We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Union Street Inn(Nantucket)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
21 Broad Hotel(Nantucket)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
76 Main(Nantucket)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Jared Coffin House(Nantucket)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Elephant(Nantucket)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
120
32
10
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
120
32
10
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsliving room and kitchenstop shopawesome locationin towndog bedmy favorite placeprivate deckcan't wait to go backperfect place to staydowntown areawonderful stayloftswharfbikesdockwoofferry
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 175 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I found this place on the internet and booked it based on someone else's review. And boy am I glad I did. We stayed in the Crow's Nest a second floor loft with a 360 degree of the harbor. And the interior was almost as nice as the view. The place was very well put together, clean spacious and convenient to everything in downtown. But...but; the shining quality of this place was its people. When I got there, the young lady behind the desk, spent 15 minutes going over the amenities, showing me on a map good place to eat, providing us with popcorn for our evening free movie checkouts, crayons and coloring books for our grandkids, candy, coupons for around town, mink coats, diamonds...okay maybe not diamonds, but by the time we left for our room, we were overloaded with goodies and kind words from our hostess. We stayed 3 nights and we're contemplating forwarding our mail, when our time was up too soon. We will definitely be back for more next spring and look forward to the fresh sea air wafting through our room.

Room Tip: Spend the extra couple bucks and get the Crow's Nest! The porch outside is perfect for sitting for hours drinking Nantucket port from the local vineyard.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeamDork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim1845, Manager at The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear TeamDork - we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind comments, especially about the team we have in place at The Cottages! Great to hear your thinking of a return trip next spring, we look forward to welcoming you back! Kind Regards, Jim Storey GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I recently stayed at a beautiful cottage (Aurora) over Labor Day near Straight Wharf and I can't say enough good things about my experience. I've also stayed at this cottage a couple years ago for Christmall Stroll & have stayed at a smaller loft (Phebe) right where the Hy-line ferry comes in numerous times over the past 6 years. The staff is amazing & so accommodating, they will bring you to & from your ferry in a golf cart, they have a fun beach bus as well as discounts for local restaurants. The cottage is impeccably clean, very modern, has all the ameneties you need (coffee/tea/washer & dryer/hair dryer/ipod docking stations/bath products) and I will continue to come back for years to come. The location is perfect being right in town, amazing views of the harbor & the staff is truly genuine, so friendly and will help you with booking restaurant reservations or any other travel arrangements that you need. It is my favorite place to stay on this beautiful island!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BYC78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim1845, Manager at The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear BYC78: thank you for the kind comments and for sharing your experience regarding your stay with us. All of us at the Cottages and Lofts at the Boat Basin are very pleased you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you on a return visit Nantucket. Regards, Jim Storey GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Would you stay in a room over a bar and busy kitchen (in Boston, Gloucester, Newport)? Probably not in Nantucket either if you knew about the large industrial kitchen fan that vibrates the entire room (avi not up-loadable to demonstrate water bottle moving about counter top), or the pic ante of a kitchen grill (fish of course) both inside the room and on the balcony, and a complete lack of sleep courtesy of the bar (with cigarette smoke and loud voices) until the wee hours. Then it starts all over again with a garbage truck at 7 a.m.to service the already humming kitchen preparing for lunch and the coming evening.
Moreover the staff really do not care…we arrived in the pouring rain with no help with bags…a blocked stairway (dogs, bowls, blankets from the bar) and left without so much as a how was your stay? We were booked for three days and stayed less than 20 hrs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Deb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim1845, Manager at The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Deb D - I urgently would like to talk with you regarding your review. Please contact me at 508-638-2332 or jstorey@niresorts.com - thank you, Jim Storey, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Stayed at the Basin and really enjoyed our time. It is different then most places in that check in is a small shack with a front desk. The cottages line up and down the marina. The cottages are quiet quaint. We had the one bedroom with a small kitchen and bath. Although small, it was perfect size for my wife and I. They provide coffee/tea through the single serving machine.
The service was great. They have a van that will take you to beach and provide beach chairs, umbrella, football,(and other toys) and cooler for your time at the beach. They will pick you up in Golf Cart at the Ferry as long as it is Hyline. They provide reservations and the concierges are very helpful(have to call as they don't really have them at front desk).....We loved that we could take our dog and Nantucket is very dog friendly(even on the beaches without life guards and with a leashed at beaches with lifeguards). Walking up and down the marina and looking at the boats was fantastic as there were several 75 to 100 footers.....It is on the pricey side 400 - 600 so just be prepared but otherwise would recommend a different type of lodging experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J0hnPM10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim1845, Manager at The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear JPM098 - thank you for staying with us and thank you for sharing this review. We appreciate your kind comments and are very pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us. We hope to see you again on a return visit to Nantucket. Regards, Jim Storey GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We visited Boston, the Cape and Nantucket last fall for my genealogical research, but also for a second honeymoon for my husband and I. We sought a romantic hideaway, but within walking distance to all the shops and restaurants around the harbor. The Cottages and Lofts worked out perfectly for us! We booked a loft, and received a terrific mid-week special rate. The loft felt like home away from home (though be prepared for steep stairs- about 2 stories worth) set directly above boats and yachts quietly coming and going from the docks... The views, as high as we were, were heavenly. We could see the town, the neighborhoods and their magnificent houses, the sea.... and watched a seal play and fish just below us. It was a feast for the senses... and were impressed by the amenities, terrific bed, modern décor, the beautiful, new kitchen.... We sat and sipped wine on our private deck under the moonlight and felt all alone... It seemed like it must be the most quiet place we'd been to maybe ever in our lives. This was an amazing first experience of Nantucket, and we traversed as much as we could by foot! You can take advantage of all the special features this property offers (a bus for getting around? we never tried but it would've been nice for exploring more...) and we would LOVE to return, hoping to stay at the Lofts again soon!

Room Tip: A loft on the 2nd floor was perfect for us, as a couple. We loved the gorgeous views and privacy!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JFleure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim1845, Manager at The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear JFleure - thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay with us. I am so glad you enjoyed yourselves especially on such a special occasion. Hope you can return to Nantucket and the Cottages and Lofts again soon. Regards, Jim Storey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews