We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great course”

Grand Traverse Resort Golf Courses
Ranked #2 of 4 things to do in Acme
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the Midwest's premier golf destinations, Grand Traverse's lush location has three distinct championship courses: the original Spruce Run, the Gary Player-designed Wolverine and The Bear, named for its illustrious architect, Jack Nicklaus.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great course”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

The Bear is a great golf course but very difficult. It is a long and narrow course which means you need long straight drives or you will be spending a lot of your time in difficult roughs. The course is very well maintained and lots of fun to play. If I lived in the area I would play this course often.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ddavislaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    13
    3
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ludington, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful but dated”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Special night and we arrived to find our room next to a boisterous family. We went to the desk they pleasantly upgraded us to a bay view tower room for no extra cost ! All hotel personnel were friendly and expert at what they did. Had a martini in the lobby bar and it was mediocre and only half a glass. Did not eat at the restaurants. Room was spotless and really lovely but the hotel is dated and there was some areas needing painting, poor lighting over the bathroom sink and the handle on the door to the balcony loose. We paid off season rates and thought it was a good value. We would not pay full season rates for this hotel. Good place though and if you golf and enjoy the pool etc worth it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Spruce Run”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

It's the cheapest and supposed to be the easiest at the resort... but for a novice like me, it was not easy at all. The staff was wonderful, the carts were sparkling, the greens were a little rough, but it's fall and they had a huge outing that morning. The views were gorgeous and everyone was friendly.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michiwander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“The Bear needs repair”
Reviewed 13 September 2012 via mobile

Played the course recently. I initially was very excited about playing a Nicklaus designed course. The layout and Green set up was excellent. Nearly every shot presented a challenge. Green speeds were consistent, fairways in good shape.
I've played a great deal of courses over the years and this one, although the design and set up was a good challenge... For what you pay and it being a Jack Nicklaus design I expected it to look more polished. There shouldn't be wild shrubs and milk weeds growing in the fescue. The grass around the ponds shouldn't look like it's been cut all season. My public course does better grounds keeping. When you can't see a green because there's weeds all around there's an issue. I'm all about maintaining the natural of a course, but in my opinion it's more a lack of attention to detail.
For that reason, I won't play this course again. I expected this course to be of a Boyne caliber. It's not.

Helpful?
Thank ATremble07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, MI
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Jack Nicklaus doesn't like you”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Probably Gary Player feels the same? Jack designed the Bear and Gary the Wolverine. They are 2 (of the 3) very nice, but tough golf courses @ GTR. You can't go wrong playing them but you feel a bit beat up after playing them if you are a mid-handicapper like moi (and even the low handicappers had a bit of a problem and were off their usual games). Personally I love the challenge and wouldn't miss 'em, but if you don't you need to move up a tee box or 2 or find some flatter land.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GregfromDTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grand Traverse Resort Golf Courses also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Williamsburg, Grand Traverse County
 
Acme, Grand Traverse County
Acme, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Grand Traverse Resort Golf Courses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing