We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok option, but a bit expensive compared to others, and lack of atmosphere”
Review of Black Cat Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Cat Inn
Ranked #85 of 127 Antigua B&B and Inns
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Ok option, but a bit expensive compared to others, and lack of atmosphere”
Reviewed 26 February 2010

You sleep in a dorm with capacity for 6 for 60 Quetzales. The place is OK, clean, the staff is friendly, their breakfast is good and they have wifi. What I think this hostel lacks is a communal space where to socialize with others. They do have a terrace, on the roof, with great views. Don't be confused with the Black Cat Hostel: the owners of both are the same, but the hostels are different.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmhbcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    18
    10
    8
    1
See reviews for
1
13
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2010

We stayed in the Black cat for over a week in September 2009 whilst we did a Spanish course in Antigua. We stayed in a double which was pretty good (the Guatemalans have mini sized beds!) We payed 150 Q a night which included a huge breakfast, you can choose from a big menu (the breakfast burrito is best) you don't really need to bother with lunch. They also have a great dinner menu too with good prices. The staff were great, so friendly and helpful. Whilst we were there I got the flu and they were really helpful with finding a doctor and pharmacist. Location wise they are right in the middle of town, all bars restaurants etc.. are walking distance. Would stay there again in a heart beat :)

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire_45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland OR
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2009

This is a place to party and not really to sleep. Unfortunately I was roomed with three very messy guys who continuously screamed in the courtyard. By morning there is no place to set foot on the ground (it was all covered by their stuff) and the room smelled like a dirty shoe. The room I was in was 6 room dorm with en-suite bathroom, but one of the boys locked the door by accident so no one could use it until the maintenance came to fix it. The room door can only be locked from inside and each guest do not have keys. the front entrance is also open, so literally anyone off the street can walk in to your room. I didn't feel safe here at all.

My bus dropped me off in front of this hostel, so i decided to stay for a night, but I moved to another the next day. as the reservation goes, once you are in, you are in until you tell them otherwise. It costs money to change your bunk. There are two internet computers for guest use, but there is always someone using them. it's easier to go to internet cafe two doors down. book exchange is non-existent.

The restaurant serves relatively good food for the price, breakfast hour is very strictly adhered and they won't serve even coffee a minute earlier (although you can sit in the restaurant and wait). breakfast is included in the price. The price altogether is very reasonable

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eusay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Antigua hotels

greenwood, ar.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2008

We just returned from Guatemala and it is such a beautiful place. We stayed (5) of us at The Black Cat Inn in Antigua most of the time. It is a charming small hotel, very affordable. It is clean and the staff is more than willing to help in any way. They arranged and provided our transportation from Guatemala City to Antigua, also to Lake Atitlan, Chici and Panajachel. It is located about 5 blocks from the central city where banks, shops, and restaurants are. Also a beautiful square is there, Their food is very good and safe to eat. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who isn't looking for a luxury hotel.
Busyladyark

  • Liked — the helpfulness of staff and closeness to central city.
  • Disliked — there was nothing I did not like
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank busyladyark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2008

THE best hostel in Antigua. Great staff, clean rooms, hot water, and the best hostel food I've ever eaten. A bit on the pricey side for a hostel BUT, their rate includes a free breakfast.... and I dont mean no cereal with warm milk, I mean the best breakfast burritos or omellettes in town. Staff is very friendly, went out on the town with them a couple times. Internet, media room, and lots of friendly travelers, very nice crowd gathers there. Plus they have a 1/2 off happy hour every night.

  • Liked — Location, staff and food
  • Disliked — hey, its a hostel. you roll with the punches
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hectoreduardoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Rica, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2008

We returned from almost 7 weeks travelling in Central America. Our first 3 nights were in Antigua, Guatemala at The Black Cat Inn. The hotel is centrally located about 5 blocks from the central square. The hotel is basic with daily room cleaning. Breakfast is also included in the price ($30 U.S. for two people). The breakfast is great! There are tables in the courtyard near the entrance, but also on the rooftop with breathtaking views of the nearby volcanoes. If you have an early excursion or departure you can also arrange for a sandwich to go to replace breakfast. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Views from the roof, breakfast, staff
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MikLinGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.7 mi away
The Yellow House
The Yellow House
#11 of 105 in Antigua
517 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#25 of 76 in Antigua
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Posada Don Valentino
Posada Don Valentino
#57 of 76 in Antigua
169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#46 of 76 in Antigua
245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#30 of 76 in Antigua
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Cat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Cat Inn

Property: Black Cat Inn
Address: 9a Calle Oriente, 5, Antigua, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have comfortable doubles, singles, triples private rooms, with private bathrooms with hot water showers and tv with cable, a great breakfast included, a restaurant open from 8am until 10 pm, a terrace bar with an amazing volcano view and really good drinks!!!!, another cool downstairs bar and a very friendly staff. The whole team is willing to make the best of your stay!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Cat Hotel Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing