We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Varanda House is a beautiful boutique hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Veranda House Hotel Collection
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2009

The Varanda House is a beautiful boutique hotel with contemporary design, great outdoor spaces, outstanding staff and breathtaking harbor views. The furnishings, linens, and ammenities (beach chairs and fresh towels) were pristine and comfortable. The breakfast and service was outstanding. The turndown service was witty and friendly. We have been visiting on Nantucket for many years and the Varanda House makes the trip even better. We will be back again and again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gretchen04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 530 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2009

a wonderful place to go the reconnect with your spouse and have fun with friends. The Inn is well decorated and very cozy yet very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allywellesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

My wife and I recently stayed there for the Fourth of July weekend. This hotel is in a perfect location as it's a very short walk to mainstreet. The hotel is super clean and the staff is very friendly. I was pleasantly surprised by the free breakfast that is offered. There were several options served to you by a great staff. I will definitely return to this hotel. Just a gem!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabeandmona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

I'm a huge fan of Nantucket, and my trip there this summer was made even better by the Veranda House. The inn has a great vibe. I loved the delicious breakfast -- granola topped with yogurt, bagels with smoked salmon, fresh fruit and a "smoothie" in a shot glass -- and the fun banter with fellow guests. The room was lovely. Though it was small (we booked the least expensive room available), it was comfortable, clean, and fresh.
The folks who work there are pleasant, helpful and very hard working.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank LizzieLikesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

I recently spent a long weekend on Nantucket at The Veranda House with my husband and another couple. Having stayed at VH two other times, we already knew we were in for a treat. When we arrived, we were amazed at the extensive renovations! The already-gorgeous B&B was transformed into hip, chic hotel.

The greatest improvement we noticed was in the breakfast room and common area. Bold colors and stylish furniture define the space. The terraced back yard was also renovated to include several outdoor seating areas.

VH also offers a very luxurious, multi-course continental breakfast. Due to certain laws on Nantucket, they are unable to serve eggs and such...but they go the extra mile to make what they can serve special: mini smoothies, fresh fruit, granola, yogurt, waffles, brie on baguettes, fresh breads....delicious. VH also offers freshly baked cookies in the afternoon!

The rooms are beautifully appointed with fine linens and furnishings that blend old and new. The bathrooms are gorgeous - with trough sinks, glass tile and rain showers.... very Restoration Hardware. The bath products are also very nice. On this particular trip, we were spoiled with a complimentary upgrade to king-size suites. Some of the other rooms at VH are small - but beautiful nonetheless!

VH is in a great spot if you are looking to stay in-town. It's just a short walk from the ferries and the main shopping/dining areas. It's also located near the island's bus route. The staff is friendly and the property owners are genuinely interested in hearing feedback from guests.

The verandas on every floor offer sweeping views of the island and are a great spot to enjoy a glass of wine.

We live in MA and go to Nantucket annually. We love VH so much - we don't have a reason to ever stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

We stayed at the Veranda House for the 4th of July weekend and found the hotel to be amazing. We had stayed once before the renovations and were really excited upon arriving to see the changes that were made. The rooms are very comfortable, the showers with the rain fall shower heads were amazing and the beds had more pillow options than I thought existed. The service was excellent, from the manager greeting us at the curb and helping us withour luggage, to the concierge that made any and all arrangements for us. Breakfast was delicious and service, again, was excellent.

I would highly recommend the Veranda House and plan to stay there on every trip to Nantucket!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chadjones007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

Great views, great service, great ambiance, great breakfast... it goes on. Rooms are not big -- the going in ACK -- but are a great combo of traditional-with-updated-conveniences. All in all, VH won't disappoint.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vcools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.3 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 14 in Nantucket
475 reviews
0.1 mi away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nantucket
202 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#4 of 14 in Nantucket
284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#10 of 14 in Nantucket
256 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#9 of 14 in Nantucket
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Veranda House Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Veranda House Hotel Collection

Address: 3 Step Ln, Nantucket, MA 02554-3544
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nantucket
Price Range: £117 - £465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Veranda House Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in the serenity of calm, sweeping shorelines without sacrificing the convenience of town. Just steps from the quaint beaches, restaurants and shops of beautiful Nantucket Island, the Veranda House is the perfect starting point for your New England getaway. Spectacular vistas of Nantucket Harbor and our terraced gardens mingle fresh salt air with blossomed breezes. At The Veranda House, luxury awaits. Your relaxation is our priority. Enjoy a staff-served epicure-style breakfast, afternoon cookies and sparkling wine. Nightly turn-down service is a great amenity to come home to after an evening out. We offer full concierge service to make your stay even more complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Odigeo so you can book your The Veranda House Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Veranda House Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing