We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like sleeping in a flea market stall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vanessa Noel Hotel Green
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Literally felt like entering the Walton's home, and being shown to their attic...the bed was comfortable though. Not worth the money, but the location is good. I was shown one of the tiny rooms in the Vanessa Noel hotel after checking out of the Vanessa Noel Green hotel. It was very, very small (probably the flip flop or ballerina room- the concierge told me it was meant for 1 person), but a much more clean, aesthetically pleasing room with a beachy feel...I hadn't realized the green hotel was really green- old rickety furniture, scratched up walls, mismatched toiletries, etc...like a weatherbeaten b&b in a small rural town.

Room Tip: If you're going to stay here, stay in the regular Vanessa Noel hotel. I travel a lot for busines...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jetaime10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2012

We were very much deceived by this hotel. The rooms where small, the bathroom tiny and not at all updated. Almost no furniture and the closet consisted of a mere metal bar. We couldn't find anywhere the 'design and luxury' aspect of it, except for the price.
The beds were very uncomfortable and the extra bed we asked for looked like coming from an old military camp.
So really, book here only if you have plenty of money to waste!
The only positive thing was the location, close to all the shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FamiliaGDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Pretty outdated, but kind of charming. Overall it was a clean, quiet place to stay in the heart of downtown so we couldn't complain. It was one of the least expensive options and filled our needs. Don't expect many hotel amenities or services though.. You are pretty much on your own. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allibeth23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We booked this room for 3 nights at a rate of $260, aware that the bathroom, while private, is located a short distance down the hall. When we arrived, we were told that an upgrade to a room with a bathroom en suite was available, but for an additional $100 per night. What we were not told was that the bathroom is the smallest bathroom in America! It is barely 5' by 5' where you had to squeeze your feet between the toilet and bathtub just to close the door. Also, there are no towel racks, only 2 small hooks on the back of the door, which were needed to hang the very heavy, but somewhat shabby robes.This room was apparently the broom closet in the original house.
The room itself was probably the original parlor of the house, with a doorway sealed behind the bed and a large radiator in the fireplace. The closet was very tiny, the shades inadequate to keep out sunlight or prying eyes (the room being on the first floor), and the TV had only about 6 channels. The window AC was barely adequate, especially since there is a gap under it, as well as gap by the radiator pipes open to the outside.
Service was friendly and helpful and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cogitosum3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

This hotel is located in an historic building. It has been updated to be environmentally friendly. The room was spacious and lovely. Everything was spotless. The only problem is, the (private) bathrooms are either next door, or across the hall from your bedroom. I don't consider this a minus, but some may. The management is TERRIFIC! They bent over backwards to make sure we were happy.

Room Tip: Just be aware that the bathrooms, although private, are not attached to your bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Despite negative reviews we were convinced to book this hotel. We only lasted about 10 minutes before we went to management to get moved to the main hotel next door which was fine. Every bad review you read on the Green Hotel is true so ditto on all things noted. The main hotel has comfortable beds and a good enough feel. If you book the Green Hotel (especially for the hefty price) you will be very disappointed by any standard.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank ellebelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ropehawn, Manager at Vanessa Noel Hotel Green, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2010

Dear ellebelly
The Vanessa Noel hotel and hotel green are two separate hotels. The two different hotels are located in separate buildings located on two separate property lots adjacent to each other.
Hotel Green is Nantucket’s first and only organic environmentally friendly hotel. All the beds are custom made by green sleep, the bedding is all organic linens from France. The marbled bathrooms are furnished with lush hemp towels and bathrobes and ayurvedic kama amenities from India. All cleaning supplies are organic and environmentally friendly. We have many return guests that request and return to Hotel Green every summer

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our Vanessa Noel Hotel and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

This may not be an upscale bed and breakfast but it sure is a quaint hotel with a bit of charm and not nearly as expensive as most of the hotels in Nantucket ! This hotel was very clean and a great location ! "center of the city" ! I had a great time and hope to visit again soon !

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Prest0chang0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ropehawn, Manager at Vanessa Noel Hotel Green, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2010

Dear Preston
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Hotel Green this past summer. We remain committed to maintaining our original objective of only using environmentally sustainable products to decorate and furnish our hotel. Though we avoided a "gut" renovation which we felt would rob the building of some of its innate and historic charm, we worked hard to find luxurious, yet ecologically responsible items with which to furnish The Hotel Green. These items include the amazing green sleep mattresses, the hand woven 100% organic French bed linens and the ayurvedic Kama bath amenities from India. We are thrilled that you joined us last year and look forward to hopefully seeing you again this summer. Please call us at (508)228-5300 or email vnh@vanessanoel.com with any reservation questions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#10 of 14 in Nantucket
259 reviews
2.5 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
291 reviews
0 mi away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nantucket
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#4 of 14 in Nantucket
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 14 in Nantucket
477 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanessa Noel Hotel Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanessa Noel Hotel Green

Address: 33 Center St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3659
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Price Range: £107 - £641 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vanessa Noel Hotel Green 3*
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing