We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Atmosphere & Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hawthorn House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hawthorn House
Ranked #18 of 39 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere & Location”
Reviewed 18 September 2007

We had a wonderfully cozy room at the the top of the house. It had a private bath and window air condintioner. We could see the ocean from our window. Across the street was the vistor center. With in 2 blocks of the main downtown area and 4 blocks to the docks where the ferry drops you off. The owners were extremely kind and helpful. The house was left open at night so you can come and go. Each room has a private key for safety. Extremely wonderful and I recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay in Nantucket, MA.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jetty4720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    27
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
55
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2007

The inn was clean and super convenient. The room was decorated in drab colors with lace curtains...you get the idea! But, if you are not picky about decor and don't plan on spending too much time in your room, the accommodations were fine and the location could not be beat if you're interested in being in the heart of town. There was a small TV with cable and window A/C units which is nice if needed, and not always found in guest houses.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Low-end bath products
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelTime2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mass
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2007

We have been visiting the Hawthorne House year after year for 17 years, always to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary--we always love to go back. Nantucket is beautiful and the Hawthorne
House is just great. Diane and Mitchell Carl are great people and really make you feel welcome. We would never stay anywhere else! P&P

  • Liked — Location, very clean, great hosts
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boca raton
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2007

quaint B&B located in the heart of Nantucket, walking distance to Main Street and everything there is to see and do in Nantucket. Very clean, comfortable beds. They don't serve breakfast, but give you a breakfast voucher to be used at great restaurants-Even Keel and I forgot the other we ate at that was great. We had room #3 which had a king size bed and faced the street. Only problem is that you heard the garbage pickers early in the a.m. Oh well, not the fault of the HAwthorne's. Across the street is the best florist in town and the floral aromas can be smelled from our room. Overall, a great place to stay and you can't beat the price.

  • Liked — location,
  • Disliked — noise on the street in the morning heard from our room
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bocaraton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2007

We've been to Nantucket several times and ALWAYS try to stay at the Hawthorn House. The inn is charming, clean and conveniently located in the heart of downtown. I can't say enough good things about this inn.

  • Liked — convenience, cleanliness and charm
  • Disliked — having to leave at the end of the trip
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lthornton81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenwich, ct
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2006

The Hawthorn House is where to stay on Nantucket. My husband and I recently spent a long weekend with Mitch and Diane Carl (the owners/innkeepers) as our wonderfully knowledgable and helpful hosts. This inn is spotlessly clean (always my #1 priority), cozy and entirely decorated a la Nantucket for a truly homey experience. Try to stay in the blue room on the top floor if it's not booked, we loved it! Right in the middle of town, the Hawthorn House's central location allows visitors the perfect vantage point for seeing town or walking to beautiful beaches (Beaches right next to town! a 5-minute walk! Who has heard of such a thing?). Top-notch.

  • Liked — the inkeepers
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Tips/Secrets — inkeepers are islanders, listen to them b/c they know the place!
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank kikilawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2006

I was thrilled with the Hawthorn House when we stayed in Nantucket. We stayed in a two room suite and it had everything we needed. You could not beat the location, it was in the MIDDLE of everything, but it was quiet. It was neat and clean, and the beds and bath were very nice. It was not new, and the common area is very small, and not a place I would hang out in, but the rooms were great. We weren't in Nantucket to hang out in our B&B. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a great place at a reasonable price.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank rrlawgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.1 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#8 of 13 in Nantucket
239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 13 in Nantucket
429 reviews
2.5 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 13 in Nantucket
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
0.1 mi away
The Periwinkle B&B
The Periwinkle B&B
#20 of 39 in Nantucket
80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seven Sea Street Inn
Seven Sea Street Inn
#2 of 39 in Nantucket
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn House

Property: Hawthorn House
Address: 2 Chestnut St., Nantucket, MA 02554
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior location and value distinguish this attractive 1849 guesthouse. 9 rooms all have private baths, wi-fi, mini-refrigerators, and air-conditioning in season. Breakfast is provided in two local restaurants using a voucher system. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hawthorn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing