We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (717)
Filter reviews
717 results
Traveller rating
548
112
36
11
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
548
112
36
11
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rain shower junior suite american breakfast private garden converted convent hot tub visit antigua spacious room quiet street sitting area second floor spent two nights roof terrace lake atitlan an oasis guatemala city the location is perfect
Filter
Updating list...
422 - 427 of 717 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2012

My husband and I stayed at the El Convento in Antigua for one night. It was phenomenal. If you have any experience in Latin America, you know that the standard of comfortable beds is vastly different from those standards in the US and Europe. Even the best hotels have crummy board hard beds. Well not here....the beds were extremely comfortable and a king size as well. The room was intimate and tasteful. The hotel is a converted convent and only has 26 rooms. All are unique and have names. Ours was San Francisco. We had a nice balcony overlooking a lush courtyard. The staff were very attentive. The shower was huge and very nice with L'Occitane amenities. Some reviewers commented on the dim lighting....it was dim, however, given that the hotel retained the historic details of the convent, it is a modern miracle that there is lighting. I used the mirror in our bedroom to apply make up. Another advantage to El Convento is while very close to the central park, it is off the main thoroughfare so it is quiet. This is important in Antigua, as it is a lively town with lots of foot traffic on the main streets. We finished our stay by enjoying a delicious breakfast the following morning. You will not be disappointed if you choose this gem.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibgagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This was the first hotel in Guatemala on our trip to Central America and we loved it.

We were greeted on arrival by the friendly reception desk and while there was some confusion over our reservation, things got sorted out quickly and we got an upgrade.

The rooms are indeed somewhat dark but very comfortable and impeccably clean. Bathrooms are well stocked and spotless.

We went for dinner that same night at the hotel and were treated to a delicious dinner by the chef Titi.

Location is a little off center of the town but it only takes about 5 minutes to walk to the central park.

The only disappointing thing about this place is that it does not have a pool. Rather, they have a little something that is called a pool but it is an oversized outdoor bath if anything. We did not care about it since the purpose of the trip was sightseeing, but some may be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed at the rooms Hermano Pedro and Don Felipe
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located in the most charming old convent that has been restored to perfection. The room is fantastic stylished decorated and with small private courtyards.The hotel is located 7 min walk from the central cathedral and park. It is properly the best hotel I ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karpatschof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This is a very nice small boutique hotel, very well located in Antigua, Guatemala. Everything here is wood and stone, reminding of a spanish colonial house with very well kept gardens. Personnel is very polite and diligent (although service at the restaurant was a little slow). Size of rooms, bathrooms and especially showers are great. El Convento is a very good option in La Antigua.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoseAlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

El Convento is a well known hotel in Antigua. And yes the location is great and the ruin setting is beautiful. However, everything is very dark; lighting is really poor. And service wise it is a pity. Many of the things did not work: safe, Internet, iPod player.. When asked the staff, they were very nonchalant about it or simply didn't care at all. The name of the manager was asked; response? We are not authorized to give it. Caring for your guests? I would say not really.. Too bad for them..

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roukiat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews