We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Villa Serena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Villa Serena
Ranked #5 of 126 Antigua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Owen Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

It was like coming home when I pulled up to the doors of Marina's Villa. Marina and staff greeted us as though we were old friends, of course we were as we stayed with her on our last trip. She goes out of the way to find out what traditional treats we might like to add to our pallet and voila they will be at the next meal as a surprise. The rooms are beautiful, the setting is beautiful, the young people on our trip loved their rooms. The hospitality surpasses anything I have ever had the chance to experience - I thank you and will see you again. Muriel

Room Tip: Any room is awesome - Damascus room is super.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muriel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
40
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muskegon County, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Eric and I stayed with Marina twice, she was very helpful setting up drivers for us for each of our destinations. When Eric was in a accident they drove him to a local place to get him help immediately. The personally made breakfast in the mornings are wonderful! The hospitality surpassed any place we have ever stayed in Central America. Would highly recommend and go back time and time again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zentrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

My stay at La Villa Serena in Antigua was the most pleasant experience of a lifetime. Beautiful room and courtyard, and a rooftop setting that offers exquisite views of the city skyline, the volcanoes, rainbows, birds, butterflies and lightening shows. The hospitality far surpasses any experience I have ever had at a bed and breakfast, and the meals were delicious. The owner, Marina, is a wealth of knowledge and guided us to places and sites that would align with our interests and her intuition on that was perfect. Truly a place filled with love. A very quiet part of town and yet you are just a 10 minute walk from the center of Antigua.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at La Villa Serena twice in the last 12 months and I cannot express enough what a great host Marina was. I was able to find this place during the busiest time "Semana Santa" and it was absolutely what my family of 5 needed. The food was great for everyone ranging from 10-40. Marina was helpful in directing us what to see and where to eat. She gave great advice regarding the city and we even took a walk and 5am to visit all the "alfombras" during Easter. Marina helped us set up transportation to and from other towns (Guatemala City and Panajachel) as well as tracking down lost luggage that I had left on the bus. I returned again in Jan 14' and Marina , again, was an absolute gem. Her kindness is immeasurable and I felt at home staying there. I would definitely return again...and she lives just a short walking distance to the artisan market

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

The accommodations were clean and comfortable. Marina and her staff were very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. They helped with travel arrangements and provided a wonderful breakfast as well as good conversation. The villa is nicely decorated and I would certainly stay there again on my next visit.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ben t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

From the moment we entered this tranquil, orchid-filled oasis of La Villa Serena in the heart of historic La Antigua, we knew this was the perfect perch from which to explore this World Heritage site in Guatemala. Every room is unique and comfortable; breakfast is a homemade treat of fresh fruits, organic coffee, seasoned eggs and special breads; internet, hot water, and good advice flow generously. This B&B is well located, 5 minute walk from the marvelous market, 7 minute walk from the historical Central Park, and within easy strolling of all the amazing sights and sounds of this popular city. We have stayed here several times and will come back! A real home away from home!

Room Tip: Each room is special; I love a second-floor room with views of the 3 volcanoes. I have also stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BattleGround
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights.
The food, cleanliness, and location were all premier. The staff went above and beyond to meet diatary needs as well as helping with transportation, and offering help when we needed help.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingcanadian12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#24 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.6 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#15 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
15.0 mi away
Casa Santo Domingo
Casa Santo Domingo
#7 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#2 of 82 in Antigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#43 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Los Pasos
Hotel Los Pasos
#11 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Serena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Serena

Property: La Villa Serena
Address: Callejon del Espiritu Santo #16, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Villa Serena 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet and secluded neighborhood, we invite you to visit our premises and delight yourself in our lush vegetation and our collection of more than 300 hundred orquids. Have a wonderful and restfull night's sleep in an extremely confortable mattress and cover yourself with a cozy down conforter. In the morning have an amazing complimentary breakfast, including homemade marmaledes, fresh juices and Antigua coffe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your La Villa Serena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing