We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional !!!!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nantucket
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Nantucket Hotel & Resort
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Pemberton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional !!!!!”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We have stayed in quite a few hotels on the island and by far the Nantucket Hotel was the best. The hotel staff was so accommodating and the restaurant was great as was the staff. We had a problem with our reservations which was handled right away and very much to our advantage. Our room was "The Point" and was just beautiful. This is where we plan to spend all of our upcoming visits to Nantucket!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    679
    39
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
262
241
17
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
89 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Just spent one night at The Nantucket Hotel & Resort! Just for the record, this was a company paid trip.

Arrived Sunday mid day, checked out mid day Monday. From the first encounter with Hotel Staff to the last encounter with Hotel Staff, nothing short of exceptional service! Can't say enough about the staff at this Hotel. Unbelievably accommodating!

Loved getting picked up in the 1934 Ford Truck. Jamie was 1st class!

The Hotel is newly renovated and the workmanship is first class!

Stayed in a double room with two bathrooms and kitchenette. The bathroom was sparkling clean with a walk in shower and a tub! The bed was.... well I slept like a ROCK!

Dinner Sunday night was accompanied by piano music (nice touch). The Owner visited every table and was very gracious and was genuinely interested in every guest. Food was excellent.

Worked out Monday morning in the fitness center. Lots of brand new equipment and complimentary ear phones.

Others in my group had massages (excellent), tried the pool and hot tub. No complaints and trust me, they like to complain!

Continental Breakfast was way over the top! No need to order off the menu!

Every question or concern was handled by the staff with courtesy and an eagerness to please.

Great Resort in a charming historic port!

Enjoy,

VVHT

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VVHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny, ny
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is an old building that has been totally redone. Everything feels new and works however please know it has it's quirks. The walls are thin, the elevator is slow BUT, the rooms are really fresh and clean and the bedding is terrific. We had an oddly shaped suite that was tight but that's ok as we like each other. The pool area is inviting and the breakfast buffet is gorgeous, but the reason to stay here is because of the staff. The people who work here are energetic, happy and falling over themselves to help you. I had never been to Nantucket before and maybe this is the happy island vibe but it was refreshing to be in a place where the employees seem happy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arbella8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I just returned from a 3 night stay - and would highly recommend. I had only been to Nantucket once before - years ago- and stayed at the White Elephant which I would describe as "shabby chic" back then. I was highly impressed with this hotel and would recommend it.

Room: we stayed in room 38 which was a 3 bedroom duplex suite with a kitchen. There were 4 of us traveling on a girls trip. The room was great. Comfortable - nice living Area to convene in. There are two separate bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms. Upstairs is a large room with two beds and a bunk bed- so four could easily sleep up there. The decor was blue and white- all very fresh and pretty and new.

Staff: the staff was very friendly and helpful from start to finish. The front desk,concierge, the staff in the restaurant in the morning as well as at night, the bellman. All very pleasant and helpful. They seem to like what they are doing for a living.

Food: they have a lovely continental breakfast buffet each morning. To me it exceeded expectations, besides a large display of baked goods, there was a fresh fruit platter, berries, hard boiled eggs, yoghurt etc. it opens at 8 am - and we needed to leave at 8:15 each morning, so they were kind enough to let us in early each morning. I have stayed at plenty of hotels where that wouldn't have happened.

We also ate dinner there one night. The food was excellent, as was service. It also was a fair bit cheaper than the other two restaurants we tried - and the food every bit as good. When it came time to order dessert- one of the girls mentioned all she really wanted was a chocolate chip cookie. The waiter (sorry I can't remember his name but he was a doll) said no problem. He made a dozen chocolate chip cookies and brought them up to our room -piping hot!

Pool: we did not have time to use the pools- but there are two nice sized pools- and I believe one is adults only which would be nice in the summertime. They looked very inviting.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chichichicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Bluffs
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Our stay at The Nantucket Hotel and Resort was perfect from start to finish. Every aspect that we could have dreamed of was perfection...really! We loved the location, the service was sublime, we had a beautiful distant water view, our room was to die for...much, much nicer than we had anticipated, beautifully decorated! We ate in the restaurant for dinner and loved the atmosphere and the food and there was a musical combo which was excellent. We danced during dinner...sort of had that NY City clubby feel on a beautiful island. We have raved about our experience. Sadly, we did not have a chance to use the spa or pool but they looked inviting!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville Centre, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Some say that there are firsts for everything. For my husband and I, this was our first time to The Nantucket Hotel & Resort. Our first time to Nantucket. This time of year is just perfect - not too busy, but the weather is still comfortable.The rooms in this newly renovated hotel were spacious and beautifully decorated, as well as clean. Pool area was lovely (bathrooms with showers in the pool area). Only had breakfast at the hotel, but that was consistently delicious (my hips just loved the homemade waffles). The location was perfect as you could easily take the 5 minute walk into town or restaurants. This was the first time that I have experienced such an all around perfect stay at any hotel. Not only was the staff friendly and accommodating, but they actually LIKED working at this hotel. Not only did they like working at this hotel, they actually liked the OWNER - when do you ever hear that voluntarily coming out of an employee's mouth? One evening we were going to a restaurant with our friends and went to the front desk to ask them to get us a cab. The man behind the counter said, "Don't bother, I'll drive you." We of course told him that it wasn't necessary, but he insisted. The "man" ended up being Mark, the owner of Nantucket Hotel & Resort - gee, wonder why this is such a wonderful place to work and stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dfesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsville, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Everything was perfect at the Nantucket Hotel. The staff was incredible from the first moment we arrived. I can't remember staying anywhere with such personable, helpful staff. Everyone from the managers to the servers and cooks at the breakfast buffet, as well as the cleaning gals were incredibly friendly and welcoming without overdoing it. We were very impressed by the cleanliness of the entire facility-no b&b's for us! We had a noise issue with our upstairs neighbors, and Carlos graciously moved us into a fabulous cottage for our last night there. It was really hard to leave. We would definitely return to this wonderful hotel. A wonderful 40th anniversary!!!!

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the rooms next to the dumpsters. Trash collection occurs every morning and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christineandpaul1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.2 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
437 reviews
2.7 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 14 in Nantucket
260 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#11 of 14 in Nantucket
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
0.4 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#3 of 14 in Nantucket
273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 14 in Nantucket
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nantucket Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nantucket Hotel & Resort

Property: The Nantucket Hotel & Resort
Address: 77 Easton St, Nantucket, MA 02554-2201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nantucket Hotel celebrates the quintessential New England island vacation...Appointed with modern comforts, no worries, and a smiling staff. We're within walking distance of beaches, and downtown Nantucket - with its shops and restaurants. We offer hotel rooms, 1-to-4-bedroom suites, cottages, Breeze Restaurant & The Nantucket Club, two heated outdoor swimming pools, our fitness center and spa. Our Grand Ballroom is spectacular for weddings of up to 250 people and meetings of up to 300. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing