hotels soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My husband and I decided to stay at 76 Main the week after labor day for a little “babymoon”. We booked about three weeks prior to our stay and had to move rooms which was not a big deal at all and the housekeeping made it as painless as possible by allowing us to leave our luggage in the current room and then moved it to the new one while we were out for the day. The location of the inn is perfect – it is just steps from town but still far enough away to ensure a quiet nights rest. We were told that there was limited parking, which was the case – but that it was not a big deal as busses ran cheap to all of the beaches and they would provide us with beach chairs and towels. Sounded like a plan to us! However when we arrived (as I mentioned the week after labor day) we found out that the busses had stopped running to all but one beach… felt mislead by inn management who obviously did not know what they were talking about. They did follow through with great beach chairs, towels, and an umbrella though which was appreciated. Not wanting to take cabs back and forth every day – we took the bus to the same beach every day.
The inn was beautiful – you could tell recently tastefully renovated. I loved the back patio area where you could enjoy coffee , a nice book, or drink in the afternoon. Our first room was a deluxe king at the bottom of the stairs. This room had AC which made it very comfortable, and faced bushes which made it nice and quiet. The linen on the bed was incredible! I need to find out where it is from so I can also buy it. The inn is kind enough to provide water in the rooms and i pads to help you with your trip – nice touch. One piece of advice as to be expected in almost all Nantucket Inn’s is that the bathrooms are tiny. Not just small but uber tiny. The stall shower we had in our deluxe king room was not pregnant friendly. I was uncomfortable showering every day and I think more water ended up out of the stall than in… Other gripes about the room include a very hard knotted rug under the bed. It hurt our feet just to step on it – rude awakening for a preggo who is up frequently through the night. A nice pair of slippers would have been appreciated to help ease the pain. The main light in our room would not turn on. When we asked management they told us it did not work due to an upstairs leak… The room was beautiful though, with a comfy bed, and actually quite spacious for Nantucket standards. The second half of the week we were upstairs in a queen room, number 8 which was lovely as well with the exception of the temp. There was no AC in this room and the windows were forced shut so that we could not open them… strange. There was no way to manage the temperature in the room and it became very hot overnight. Not wanting to wake anyone up I told Katie the next day – she fixed it as best she could. Family tip – they have guest houses removed from the main inn, which are great for families and come with a mini fridge.
Breakfast was ok each morning – they had the same types of muffins, scones, cereal, and juice – which were tasty. Some mornings the breakfast was not out in time for when they advertised, which was annoying as we paid for it, and had some early morning tours – lighthouse and boat trip that we were counting on a quick breakfast for. For coffee they had k-cups… huge disappointment – this is what we have at home. I would much prefer a fresh brewed cup then out of a cup that I get at home on a weekday. Also disappointing was there was not the standard afternoon coffee, tea, and snack that every other inn I have ever stayed at offers. Overall the management seemed tired and over the summer season, which was quite a disappointment for our only trip this year. Katie was ok, and was really trying. But Scott seemed awkward during interactions and non-chalant about everything. Based on our experience and number of choices on the island we will most likely not be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennaBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at 76 Main, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

We appreciate your review and feedback. Although we are pleased that you enjoyed the beauty of the inn and some aspects of 76 Main, we are sorry to hear that it did not live up to your expectations. We just want to let you know that we hear you and that your thoughts about the end-of-season experience you had regarding timing of breakfast and the bus service have certainly been taken into consideration. We also are addressing the air conditioning issues in some rooms over the off-season. We did want to mention that we do have freshly brewed coffee every morning -- made from locally roasted beans. The Keurig machine is also there so that our guests can enjoy coffee all day long. We apologize that that escaped your notice and will make sure it is more clear in the future. Again, we appreciate your comments and hope that you reconsider visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.2 mi away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nantucket
188 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#10 of 14 in Nantucket
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 14 in Nantucket
467 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#9 of 14 in Nantucket
236 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 76 Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 76 Main

Address: 76 Main St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Price Range: £125 - £352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 76 Main 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit and discover an impeccably designed Nantucket boutique hotel offering exceptional rooms and amenities; the ultimate relaxing “Nantucket getaway” courtyard; an all-day coffee cafe; the latest tech amenities; and exceptional (yet unobtrusive) service. Located in a landmark neighborhood in the heart of town, this luxury Nantucket hotel is currently undergoing a major renovation. Book now and be one of the first to experience the comfortably refined sophistication of this intimately sized and design-driven boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your 76 Main reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
76 Main Street Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing