We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay! Will be back soon!”
Review of Easton House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nantucket
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Easton House
Ranked #24 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay! Will be back soon!”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We were on Nantucket this weekend for a wedding and needed a last minute place to stay for a night- we are so glad we found the Easton House! This was our first b&b and it really exceeded our expectations. The room was very spacious, comfortable, and clean. And the location can't be beat, a 5 minute walk to everything in town and right around the corner from the ferry. Everyone who worked there was extremely friendly. Next time I'm on Nantucket I will definitely stay at Easton house again, it was an all around great value and great experience.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    4
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I think the key to this Inn is getting the right room, as some are much more spacious than others. We had room six on the second floor, it was spacious and featured a comfortable canopy queen bed and an updated private bathroom. We were barely in the room, so the fact that it did not have a television was no bother to us. The hotel was quiet, even though it was August 2012 and at the height of tourist season. The best part is the location, the Inn is just steps away from the ferry and the center of the town. We paid $200 a night so it was an excellent value. This is an older building but so aren't most of the Inns on the island... I have been to Nantucket multiple times and to me, all of the Inns in the $185-$350 range are relatively similar, so my suggestion would be to book a place on the lower range, because you will spend your money elswhere on this island, everything is expensive. Inn also features wireless, a bike rack, breakfast, and backyard with lounge chairs. Recommended for people looking to save a buck or two on a beautiful island who aren't expecting the Marriott and can live without television.

Room Tip: Stay on the second or third floors where its quieter, see if room six is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Easton House for four nights, and we loved it! Completely unpretentious and quaint, it is a lovely, affordable bed and breakfast for a trip to Nantucket. The house is 200 years old and absolutely gorgeous and filled with character. Cyril, Judy, and their daughter Deborah were really sweet and accommodating, and made sure to give their guests space as well.

The continental breakfast includes options of cereal, yogurt, fruit cups, and pastries, along with coffee or tea, and it's served in the cozy parlor of the home.

We'll definitely be back for many years to come, and we're so happy we found this historical gem!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Made reservations at an agreed upon price of $275 tax INCLUDED. Judy agreed to this on the phone when making the reservation. When we checked out she charged us $275 PLUS TAX. Tax was over 32 bucks a night. We were floored. Tried to go over the reservation conversation with her but she was too arrogant to even listen. Will never stay there again. Also gave the Easton house a not recommended rating on our Nantucket visitors guide website. We were ripped off and we don't appreciate it. Thanks Judy!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank freqtravelor11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy and Cyril R, Owner at Easton House, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Misunderstandings can happen and I believe this is what happened in this case. This guest originally contacted us about an extended 5-night stay in our garden cottage and was quoted a discounted rate of $275 per night because of the length of stay. When the guest called back to make a reservation, it was for a shorter period of time and he was told the rate would be $295 per night. Never at anytime was the guest told the rate would include tax.

By law we are required to collect an 11.7% occupancy tax, which is added to the guests' bill. It is not our choice whether to collect this tax or not. We are very sorry if the guest thought otherwise. In the end, the guest received a discounted rate and was charged tax based upon the cost of his stay.

We have been running The Easton House for 38 years. We do strive to make our guests' stay the best it can be. Our apologies for the misunderstanding in this case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2009

We felt right at home in the Easton House. The Inn Keepers were very hospitable and provided a wonderful breakfast each morning. Rooms were comfortable and nicely decorated with antiques. Large private yard. Close to town and beaches.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harvardites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2007

Good location, easy walk from Nantucket town. Everything on Nantucket
is expensive (even at $2: £1) and this has to be taken into account. The rooms available are not of the same standard as the equivalent spent in an average English B&B.

Lovely garden with loungers, great for reading if one has the time. Best breakfasts of anywhere we stayed - plenty of fresh juice, fresh fruit, cereal, homemade muffins, and other goodies. Fantastic breakfast. Attic room has small ensuite, room is large enough but bed under eaves. Overall because we did not need to spend much time in the room the breakfast made up for room.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank Juala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, NH
Level Contributor
98 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2006

The location is great and they have a nice backyard to relax. The rooms are old and musty and could use some renovation. The rates however, tend to reflect this and you can often get good rates. The family lives there and there is little common space to relax. The breakfasts and coffee could use some spicing up. We tended to forgo the breakfast and went out on our own. There is only street parking which can be a problem because you are located in town. If you have just a bike there is no problem. Good for families or young couples on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.2 mi away
The Roberts House
The Roberts House
#18 of 38 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seven Sea Street Inn
Seven Sea Street Inn
#3 of 38 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Periwinkle B&B
The Periwinkle B&B
#19 of 38 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Summer House - India Street Inn
0.1 mi away
Chestnut House
Chestnut House
#21 of 38 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hawthorn House
Hawthorn House
#17 of 38 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Easton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Easton House

Property: Easton House
Address: 17 North Water St, Nantucket, MA 02554
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Easton House is located on a quaint cobblestone street in the heart of downtown Nantucket. Originally built as a family home by George Easton in 1812, the Easton House is now a lovingly restored Bed and Breakfast in the Old Historic District. It is close to ferries, shops, and restaurants, and is within easy walking distance of Children's Beach, Brant Point, and Jetties Beach. The Easton House has welcomed guests since the early 1900's and has been operated by the Ross family for 3 generations. There are ten lovely guest rooms on three floors. Each room has its own special character and is decorated in colonial style with oriental rugs, period antiques and family treasures. The beds are wonderfully comfortable and are made up with fresh line-dried cotton sheets. 8 rooms have private baths; 2 rooms (1 queen, 1 single) share a bath. All rooms have AC and phones. Free Wi-Fi is available. A bountiful continental breakfast buffet is served in the sitting room each morning, and a beautiful backyard with colorful gardens, lawn chairs and bike racks is available for guests' enjoyment. An adorable honeymoon cottage just for 2 is also available. B&B: $150-225 with mid-week specials Cottage: $250-325 Property Key Features & Amenities: - Antiques - Board Games - Breakfast Continental - Fireplace - First Floor Rooms - In Town Location - Internet Access - Patio - Private Bathrooms Available - Sitting Room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing