We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Nantucket Stay”
Review of Hawthorn House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hawthorn House
Ranked #18 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 November 2007

I have now stayed at the Hawthorn House multiple times, and every time has been absolutely amazing! You can't beat it for convenience to Main Street for all the shopping in downtown Nantucket, and you feel like you are really staying in someone's home!

From the moment I arrived, I was welcomed by the proprietors, and felt like I was staying with family. They were extremely friendly and provided me with details about where to go, what to see, and where to eat. You can tell when you stay at the Hawthorn House that they really try to make you feel as comfortable as possible.

The inn itself was beautifully kept, and all the rooms were absolutely spotless. The beds were very comfortable, and being able to take a walk to the wharf in only a few minutes was wonderful! I would recommend the Hawthorn House to anyone and everyone considering a trip to Nantucket. If you want a real home away from home, there is no other choice!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MichaelOBrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2007

This was a wonderful Bed and Breakfast! It's a great location for shopping, bike riding, eating, and close to the wharf. It was easy to find our way around and the small walk was excellent! The rooms are very cozy...quaint rooms, great decor, and not to mention the fresh flowers! Diane and Mitchell were great help with our wedding plans, and were very sweet! I would recommend this B&B for anyone of any age! It made our Honeymoon on Nantucket even better!!!
Yalanda & Dennis Dickson

Stayed: September 2007
2  Thank ydickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2007

We had a wonderfully cozy room at the the top of the house. It had a private bath and window air condintioner. We could see the ocean from our window. Across the street was the vistor center. With in 2 blocks of the main downtown area and 4 blocks to the docks where the ferry drops you off. The owners were extremely kind and helpful. The house was left open at night so you can come and go. Each room has a private key for safety. Extremely wonderful and I recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay in Nantucket, MA.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jetty4720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2007

The inn was clean and super convenient. The room was decorated in drab colors with lace curtains...you get the idea! But, if you are not picky about decor and don't plan on spending too much time in your room, the accommodations were fine and the location could not be beat if you're interested in being in the heart of town. There was a small TV with cable and window A/C units which is nice if needed, and not always found in guest houses.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelTime2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2007

We have been visiting the Hawthorne House year after year for 17 years, always to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary--we always love to go back. Nantucket is beautiful and the Hawthorne
House is just great. Diane and Mitchell Carl are great people and really make you feel welcome. We would never stay anywhere else! P&P

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Heather65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2007

quaint B&B located in the heart of Nantucket, walking distance to Main Street and everything there is to see and do in Nantucket. Very clean, comfortable beds. They don't serve breakfast, but give you a breakfast voucher to be used at great restaurants-Even Keel and I forgot the other we ate at that was great. We had room #3 which had a king size bed and faced the street. Only problem is that you heard the garbage pickers early in the a.m. Oh well, not the fault of the HAwthorne's. Across the street is the best florist in town and the floral aromas can be smelled from our room. Overall, a great place to stay and you can't beat the price.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bocaraton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2007

We've been to Nantucket several times and ALWAYS try to stay at the Hawthorn House. The inn is charming, clean and conveniently located in the heart of downtown. I can't say enough good things about this inn.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lthornton81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.1 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#11 of 14 in Nantucket
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nantucket
208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regatta Inn
Regatta Inn
#1 of 38 in Nantucket
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Nantucket Hotel & Resort
0.2 mi away
Centerboard Inn
Centerboard Inn
#3 of 38 in Nantucket
489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seven Sea Street Inn
Seven Sea Street Inn
#5 of 38 in Nantucket
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn House

Address: 2 Chestnut St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3507
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range: £97 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior location and value distinguish this attractive 1849 guesthouse. 9 rooms all have private baths, wi-fi, mini-refrigerators, and air-conditioning in season. Breakfast is provided in two local restaurants using a voucher system. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hawthorn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing