We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It feels like home”
Review of La Villa Serena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Villa Serena
Ranked #5 of 128 Antigua B&B and Inns
1 review
“It feels like home”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Marina made me and all of my friends feel like we were old friends staying at her home. You could not ask for a better experience. The staff was just as kind and helpful with any request we had. We were given great information about the customs of the area and as a result we were able to surprise one of our friends with firecrackers on her birthday morning.

The rooms were comfortable and very clean. The court yard was so peaceful and if you get up early enough and make it to the roof, you will be greeted to the most wonderful sunrise over the mountain top you will find.

The location being off a main street is great because you do not get the early morning hustle and bustle of the city. You are only walking distances from great restaurants and town center.

Room Tip: I love my room which theme was after the middle east...My and my roommate took some great pictures w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
43
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I have stayed at this lovely bed and breakfast a few times. Marina and her lovely staff have managed to take care of me as if I were a part of the family. I loved having breakfast in the lovely garden especially because despite my many dietary restrictions they were able to accomidate and go above and beyond my expectations. I highly recommend this piece of heaven in Antigua.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAB811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Beautiful views of all volcanoes. They were nice to invite us to go to the terrace to enjoy the morning sun. While we were enjoying the view, they brought us a nice assortment of coffee and pastries. Nice place, nice staff.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gabigabi181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

My wife, my daughter, and I stayed at this family B&B for the weekend during last week. We enjoyed of three wonderful days close to the main plaza in the center of town. If you are lookinng for a small retreat in Antigua with nice and clean rooms decorated with beautiful and well preserved furniture and accesories from different places of the world where the owner has lived, this is the place for you. Delicious meals are also served everyday for breakfast and dinner by a very friendly and professional personnel and a plus for us was that, the owner was allways carefull of not being intrusive with her gests. Definatelly this is a place that we highly reccomend.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alberto N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarschot, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

A house with a history and a lot off treasures.A well kept garden with beautifull flowers.
Marina is a great women,very helpfull,speak very good english and she have a real nice dog Nemo.
The place is clean,very good beds and good breakfast.
When you visiting Antigua stay with Marina.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wella645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed nine days in Guatemala, from Antigua to Pana to Chichi to Tikal, and La Villa Serena outclassed all the other places we stayed, many of which were more expensive. The room was lovely with good beds, perfect bedding, hot water on demand and beautiful views from the rooftop in the morning. The breakfasts featured fresh pineapple juice and fresh papaya with fine coffee and eggs, toast, etc. The entire place is decorated with hundreds of blooming flowers, weavings, and antiques that make you feel comfortable yet stimulated by the colors and textures. We stayed our first night and our fourth night with Marina, and we were spoiled, especially when it came to help with logistics. Our friendly and efficient driver picked us up at the airport and we had a very smooth journey to Antigua, airport to front door. Marina made it all seem so easy, calling the right people to arrange a tour or transportation for our next leg. When we got to other hotels, people just didn't know or didn't care enough and we were basically on our own to spend a lot of time searching and muddling through. All in all, I have no hesitation in highly recommending Marina and La Villa Serena, especially for that first night or day when travelers might need an extra hand, or some soothing beauty.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank global_travel_poet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel room was really clean, the bath had hot water. The rooftop terrace gives you such a beautiful view. The owner Marina is so friendly and speaks really good English, which is helpful when you are trying to learn Spanish. If you are in Antigua and want a wonderful stay, look no more. Thank you so much Marina. Muchas gracias por su hospitalidad. Nos vemos la próxima ves que pasamos por Antigua.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bichochunti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#28 of 76 in Antigua
419 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#2 of 76 in Antigua
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Casona de Antigua
La Casona de Antigua
#9 of 76 in Antigua
206 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#8 of 76 in Antigua
404 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Florencia Hotel
Casa Florencia Hotel
#27 of 76 in Antigua
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Serena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Serena

Property: La Villa Serena
Address: Callejon del Espiritu Santo #16, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 128 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Villa Serena 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet and secluded neighborhood, we invite you to visit our premises and delight yourself in our lush vegetation and our collection of more than 300 hundred orquids. Have a wonderful and restfull night's sleep in an extremely confortable mattress and cover yourself with a cozy down conforter. In the morning have an amazing complimentary breakfast, including homemade marmaledes, fresh juices and Antigua coffe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Villa Serena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing