We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of Mould”
Review of Black Cat Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Cat Inn
Ranked #89 of 135 Antigua B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 January 2011

I am writing about the Inn not the Hostel. We booked a private room for 3 nights but had to cancel due to the level of mould, stench and filth in the room. The room was a good size with a tv and good beds however there is a huge dampness problem which filled the room with an overpowering stench. The bathroom was very dated and the room lacked maintenance. Staff were friendly and maintained good email contact.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ejs88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2010

I've stayed in 3 hostels in Antigua in the last year, including Black Cat, Kafka, and Jungle Party. Out of those, Black Cat has the best breakfast and is the most social. It's relatively clean, with big rooms, but dorm beds are just ok with mattresses that are a bit too soft. Bathrooms could use better cleaning and some remodeling. That said, I liked it better than the other two. Jungle Party has a better common area, but the rooms are pretty awful and the layout is bad. Their breakfast also sucks compared to Black Cat. They'll also pack you a free lunch instead of you're leaving for a tour or a bus early.

I also checked out Yellow House, which has the cleanest facilities and cheapest rates for buses and tours, but Black Cat definitely has a better social vibe even though the only hangout area there is a cramped restaurant/bar/lobby.

Be aware that there is a loud bar across the street that may play loud music with bass until around 1-2am sometimes.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smartcooki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

In Antigua there is the Black Cat Hostel and the Black Cat Inn/Hotel. I am talking about the second one, located 5ta calle poniente #11A.

Nice location near the center (Parque Central). Room had a nice size with 2 1,5 person beds. Shower sometimes needed some time to warm up. Bathroom was clean.
TV in the room.

Best things I found were the staff. They can really help you out and can give good advice in English if you like. If you leave early, they will make you a sandwich for you to take with you.

Also the roof terrace gives you a great view on the vulcanos. Its very large aswell. Have a look at my picture. Sorry for the clouds.. otherwise you could see the vulcano.

The hotel was silent after a certain hour, which was great for getting up early aswell.

Downsides:
Its a little expensive for Guatemalan standards. It was the second most expensive place I stayed in. So for this price it would have been nice if they supplied a towel and some soap in the room and more of these hotel type services.

Also we stayed for Q200 in this room. After 2 weeks we came back and they made us pay Q250 for the same room. We tried to argue but it did not work. Not very nice, I think.

I hope it was helpfull!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Druifje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

The Black Cat Inn in Antigua is a nice place to sleep (dorm: 55Q a night including breakfast). Dorms and bathrooms are clean, staff is very friendly, close to the parque central. You have a good choice between many delicious breakfasts.
Just the coffee doesn't taste good (it's rather water than coffee) and is not recommendable.
However, altogether I really enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnySarahJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

Its important to distinguish the hostel from the hotel (?) owned by the same people. We stayed in the HOSTEL. Simple room, great location, very cool vibe, lost of people coming and going so great to meet other travellers and socialize. Lively in the evening but the bar quietened down by 10 pm ish. Breakfast FANTASTIC and security seemed good too (we got names checked on a list by the security guard when returning around midnight one night). Probably not best place if you want peace and quiet and i got a bit annoyed with ALWAYS having to wait for the shared bathroom. It was constantly busy! But definitely recommend it for the vibe.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jinks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2010

You sleep in a dorm with capacity for 6 for 60 Quetzales. The place is OK, clean, the staff is friendly, their breakfast is good and they have wifi. What I think this hostel lacks is a communal space where to socialize with others. They do have a terrace, on the roof, with great views. Don't be confused with the Black Cat Hostel: the owners of both are the same, but the hostels are different.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmhbcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2010

We stayed in the Black cat for over a week in September 2009 whilst we did a Spanish course in Antigua. We stayed in a double which was pretty good (the Guatemalans have mini sized beds!) We payed 150 Q a night which included a huge breakfast, you can choose from a big menu (the breakfast burrito is best) you don't really need to bother with lunch. They also have a great dinner menu too with good prices. The staff were great, so friendly and helpful. Whilst we were there I got the flu and they were really helpful with finding a doctor and pharmacist. Location wise they are right in the middle of town, all bars restaurants etc.. are walking distance. Would stay there again in a heart beat :)

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire_45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#46 of 75 in Antigua
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.5 mi away
Posada Don Valentino
Posada Don Valentino
#65 of 75 in Antigua
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#28 of 75 in Antigua
434 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Yellow House
The Yellow House
#11 of 117 in Antigua
536 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
#49 of 75 in Antigua
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Cat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Cat Inn

Address: 9a Calle Oriente 5, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have comfortable doubles, singles, triples private rooms, with private bathrooms with hot water showers and tv with cable, a great breakfast included, a restaurant open from 8am until 10 pm, a terrace bar with an amazing volcano view and really good drinks!!!!, another cool downstairs bar and a very friendly staff. The whole team is willing to make the best of your stay!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Cat Hotel Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing