We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to be on the island.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nantucket White House Inn
Ranked #16 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
1 review
“great place to be on the island.”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

the rooms were nice and clean and the people were super accommodating. I look forward to going back in the future. we asked if they could give us a late checkout and they let us stay in the room until 6pm because they had no one moving in that day. how many places would offer that? not many. Alyssa was super!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thekurtman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    13
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We just spent 4 days here and had a great time. The room was very nice with daily cleaning service. It faced the street,but only need the AC a few nights because it was so quiet. Nice safe area in back, to park our bikes, so we could go to the great beaches during the day and come back and enjoy the fantastic restaurants in town at night. Moderately priced, and is a great value. Diane, the owner is a fantastic host and goes out of her way to make your stay enjoyable. Will be going back in the Fall for a weekend for my wife's birthday.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summesailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This is our second time visiting Nantucket and staying at the Nantucket White House Inn and it was just as we remembered it. The service was excellent! We arrived a little earlier than check in, but they allowed us to leave our bags with them and gave us beach coolers and towels so we could enjoy the day at the beach while our room was being prepared for us. The rooms were just as clean as we remember! They improved the breakfast vouchers with adding Black Eyed Susan's and Center Street Bistro which was delightful to sit down for breakfast! We rented a Jeep for two days and they gave us a pass to park for free. The last time we stayed we got cranberries in a jar, this year we got turtles! They were amazing!! The candy store on the first floor makes them. Over all this was another memorable trip!! Can't wait to come back next year!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My husband and I just got back from spending our 1 year wedding anniversary on Nantucket. We stayed at the White House Inn Thursday through Sunday and had the best time! The staff was very friendly and super accomodating. Fresh beach bag and beach towels every morning along with vouchers to put towards breakfast at the bakery across the street or Black Eyed Susan's. They even left a bottle of champagne and some chocolates in our room for our anniversary. We would definitely come back and stay here next time!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clmurphy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2013

My husband and our two children stayed at the Inn for 5 nights this July, the Inn was just the perfect spot to walk to Children's Beach and Brant Point Beach and to the many wonderful restaurants located downtown each night. We enjoyed walking directly across the street each morning to this wonderful bakery to get some coffee and great pastries, we took them back and ate outside on the back patio. The rooms were clean and updated and accommodated our family just perfectly. My kids especially enjoyed the Candy store on the first level! We cant wait to come back again soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We love the White House Inn and only stay here when to come to Nantucket. The rooms are great, just what you need without too many frills. The location can't be beat, the prices are consistent and very affordable and, best of all, the staff is amazingly friendly and accommodating. The rooms are really cute, they provide beach bags, towels and a cooler for your beach days.

The rooms that we stay in have breakfast vouchers for some great spots nearby (including Black Eyed Susan's....yum yum yum!).

We spent several of our evenings in their charming back patio area which is a nice perk if you don't want to always drink at a bar or with dinner.

I highly recommend the White House Inn if you are looking for a cozy place to stay right in the downtown area but don't need the resort feel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nooreen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My wife and I spent our 1 year wedding anniversary at the Nantucket White House Inn. It was perfect. We met the owner, Diana, who was extremely friendly and accommodating. Upon entering the room, we found a bottle of Prosecco, chocolate-covered cranberries from the candy shop, and a personal note congratulating us on our anniversary. There is a cute garden in the back with a pick-nick table and a bike rack.

The White House Inn was the best deal that I could find (this is important for a graduate student trying to vacation in $$Nantucket$$). It's located downtown above a candy shop (same owners) near the whaling museum and several good restaurants. It's also within a very bike-friendly distance of most of the major peripheral attractions (Surfside Beach, Cisco Beach, Cisco Brewery). Most rooms come with an $8 breakfast voucher per guest, which is plenty for the bakery across the street or makes the delicious breakfast at Center St. Bistro very affordable.

My wife and I had a great stay, and we will definitely return to the White House Inn next time we visit Nantucket.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlajoie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.0 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
246 reviews
0.2 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#3 of 14 in Nantucket
273 reviews
0.1 mi away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nantucket
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 14 in Nantucket
451 reviews
2.6 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 14 in Nantucket
260 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nantucket White House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nantucket White House Inn

Property: Nantucket White House Inn
Address: 48 Center St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3683 (Formerly The White House)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Nantucket White House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nantucket White House Inn is a historic property centrally located in Nantucket town. It is just minutes from Main Street, ferry docks, Nantucket Boat Basin, the Whaling Museum, and is in the heart of the best shopping and fine restaurants on the island. The Nantucket White House Inn is just steps away from the Nantucket’s shuttle buses, providing easy access to Nantucket's fabulous beaches and points of interest. The guest rooms are light and airy with charming Nantucket town views. Each room offers a private bath with shower, in-room coffee service, air conditioning, flat screen HD cable TV, free WiFi, iron/ironing board, and hairdryer. A courtyard with flower garden is provided in a private fenced in backyard. Tables, chairs, and a bike rack are available for guest use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Nantucket White House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing