We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Time and time again, would not hesitate to stay at the Cottages.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin
Ranked #12 of 39 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northeast
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Time and time again, would not hesitate to stay at the Cottages.”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Being a very frequent visitor to Nantucket, we are fortunate enough to have tried several types of accommodations on the Island. We have stayed at both hotels and residences. Each time, we have stayed, we always discuss the pros and cons. Consistently, the Cottages have remained one of our top choices on the Island. We have stayed many times at the Cottages and would definitely return again. The view from their balconies is top notch. I could spend hours on the balcony, just watching the boats come into harbor. The location is exceptional. You are steps away from everything downtown, yet you are far enough away that you can enjoy a peaceful retreat upon entering your cottage. The staff is exceptional. When the ferry was cancelled on Friday night due to weather conditions, the staff was able to accommodate us to stay on Sunday night instead, in an upgraded cottage. Unfortunately, due to our jobs, we were not able to take advantage of staying over until Monday, but the fact that they offered spoke volumes. Although we have never taken advantage of their pet-friendly policy, it is nice to know the option is there. While the furnishings and kitchen are getting to be somewhat dated, it somehow fits just perfectly with the fact that it is a small cottage right on the water. Somehow, the latest and greatest technology and appliances would seem out of place in these quaint buildings. We've stayed everywhere on the Island from the shanties outside the Summer House to large residences with million-dollar views. But, time and time again, the Cottages are in our top list of places to stay on the Island. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Cottages to friends and family - in fact, I can definitely stay with 100% conviction, that we will be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnyoneUpforACK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    31
    10
    8
    3
See reviews for
43
69
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Perfect! Arrived early;friendly staff had our upgraded 2 BR unit ready within an hour. It was our 25th anniversary and our children had arranged for rose petals and chocolate covered strawberries to be waiting for us! Great surprise! One of the best percs are the bikes, helmets and bike locks available free of charge. Front desk staff provided us with a bike trail map. Plentiful towels and bath products, comfy beds and linens, kitchen stocked with coffee and cream. Books and DVD library available. We appreciated the short walk to the quaint shops, the grocery and liquor stores, and the ferry. No need for a car to taxi anywhere! Took advantage of the bike paths, too.You know how you sometimes check into your hotel and can't wait to drop you stuff and get out? This place is exactly the opposite. It was such a great place, inside and out, we had a hard time leaving our deck, and stayed on it until check out time. The boat basin provides entertainment itself- all types of boats motoring and sailing, fish and birds. I suggest you pack a light backpack and head over. We took advantage of the hot dates, cool rates special. So glad we chose this unique place and will take our family back next year.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room- they all have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thatcherinboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

The 'cottage' was in fact the upper story of a wood-clad building, quite 'weathered' looking outside but clean, bright, spacious, absolutely delightful inside.
Being there slightly ahead of 'season', we found the cottage to have been cleaned and redecorated to the highest standard with excellent facilities and in a perfect location. The furniture and beds were comfortable, the bathroom and shower facities fine and, had we needed it, ample space to store and prepare/eat food. Instead we enjoyed eating out (breakfast at The Fog Cafe - excellent and evening meal in The Brotherhood of Thieves - great!) and getting around the island in a jeep hired from 'Affordable Jeep' - brand new (each one renewed annually) and with very helpful service.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LizzieM10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Three of us stayed in the cottage called, End of Rope, which was directly on the water, with a bright and cheery interior and huge deck. We looked out across at Monomoy which was nicer than looking at the boat basin in my opinion. Beds were very comfortable and the kitchen was fine for our needs. The location was excellent. We walked everywhere, the main street is just a short distance from the cottages.Allie at the front desk was friendly, upbeat and helpful. She took care of a jeep rental for us and we toured all over the island. If a wonderful ocean view is important to you with your own cottage, look no further.

Room Tip: End of Rope has a huge deck overlooking the water. Table, chairs and a rocking chair fit on the deck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewHampshireLovetogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southborough, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

A beautiful little condo right by the water. Great location; can walk to many shops and restaurants. The staff is so helpful ask them about anything and they have the answer. Would definitely tell friends and family to visit real soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyannis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My review is long LONG overdue.
My husband and I got married on Nantucket in June of 2011 and stayed at the Cottages (as well as the White Elephant Residences). However we chose to stay at the Cottages for the week after our wedding for a little getaway since we weren't going to go on a honeymoon until December. For 6 nights we stayed in the Crow's Nest and two nights at the White Elephant Residences. The cottages views blows the residences out of the water!!! (Also, the cottages are cheaper in comparison). The Crows Nest is a studio cottage located up above the boat basin (I want to say on the 3rd floor) and above Slip 14 (bar/restaurant). The cottage is beautifully decorated and very comfortable for a studio. It has a full kitchen, king bed, decent size bathroom, and a not to miss AMAZING view!!! From the Crow's Nest we could actually see where we got married at the Great Harbor Yacht Club making it even that much more special for us! The boat basin was extremely accommodating and even had a beach bus to take you (and any gear you might need) to any beach of your liking. ALL the staff are amazing! Including the "Helper" golden retriever :) (or maybe he was a lab--still super cute)...The cottages were/are perfect for my husband and I because we like to be right in the middle of it all and that is exactly what you get at the Cottages. There is nothing better than waking up in the Crow's Nest and having a cup of coffee in the morning watching all the boaters go in and out of the marina...I also need to mention that they have keurigs in every cottage...Great touch!!! Also, If you are staying at the cottages a car won't be necessary, you are literally right in town and walking distance to all the amazing restaurants Nantucket has to offer!
Later in the 2011 summer we also stayed in the "John Jay" (1 bedroom) and the "Three Brothers" (two bedroom when we brought our son)... All times we had the same amazing service and every view and cottage was just stunning! We will be back this June for our anniversary and can't wait!!!

Room Tip: Crow's Nest can be a little loud in the summer months due to Slip 14 (restaurant below). But if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamenard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two days with our two-month-old baby. We loved our little one-bedroom loft, Upper Mermansion, which had great views of the water and docks out of almost every window (including a couple fun octagonal portholes). Service, while simple, was very friendly and helpful - just what we wanted. We'd love to stay here again.

We particularly appreciated the baby-friendliness of the place - we were provided a pack-and-play, and because of the seclusion of the place, weren't too worried when he cried at night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.3 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#5 of 13 in Nantucket
423 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
0.3 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#8 of 13 in Nantucket
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 13 in Nantucket
258 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#10 of 13 in Nantucket
210 reviews
0.3 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#3 of 13 in Nantucket
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin

Property: The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin
Address: 24 Old South Wharf, Nantucket, MA 02554
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin offer a front row view of the island's natural wonder. Enjoy waterfront cottages and lofts with decks and harbor views, kitchens, free Wi-Fi, bicycles, a beach bus and pet friendly accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages At Boat Basin Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing