We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin
Nearby Hotels
The Veranda House Hotel Collection(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
US$457
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nantucket Inn(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
US$315
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Elephant(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
US$447
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
US$553
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
21 Broad Hotel(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
US$423
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Union Street Inn(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
US$446
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jared Coffin House(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Wauwinet(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
US$469
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
76 Main(Nantucket)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
123
32
10
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
123
32
10
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsliving room and kitchenstop shopawesome locationin towndog bedmy favorite placeprivate deckcan't wait to go backperfect place to staydowntown areawonderful stayloftswharfbikesdockwoofferry
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Visited in May with our best friends for our 50th birthday. We were in Kittiwake which is right on the basin with a beautiful deck upstairs off the living and dining room. Two great bedrooms and a bathroom downstairs and a beautiful open area upstairs with a small kitchen and a second bathroom upstairs. Small spiral staircase though, so I might be careful with small children. Everyone there is absolutely lovely. The Cottages is the perfect location to walk to Town easily. May was also perfect (we were there Mother's Day weekend) because the basin was quiet and peaceful. Just a beautiful weekend overall!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cafport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim1845, Manager at The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear cafport - thank you for taking the time to write this review and thank you for staying with us. Kittywake is a wonderful 2 bedroom cottage on Old South and we're glad you enjoyed your stay there. Hope to see you on a return visit to the island. Regards, Jim Storey GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My daughter and I recently stayed at the wharf cottages. We have stayed there every summer for the past 10 years. It is always a wonderful experience. This time we had the pleasure of being welcomed by Dianne at the front desk. Of all the years I have stayed there, her service was by far the best. She was friendly, efficient, genuinely interested in the quality of our experience. She went above and beyond in all areas was pleasant and upbeat. The wharf cottages is very lucky to have such a dedicated polished employee. We are back on the island this weekend and are staying at the elephant residences.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 360ChristinaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim1845, Manager at The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear 360ChristinaV - I cannot thank you enough for your kind comments regarding Lisa (aka-Dianne). It truly is wonderful to get this type of feedback and thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Cottages. We hope your back with us again soon. Regards, Jim Storey GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed in the Loon cottage at the beginning of June and couldn't have loved it more. The two decks were fantastic, and we had to fight over who got the hammock on the lower deck. The half bath on the upper floor was great, especially with the whole family there. The staff was amazing, so friendly and helpful, plus we couldn't get enough of the dogs on staff (seriously we were heartbroken we didn't get a chance to say goodbye to Ellie when we left!) We loved that the cottage came with two bikes already, so we didn't need to beat other guests to the main stash of bikes. And obviously the views cannot be beat!

We cannot wait to stay here again. Of all the places we've stayed on the island this is by far our favorite!

Room Tip: The Loon was AMAZING. The two decks and the hammock make this one of the best!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dms622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim1845, Manager at The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear dms622 - so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for writing this review. Hard to beat the hammock on the lower deck of Loon. Sorry you missed Ellie upon departure, rest assured she'll be here to greet you upon your return. Regards, Jim Storey GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed in The Loon cottage - several employees mentioned that it was their favorite. It's now our only place to stay when we return to Nantucket. Incredible views, comfortable bed, very well appointed kitchen and living space. Location is perfect. The staff is efficient and attentive. Spoil yourself and book your next trip to Nantucket here!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank DianeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim1845, Manager at The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear DianeC - Loon is one of the many favorites here at the Cottages and we're delighted you discovered it. Thank you for your kind comments about the Cottages and the team here, we truly appreciate you taking the time to share your comment regarding your stay with us. We all look forward to welcoming you back! Regards, Jim Storey GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We chose the Cottages and Lofts at The Boat Basin for our recent visit to Nantucket primarily for the location but also because the unit could accommodate 5 of us which was preferable to 2 separate hotel rooms.

Our family arrived at the Hy-Line dock after a short stay in Martha's Vineyard and, as we were traveling with suitcases and bikes, at our request, we were met by one of the staff of the Cottages & Lofts on a golf cart. They drove our luggage to the reception area on the next wharf while we followed on our bikes. Very convenient.

The cottage assigned to us was named "Grampus" which my boys quickly renamed "Crampus." These cottages were built to house the wharf workers not families of 5 which include 3 very tall teenage boys! And while the cottages have been renovated with small kitchens, and somewhat modern furnishings, they are cramped. On the first floor, there was a very small bathroom, an open area with a small but adequate kitchen, a convertible sofa and a small round dining table with four chairs. Not conducive to a family dinner or movie night.

Fishing poles were provided by the concierge along with bait for 2 of my boys who wanted to fish off the wharf. No fish were caught but they had fun anyway! The concierge also had DVDs and games to lend their guests.

Up a very narrow staircase were 2 bedrooms, one with a queen bed and the other with 2 twin beds. And a very small bathroom with one of the smallest sinks I have ever seen! But one of the best views out a bathroom window ever -- the harbor, ducks, yachts, seagulls -- all with total privacy!

We also had a small deck in the back with a round dining table which was lovely for wharf-side breakfast and evening cocktails.

Since we were only staying 2 nights, the cottage was fine. The supermarket is a 2-3 minute walk away and the town of Nantucket is practically at your doorstep, making walking to everything so easy.

The Cottages & Lofts provides a beach bus for those who need transportation to the beaches.

Overall, we had a lovely stay although I am not sure I would jam 5 of us in one of the cottages again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elinor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim1845, Manager at The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear elinmd - thank you for your comprehensive review and all of your feedback. Love the nickname for Grampus and that you had an enjoyable stay with your family. We hope to see you and your family again on a return visit to Nantucket. Regards, Jim Storey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews