We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Roberts House
Nearby Hotels
Nantucket Inn(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
US$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Elephant(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
US$447
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Union Street Inn(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
US$256
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$553
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Veranda House Hotel Collection(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
US$457
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
21 Broad Hotel(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
US$423
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Jared Coffin House(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
US$246
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Wauwinet(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
US$469
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Nantucket Hotel & Resort(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
US$380
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
76 Main(Nantucket)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
41
48
21
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
48
21
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogurtgarden courtyardcontinental breakfastnarrow stepsin townthe main housefirst floorsmall balconystaff was friendly and helpfulfront porchqueen bedcommon roomshort walkstayed two nightsenjoyed my staymini fridgeconvenient location
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I booked through booking.com. A few days later, I needed to change my booking. We made two changes -- we changed the time from 5 days to 3 and we upgraded the room. The room upgrade went through, which proves we talked to someone. The time change did not. They stuck us for two days that we were not there. The booking agency tried to resolve it and Roberts refused.. Also, for a "B&B", cereal and bagels for breakfast is kind of weird. You can get that at a Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pjcamp1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReelsnRods, General Manager at The Roberts House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you again for taking the time to fill out a review of our property. We're certainly sorry that our property did not meet all your needs, but I would like to clarify a couple of points that you've made. You booked your reservation through Booking.com, and within two weeks of your scheduled arrival date, you called Booking.com to upgrade your room as well as shorten your stay. Shortening your stay is the same as cancelling room nights, and when you do this within two weeks of arrival, neither Booking.com or anyone at the hotel would make this modification for you. We were happy to accommodate your request for a larger room, but were not willing refund your last minute cancellation, that left the hotel without the time to resell your room. You will find that all hotels on Nantucket have this same cancellation policy. With regard to our breakfast, we serve exactly what we sell... a continental breakfast. While it is located in basement area, there are five windows that look out to the streets surrounding us, so not exactly the dungeon you've portrayed. Included in our breakfast are locally roasted coffees, fresh fruit, yogurts, cereals, fresh bagels daily from the bakery just down the street and fresh muffins from the restaurant next door. Hopefully you'll return to Nantucket again, and we do hope that you're able to find a property that better suits your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I am not a fan of The Robert's House. We've stayed twice and did not enjoy our room on either occasion, The location is outstanding. We paid around $200 mid-week in early June, which I think would be considered the shoulder season for pricing.. I'm not sure how this compares to the prices in the newer rooms, but I wouldn't stay in one of the older rooms again. Our room looked nothing like the photos on the website.

We were in the main Robert's house building. The 4-poster metal king sized bed was very cheap looking and terribly squeeky. The linens were nice. The furnishings were cheap, worn out damaged wicker with very ugly outdated cushions.The lamp shades were burnt and yellowed. The carpeting was dirty. The bathroom had pealing paint and some mildew and what looked like 1950's lineoleum on the floor. It was an extremely ugly room. It did have an air conditioning unit that worked well and the room was clean enough.

The breakfast is served in the basement and is tacky for a Nantucket vacation. Did I say it was the basement? Doors to messy storage areas off the breakfast room were left open. The only bathroom available when you are in checking in is in the basement, right off the breakfast room, which is also a tacky location. The trays available to take breakfast to your room were cheap plastic gaudy flowered trays that looked like they came from a dollar store. The coffee was good and strong, which we like. Food included fruit, yogurt, cereal, coffee cakes, bagels and muffins. The criticism is really about the location. It would be fine if you were staying just off the highway at an discount chain hotel, but certainly not appropriate for staying at an Inn in a lovely destination like Nantucket. It seemed very oddly out of place, especially when you see the attractive website photos of the beautifully historic buildings, lovely furnished rooms, and charming courtyard. None of this ambiance existed in our room and definitely did not exist in the breakfast room.

The staff was pleasant and helpful. I asked if they had any iPhone chargers for guests and they brought one up right away explaining that it belonged to one of the staff. This was very kind.

Nantucket is a lovely place to visit. If I do decide to give Robert's House a try again i would only do it if I can specify a newly renovated room in the newest building, but my guess is the price will go up drastically. There probably isn't a place to stay in Nantucket for $200 in the heart of downtown that hits all the marks.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a charming wonderful boutique hotel located at the crest of the hill overlooking downtown Nantucket. The location is spectacular...close to restaurants, shops and the bus line. The rooms are spacious, clean and modern plumbing fixtures. The courtyard is quaint with beautiful flowers. The staff is very accommodating and always aiming to please.

Room Tip: Let the reservation department help you choose.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We rented one of the bedroom suites for Memorial Day Weekend and could not have been more impressed by the beauty of this hotel! High quality furnishings, comfy bed, and beautiful finishes in the rooms and the common areas of the hotel. The location was amazing and the staff was friendly and accommodating! Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worktotravel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My mom and I spent the last 3 nights in Nantucket staying at the Roberts House Inn. It was lovely and charming! Right downtown but still very quiet. We stayed on the third floor and had a quaint room with a queen and twin bed and our own bathroom. The staff were all very helpful and gave us great recommendations since it was our first time to the island! Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Third floor is a bit of a climb with suitcases, but there was no noise from rooms above!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrittneyM14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews