We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Nantucket!”
Review of The Carriage House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nantucket
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Carriage House
Ranked #32 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We just returned from Nantucket and would highly recommend staying here.
Very clean, very convenient and the owner is great.
He makes every effort to make everyone comfortable---remembers names and introduces everyone to each other.
Breakfast are just right with delicious homemade muffins and breads.
An excellent value for pricey Nantucket!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MAandJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Having been bumped out of my other accommodations at the last minute and almost in tears, the owner, Haziel, came to my rescue. Not only is he charming and friendly, but he is very helpful. He remembered mine and my daughters names (not easy ones) and was diligent in making sure we were happy with our stay.

It is a cute and historic b&b, don't expect a modern hotel (you're on Nantucket). The location is amazing and down the street from one of the best restaurants On the island (29 fair) and all of downtown.

I am already planning my return trip.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaciaMaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Quaint, historic B&B! Rooms are fairly small, but clean and comfortable. The owner is very knowledgeable and can provide lots of valuable information about getting around the island. It is situated just out of the Main Street hustle and bustle and very quiet. The bathroom did leave a little to be desired. The sink was very small and an inconveniently placed shelf made using the sink a challenge. Also breakfast and coffee were not served until 9 am, so if you are an early riser a brief walk down Main Street would be in order. If you don't want to spend a fortune on accommodations in Nantucket and do want to be near the town it is a good choice.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank JBF24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The wife and I just stayed there and found the price and location were superb. Some of the previous reviews are all wet and complaining about very minor gripes. This is a B&B built in 1820 for God's sake! Yes, Haziel the Owner is somewhat of a character, but he is extremely helpful and a real person not afraid to express his political and environmental views, which I happen to agree with. Our world needs more like him. While the breakfast was not gourmet, it was pretty damn good, for something thrown in with the already low price. If you want a bland Holiday Inn-like experience and don't mind spending twice the price, and will accept a location where you must put up with the inconvenience of taking taxis or buses everywhere, why go for it by all means! For us, we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Having lived on Nantucket for a year some time ago, I knew that the costs of staying on the island were prohibitively high.

After some calls around, we were originally going to stay at the Nantucket Hostel but they ended up being booked, and recommended the carriage house. We were able to secure a room and the owner Haziel was very helpful in the process.

The location of the Carriage house cannot be overstated enough - it is literally a block outside of the downtown, perfect for trips into town while allowing easy access (we chose bike) to the rest of the island.

I was dismayed to read some of the reviews on here - some people seem to think every hotel should be the Ritz Carlton, with servants jumping at their every whim and the air conditioning cranked to 11. The carriage house is just that - a historic house decorated in period appropriate furniture and finishings. Are you really expecting an uber-modern joint when you stay here?

Haziel is a true islander (i.e. a normal human being who "speaks" and has "character"). If you were living on an island don't you think you would want to talk to new people too? He was extremely helpful in pointing out areas of interest and restaurants on the island.

Our room was tastefully furnished with its own bathroom - some people have pointed out the small signs on the walls as wierd. What hotel room have you been to that doesn't have signs on the door? The signs literally say "check out at 11. Quiet after 10." WOOOOOO SCARY.

I know that when we return to Nantucket we will definitely be staying at the Carriage House.

Room Tip: We slept on the ground floor room - pleasantly cool at night with the overhead ceiling fan and high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

For the price during the peak season and holidays you can't beat it. Yes it's out dated, yes Haziel is strange but its comfy and walking distance to everything on the island. There's no AC in the carriage house , few places actually have it. Power is super expensive out there, it's just not a necessity. It's a small room with a bathroom and shower. No tv, a few windows. The inn keeper pushes his religious and political beliefs a tad too much. Just grin and bear it, if you were stuck on a 20sq mi island forever you would be a little weird too. Breakfast is nice. Homemade muffins (they're amazing) cereal and coffee. It's great. We ate it then walked to a spot for a cup of coffee and a view. I proposed in July, never having been to the island, Haziel helped me set up all the spots I wanted to hit and the boat I wanted to propose on. Very helpful. That stay was only an overnight. Our next trip was the end of August with another couple, there were 4 of us total and again he was very accommodating. We stayed 3 days. I would go back, I would however like to see another b&b. remember if you go to Nantucket you're not staying in the room your visiting all of Nantucket's wonderful hidden treasures, the carriage house will help keep some green in your wallet! Oh and it's spotless, you will not find a spec of dust anywhere!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We felt this was a crime...charging for a place that is so outdated. Likely hasn't been decorated since the 70's or 80's. Just a shower stall and minuscule sink, stuffy smell. Bed average comfort but sank in the middle a bit. It needs a complete overhaul. Breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katerinavalente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.3 mi away
Regatta Inn
Regatta Inn
#1 of 38 in Nantucket
357 reviews
0.5 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
458 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#10 of 14 in Nantucket
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
7.2 mi away
The Summer House Cottages
The Summer House Cottages
#2 of 2 in Siasconset
38 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Periwinkle B&B
The Periwinkle B&B
#16 of 38 in Nantucket
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carriage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carriage House

Address: 5 Ray's Court, Nantucket, MA 02554
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing