We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard beds, nice rooftop terrace for breakfast.”
Review of Black Cat Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Cat Inn
Ranked #89 of 135 Antigua B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We spent 1 night here before going to San Pedro. We met some nice people and had a good meal and breakfast. There is no kitchen to use and the communal seating area could be better as it was too wet and cool to use the roof terrace. We did have breakfast on the roof which was nice. The room was a good size but basic, the tv picture was snowy and they said it was the weather, very hard beds but a nice shower. We were quoted a rate of exchange for US $ and told we could pay in either local or US. As we hadn't made it to the ATM we asked again in the morning and they wouldn't honour the rate! It got into quite a discussion with phone calls to the night receptionist. We made a trip to the ATM to sort it out but it left a bad taste! We also saved Q15 each on the shuttle to San Pedro by shopping around. Not a bad place in a good location but we stayed at The Yellow House on our two further visits to Antigua and far preferred it there

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geronimoturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

so by now you may realize that traveling in guatemala is for adventure. adventure travelers will enjoy the comfy rooms, the upper deck overlooking the valley and volcanoes, security & set up, privacy and safety, proximity to the central plaza & market, and THE FOOD. breakfast, lunch & dinner- GREAT!!

tell your taxi to take you to the BLACK CAT INN, it's about one block from the BLACK CAT HOSTEL. the hostel is cool and fun too, but be good to yourself if you deserve it. BLACK CAT INN rules. clean rooms, secure front entrance, smar innkeeper and front desk manager. the beds are not luxurious, but they are comfortable and clean, safe & secure.

it may take a minute to figure out the hot water for the shower- but it gets HOT, for as long as you want. hint-the slower the water comes out-the hotter the water will be.

BLACK CAT provides little hotel soaps. SPLURGE- go to the grocery store one block away-right next to the market entrance, buy a big bottle of shampoo and conditioner for about $1, you won't use it all. leave it for the housekeepers. and you won't have a hassle going through the airport on your departure.

try BLACK CAT FRESH DESSERTS, POSTRES, COOKIES, BROWNIES, EVERY AFTERNOON. TAKE ONE WITH YOU FOR A PICNIC. NONE BETTER. IF YOU LEAVE on a tour earlier than breakfast, ask for a sandwich. it will be like the perfect sandwiches served on 1950's tv shows. perfect. the senoritas take pride in preparing special dishes. they make every dish look special.

at least one night, visit the restaurant one block toward the market, same side of the street as the BLACK CAT INN, and hear the musicians SOL LATINO. you'll be in for a treat. great music-awesome food. there are also concerts in the park-so keep an eye out.

take your time in the market-negotiate, remember each one of your family members, friends, and co workers (girlfriends) for christmas and birthday presents. your new mayan friends will appreciate it and your friends will LOVE YOU LONG TIME.

take a flashlight, and pancho or fleece (and a little picnic snack, and take the tour/hike of VOLCAN PACAYA. take lots of pictures and videos. for the less fit members of your party-consider a horseback ride up the volcano- a life time memory. as you complete the tour and right by your bus, consider buying some treats for the local kids. as much fun as you see in their eyes, you'll even have more fun. PACAYA PACAYA PACAYA PACAYA

in my opinion the BLACK CAT INN is a great rest for any age traveler and any fitness level.

the fitness center looks exactly like the street. GO OUTSIDE AND WALK AROUND. for a higher fitness level. turn off the cable tv, GO OUTIDE AND RUN AROUND. repeat.

there is also a laundry directly across the street.



BLACK CAT INN is safe, secure, clean, comfortable, plenty of hot water, great food, great view from the deck, and extremely reasoably priced. before you leave- splurge for some treats for the kids on the street.

wasn't going to mention it but since you asked-consider an excursion to COPAN RUINAS.
about a 5 hour bus ride each way. spend 3 hours at the ruins- with or without a guide-take some nuts or crackers to feed the parrots-they'll fly right up to you and stand on your arms/shoulders if you let them, and eat right out of your hands-wear sunglasses for protection. then spend one night at COPAN RUINAS, visit the shops, artesan market, ice cream shop. lots of little motels around the square for around $30. try VIA VIA (NO TV) for $12. great food at VIA VIA, and also at the little restaurant directly across the street from via via.

want to have even more fun. buy some ice cream/treats for a few kids on the street.

Room Tip: the rooms are nearly all the same, and not many of them. they are not spectacular, and the inn is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sagotk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed here for 6 days during our recent trip and the Inn was great. The included breakfast was awesome & the staff very helpful. Sit on the roof terrace & soak up the panoramic views of the surrounding volcanos during breakfast while planning your day! We saw two rooms & while there might be a slight "musty" smell when the fan is not on, it definitely was not moldy. We live in Belize so are not used to un-air conditioned rooms & are sort of used to this minor inconvenience.

The "other" Black Cat, the hostel, is much rowdier but right around the corner if that is your thing. Do check our Reily's Bar for great beer, food, & entertainment!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pagerage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

perfect location near to the parque central and all the shops, restaurants, bars etc. staff spoke perfect english and were very helpful in helping me get to the airport.

dorms were clean and comfortable

we stayed here over the black cat hostel because of rumours of bed bugs from many other travellers and the fact that it was quieter.

had a really good breakfast as well that was included in the price of the dorm.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjc40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Black Cat Inn was in an awesome location. A block away from the Parque Central, and around the corner from some great bars. We had a huge private room with private bath. So much space, and right on the courtyard. Very quite hostel, but lots of friendly travelers to talk to. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the restaurant was good. The free breakfast was incredibly filling, and delicious. Good drink specials for happy hour, and a cool rooftop terrace to drink. The only thing is, I've never slept on a rock, but I imagine the mattresses here were the closest I'll ever get to it. It's crazy too because they weren't really that uncomfortable, you just wouldn't want to throw yourself down on it. Don't plop (haha). Other than that I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone who asks.

Room Tip: They are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelready7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

I've stayed at both Black Cats in Antigua, and I definitely prefer the Black Cat Inn for my trips now. Its the same price as the hostel, but much quieter. For Q65 you get a dorm bed with a free excellent breakfast in the morning. There is a nice patio upstairs for lounging.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naturallywandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Stayed here as the sister hostel, Black Cat Hostel was full. The place is really nice with a great sun terrace over looking the numerous volcanos of Antigua. The staff here are absolutely fantastic, can't do enough to try and help you. We went off to various other places in Guatemala and El Salvador while using The Black Cat Inn as a place to leave our big travelling bags, stroage free of charge.
Great location right in the heart of Antigua, has hot water and the choice of free breakfast is amazing. Really good value hostel, would happily go back.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nilesheyohyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#46 of 75 in Antigua
251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.3 mi away
Posada Don Valentino
Posada Don Valentino
#65 of 75 in Antigua
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#28 of 75 in Antigua
434 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Yellow House
The Yellow House
#11 of 117 in Antigua
537 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
#49 of 75 in Antigua
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Cat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Cat Inn

Address: 9a Calle Oriente 5, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have comfortable doubles, singles, triples private rooms, with private bathrooms with hot water showers and tv with cable, a great breakfast included, a restaurant open from 8am until 10 pm, a terrace bar with an amazing volcano view and really good drinks!!!!, another cool downstairs bar and a very friendly staff. The whole team is willing to make the best of your stay!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Cat Hotel Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing