We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Acme-Traverse City
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Acme
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
115 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Very pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Here’s a very pleasant surprise! We booked on short notice, and used IHG points to get this property for free. We were concerned about the distance from Traverse City, but that was actually a non-issue.

The Assistant GM checked us in, and very kindly upgraded us to a small suite. (thank you IHG Gold status!) Our room had a king bed and a foldout couch, along with a microwave and fridge. VERY clean, very nice. Plenty of towels, lots of room. Solid wifi signal throughout.

We had breakfast two mornings here, and it was thorough and well prepared. Kiddo loved the pancake machine.

We enjoyed the pool each evening, too, with Kiddo splashing happily, whilst we enjoyed the hot tub/jacuzzi.

There is no restaurant here, but happily recommend both Franks BayView Inn (see my review) and Thatsa Pizza (see my review). The BayView is a short drive, while Thatsa Pizza is walking distance. Hint: If you order from Thatsa Pizza, do NOT have them deliver… just walk down the hill, across the Sleep Inn parking lot and around the fence, and there you are.

I did read prior reviews about things like noise, renovations, etc. YES, they are finishing renovations, and there were guys installing mirrors on our hallway. YES, I did see room doors which had a good 2 inch gap between the floor and the bottom of the door… (ours wasn’t one of those). That said, there were no smells, the carpets were clean, the wallcoverings were fully attached, and we were quite happy here.

Net: YES, the Gardiner family would return to this property.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chauncey_Gardiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    68
    33
    6
    5
See reviews for
39
51
7
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

This hotel is a good standard facility. No complaint's except ONE and it was the breakfast "EGGS" were so bad ... grainy and not fluffy and tasted like yesterday's eggs. I could not eat them and I am not a picky eater. They should not have served them. I really like my "Holiday Inn Express" hotel's this was so unusual to have to say "THIS WAS A BAD EGG"... :O(

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharonchicago15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Acme-Traverse City, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Thank you for your concerns regarding the quality of our eggs on the breakfast bar, I would like to ensure you that we take the health of all guest very seriously and we would never jeopardize the health of anyone. This is not typical of our standards and we will address this concern immediately. We definitely take responsibility for this and we are taking the necessary steps to make sure this does not happen again. We would like to thank you again for sharing your experience and thank you for being so loyal to our brand. We look forward to seeing you in the future for your travel needs when visiting the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
199 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The Labor Day Weekend we went to this hotel for a couple cays stay. The staff was wonderful. The bedding and pillows were great. Room had a nice size. Prices were as high as hotels that offered "more" amenities. Walls are thin, and it was very noisy (late night, and early morning). Toilet problems. There was a foul odor of a "sewage smell" coming from the toilet and waste products that backed up. Maintenance was nice, quick, friendly. The ceiling fan did not operate so bathroom was steamy after showers. Also ceiling vent was half hanging off ceiling due to a screw missing. Outside windows were fogged up between panes so view of water was clouded and impaired. This hotel is undergoing a refurbishing, and hopefully these details will be addressed. The breakfast hours are 6-9:30 and each time we went down, it was crowded, and food needed to be replentished. Fruit was under ripe. Lots of people and kids, loitering so we couldn't eat there and left to go out to area restaurants. Never used pool because there were too many people. There were foreign adults wearing street clothes swimming in the pool and hot tub. There were health concerns why management didn't do anything. They need a larger breakfast area. Also the computer had no paper for printing all days we stayed there. Maybe they couldn't handle so many people all at once?

Room Tip: Do know any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sassytoothfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Acme-Traverse City, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
I would like to thank you for sharing your concerns while staying with us over the holiday weekend. We understand your concerns and as we are undergoing some renovations these area’s are on our list of things that need attention immediately. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered while attempting to get breakfast. We take all feedback very seriously and all issues will be addressed and we hope that you will give us another chance in the future to wow you, we do hope to welcome you back to our hotel and Traverse City in the future so you may experience our service and new hotel amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
196 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed here over the Labor day weekend. Waited until the last minute to make reservations, but I think that worked out to our advantage. Our room was a king suite, which was large and spacious. Came with a kitchenette, they even provided some microwave popcorn-nice touch. My only dislike was that the actual bedroom didn't have a door to close, or a way to have some privacy in the actual bedroom. Both TV's are within 3 feet of each other, so we had competing channels and couldn't really hear what we each were watching. The bathroom was clean, had nice faux granite counters. Shower was clean and large, although the trickle of water pressure meant more time in the shower. Bed was comfortable, and the hotel seemed quiet. Nice pool and hot tub that we enjoyed. Breakfast was fair-pancake making machine was broken, and they are only open until 9:30. (We like to sleep in a little on vacation, hence the idea of vacation!) having breakfast open until at least 10 would be ideal. All in all, a good stay, and we would come back here again.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Innerhousewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Acme-Traverse City, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Thank you for your input regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate all feedback from our guests. We utilize all comments so that we know when we are doing a good job and where we have opportunities. I am very glad that you liked your room with the exception of not having a two room suite that is separated by a door which we apologize for. We are currently reviewing the breakfast times for our summer season and talking about all opportunities we have in the future that will be more of positive impact for you our guests. Again, we wish to thank you for your input and hope to see you the next time you travel to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukee, Iowa
Level Contributor
152 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We needed a room as we were traveling through the area on our motorcyle. Not knowing it was the Annual Cherry Festival in Traverse City the rates for rooms were beyond outragious. It was 10 at night so felt lucky just to get a room. The price quoted initially was well over $200, I managed to get a better rate than quoted after speaking with the desk clerk. The beds were great and breakfast was fantastic, and everything very clean; as well this all should be at HIE. After sleeping well woke to children running up and down the halls early in the morning because the one drawback we found was that you could hear even hear people just walking and talking in the hallway as well as every door that opened and shut. If we are ever in the area would definitely stay again but would stuff a towel in the huge gap below the door in hopes that it would be much more quiet.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randall L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Acme-Traverse City, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
We would like to take the time to thank you for your great comments, we here at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Acme/Traverse City take our cleanliness very seriously. It is a joy to know that our hard work does not go unnoticed. We wish for all of our guests to have a great experience while they are visiting us. We would also like to extend an apology for the noise that you encountered and if we can be of assistance in the future to make your stay more enjoyable we are happy to do so. Again we would like to thank you and look forward to having you as our guest again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grand rapids
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this location, not far from town and a little quieter. The rooms were very clean and nice and the staff as well. Our only complaint would be to extend the breakfast times, this was the busiest weekend due to Cherry Festival and everyone wanting to sleep in probably from being busy on the previous day so everyone charged it at between 9:15-9:30am. I asked the staff about additional hot food since it was empty and all she said was we've been open since 6:30 and I heard her say that to others which is'nt professional at all. Your charging top rates during this time so I think this could have been accomadated a little better. Just FYI-

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank stazi321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel. It was our first time in TC and we were unsure of where to stay. This hotel did the job for us. It was a nice comfortable clean hotel. Next time we will stay on the beach.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acme
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Acme - Traverse City
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
1.8 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
4.1 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
4.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Acme-Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Acme-Traverse City

Property: Holiday Inn Express Acme-Traverse City
Address: 3536 Mount Hope Road, PO Box 177, Acme, MI 49610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Acme
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Acme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Acme-Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 5 miles from Cherry Capital Airport and Downtown Traverse City, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Traverse City is your best choice in Traverse City. You ll find the things that are most important whether you re here for business or pleasure. Whether you re coming to Traverse City for business or just for fun, your room at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Traverse City is your personal retreat. Amenities such as high-speed internet, plush towels, and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night. And start each great day with our Express Start Hot breakfast as well as our 24 hour coffee service. You can take a dip in our recently re-surfaced indoor pool and spa, as well as enjoy our workout room with a spectacular view of our countryside. And when it s time to dine you can choose from an eclectic group of area restaurants. The best of Traverse City is waiting for you at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Traverse City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Acme-Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Acme-Traverse City Hotel Acme
Holiday Inn Acme
Acme Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Acme-Traverse City Grand Traverse County, MI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing