We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small place to enjoy heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Convento Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My wife and I got engaged and had our civil wedding here. We decided to stay at El Convento for our wedding night. It is a boutique hotel offering outstanding service, friendly customer service and exquisite cuisine.
Our room was a suite called ¨Bella Epoca¨. We were greeted with champagne and rose petals in various places in the room. We purchased a package for dinner, which was offered directly in the room. It had free internet access. All bathroom amenities were included (robe, towels, etc.).
We ate in the restaurant for the continental/american breakfast. Previously we had lunch and dinner there too, and we can testify that the food exceeds the expectations of those with good taste for food.
The architecture is aligned to the colonial form of Antigua, which makes the hotel a romantic, unique and high quality place to stay.

Room Tip: The Bella Epoca suite is an excellent room for those who are traveling as a couple and want somethin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mechdig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at El Convento for four nights in July. I am extremely particular about cleanliness when traveling. El Convento was spotless. The rooms were spacious and lovely and the bathroom was huge. The bed was so comfortable and cozy. The entire hotel was immaculate and everyone catered to our needs. We did not eat at the hotel, as we prefer to explore restaurants in the city. The menu did look good and the restaurant was gorgeous. I will most definitely return to this gem of a city and when I do, I will stay at El Convento once again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HPMcSWIGGINS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

rooms are amazing at a very reasonable prize, restaurant is great but wine selection is not too good. Located in a very central position, everything is at walking distance. It is a must if you go to visit antigua

Room Tip: The suites are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MACF250767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I Highly recommend this hotel. Beautiful spacious rooms and gracious service. Wonderful food in the restaurant. Charming character and easy walking distance to everything. Can't imagine a better place to stay in antigua. The only problem: we arranged for them to send a car to meet us at the airport and it never showed up.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

I just read the less favorable reviews and I do not see any observable signs of the complaints listed from past guests. There is a new management and the desired improvements must have been made because all I see is a lovely manager who is present and attentive, lovely, friendly and helpful staff, a gorgeous hotel, a gorgeous suite (I'm in the Hermano Pedro suite)-- immaculately clean-- and, wonderful food both in the restaurant and in room service. My personal opinion as a repeat visitor in Antigua (I come once a year) is that this is the best hotel. I do not understand why the currently rated #1 hotel is the one currently listed as such. I find Hotel El Convento superior in all aspects described above, and, additionally, the location is top notch and more desirable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cbeb9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We stayed at El Convento for two nights recently. We had a gorgeous room on the ground floor with an outside Jacuzzi. The bed was deliciously comfortable and the bathroom was spacious and well designed. The hotel arranged for us to have a massage in our room one evening and it was the best I have ever had anywhere in the world, which is saying something! My only negative comment would be that the restaurant staff did sit around a lot chatting amongst themselves and there didn't appear to be any management around at all to manage them. None of the waiters spoke English, which made ordering anything other than what was offered for breakfast (fried or scrambled egg) a bit frustrating. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel so can't comment that. The roof terrace was gorgeous but it was too windy on the afternoon we went up there to stay for too long.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arentwelucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed one night while in Antigua and this place was perfect. Very tastefully designed, friendly staff and centrally located. Great find. I would love to stay at an El Convento everywhere I travel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelathomason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.5 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
905 reviews
0.5 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#5 of 75 in Antigua
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#7 of 75 in Antigua
425 reviews
0.6 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#9 of 75 in Antigua
442 reviews
1.4 mi away
Finca Filadelfia Coffee Resort & Tours
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Convento Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Convento Boutique Hotel

Address: 2a. Avenida Norte # 11, Antigua 03002, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#2 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#5 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#9 Family Hotel in Antigua
#9 Business Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: £144 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Convento Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a cobblestone street across from the legendary Capuchinas Convent, in the heart of Antigua Guatemala, El Convento Boutique Hotel welcomes visitors to an oasis of stunning elegance and unparalleled comfort. Each of our 26 spacious, exquisitely decorated suites draws upon the history and culture of this famous city, creating an intoxicating blend of traditional simplicity and modern convenience. Our staff anticipates your needs without intruding, offering gracious service and thoughtful amenities that will make you feel more at home than in a hotel. Perhaps that's why El Convento Boutique Hotel was awarded the Most Excellent Hotel in Mexico and Central America by Condé Nast Johansens in 2013, in addition to earning TripAdvisor's coveted 2013 Travellers' Choice award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your El Convento Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Convento Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing