We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY Accommodating!”
Review of Topper's

Topper's
Reserve with OpenTable
Topper's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 141 Restaurants in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Nantucket Town is nine miles from The Wauwinet. The inn provides complimentary jitney service 12 times daily from 9 AM to 11 PM. We pick up from the Information Bureau on Federal Street, we also pick up from the White Elephant Hotel from 6.00pm-8.00pm on the hour.
Plainville, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“VERY Accommodating!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I had planned a lobsterbake for myself and 17 coworkers on the beach at sunset at Topper's (at The Wauwinet.) Our group arrived by boat and saw the wonderful set-up that had been provided for us right on the beach. The majority of us were excited to enjoy a wonderful dinner outdoors with stunning views of the sunset. However, our boss was concerned about the wind and felt it would be too cool out on the beach and preferred to instead eat inside. Despite the fact all the food stations, the tables, and a bar were already set up on the beach, the Wauwinet staff accommodated our boss's request and moved our 18-person lobsterbake into a private room off the dining room! THAT was good customer service! And to that the wonderful food....and it was a very memorable evening! I give a big thumbs up to the Topper's restaurant/catering staff at the Wauwinet!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amybro724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, Manager at Topper's, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Amy,
Thank you so much for thinking of us once again. It seems as though your event was just yesterday as our season is flying by. We are always happy to help wherever possible and were happy to relocate to the more comfortable space that evening. We hope we will see you again back at TOPPER'S! and remember your event as a fun night for all.

Best,
Jen and the TOPPER'S Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    47
    33
    30
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Nantucket dining”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We dined here twice, first being a late lunch while we waited for our room to be ready, the second being breakfast the following morning.
Lunch: It didn't start off so great, we had to wait 15 minutes until a server arrived and it was obvious the fellow that was supposed to be our server was more interested in the party of 8 that was coming rather than just a two top. I am thankful, though, because our new server was a delight and the one we should have originally had sounded very condescending to the other guests. The drinks, a Nantucket Mule and Elder Rose were delicious (we had several) and our meal was also very good. As others have stated, prices are possibly higher than what matched the food/service but we came expecting this. Also, we sat at a lovely corner table out on the balcony with a gorgeous view of the bay and herb garden. I loved watching the chefs come out to pick the herbs needed.
Breakfast: It was nice to be remembered the following morning and while the choices were limited, they were still very good. Our server was extremely friendly and helpful, quick to fill my coffee cup which is always a good thing.
*One side note, they offer a shuttle since it is roughly 9 miles away from the downtown area, which is wonderful.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pcb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, Manager at Topper's, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear pcb11,
wonderful to hear from you in regards to your time with us at TOPPER'S. Thank you for sharing your experience. We have been truly lucky to have had such a busy season once again so I apologize for the delay at the start of your meal and am relieved we were able find the right match to provide the service you were hoping for from TOPPER's.
I will be sure to share this experience with our staff in hopes to relate any inconsistencies in our service as we all work as a team and should be confident that we will provide the same service no matter who is taking care of you for your meal.

We hope to see you again next time you are able to visit Nantucket.

Best,
Jen and the TOPPER'S Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Travel on Waiwinet Lady”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful experience coming and going on their open air boat. Champagne on board (you have to pay). Wonderful and friendly staff provide excellent service which continues at Toppers. A very special experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Catapano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, Manager at Topper's, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Catapano.
Thank you for joining us aboard the Wauwinet Lady! We have been having a wonderful boating season and are glad we could share this experience with you.
We will look forward to seeing you again soon and I will make sure to share your wonderful remarks with the team.

Best,
Jen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Perfect Nantucket setting”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely 50 minute boat ride from White Elephant hotel(conveniently the hotel we were staying at)
The setting of this restaurant within its hotel can only be described as outstanding
We felt the price fix menu was pushed on us just a tad- we ordered from "the dock menu"- same offerings but ala carte with quite a few other options as well
Meal was very memorable; the setting even more so
Wine list was wonderful but deeply inflated.
I would rerun for the sunset

Helpful?
1 Thank Marleneyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, Manager at Topper's, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Marleneyi,
Thank you for writing a review for us here on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. I'm sorry if you felt the price fix menu was pushed on you we actually reserve all boat reservations as the TOPPER'S by Water experience which comes with a complimentary boat ride and is followed by the TOPPER's by Water menu a 3 course $85 prix fix menu with several choices of first, main and dessert courses.
I am so glad that you were able to enjoy our deck menu instead as it seems you were more interested in the lighter fare.
We are glad to hear you were able to enjoy our wonderful wine list and are so proud to announce that for the 17th year in a row we were just awarded the Grand Award by wine spectator magazine.
We will hope you can join us again soon in the future in promises of another spectacular sunset!

Best,
Jen and the TOPPER'S Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Delicious Food but...”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was a celebratory dinner for our Fathers 75th birthday week! The food was delicious...we had the lobster and clam bake which you pre order a few days before...there were 8 of us total including 3 children ranging in age from 4 to 9.

I would have really liked to have given 3.5 stars instead of 4 because while the food was delicious much of what I remember is the lackluster service with notable problems such as not having a candle in our fathers cake though they were asked many times to do so, forgetting things, moving my handbag without asking me, not knowing how to make a French 75 and becoming visibly irritable when asked kindly to rectify their mistakes. I believe our server was new which is great but perhaps he needed more time before launching into being the chief one waiting on us for such a special night.

Because this is a Relais & Chateaux I expected a caliber of service and dining excellence commiserate with the Relais distinction. This has steered us to wonderful restaurants and hotels all over the world but sadly this was not one of them.

I will certainly give them another chance when we are back on island but in the meantime, I hope that a review such as this helps them to work on some things.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielleinSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, Manager at Topper's, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Danielle in Seattle,
I truly appreciate your feedback today. Some of the described troubles at your table are so easily solved, but without hearing from guests like yourself these errors can go unseen. So I honestly appreciate you sharing with us.
We have already reviewed your comments with our team and had a very productive discussion on how we could have avoided some of your clear frustrations.

We hope to see you again the next time you make it to our lovely island. Best to you and happy birthday again to your father.

Thank you for sharing,
Jen and the TOPPER'S Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Topper's also viewed

 

Been to Topper's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing