We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Convento Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Panchoy(Antigua)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aurora Hotel(Antigua)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (681)
Filter reviews
681 results
Traveller rating
516
109
36
10
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
516
109
36
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate jacuzzismall luxuryrain showerjunior suiteamerican breakfastconverted conventspiral staircasewalking distancehuge bathroomsmall poolrooms are beautifulquiet streetsitting areaspent two nightssecond floorvisit antiguaroof terrace
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
308 - 313 of 681 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The rooms were beautiful, each one very unique. We had to opportunity to stay in two of the Junior Suites - Las Huertas (fireplace, large bathroom with glass shower and tub but no terrace) and San Jose (huge private terrace, great tub and separate glass shower). If these were the Junior Suites, I would love to see what the Grand Suites looked like in person. This is truly a great boutique hotel, walking distance from the main square and the Arch. The service is excellent and the food is even better. Enjoyed all of our breakfasts as well as our perfect dinner at the restaurant on site.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have A/C, some have ceiling fans instead. If you prefer one over the other, make sure to make a note of that upon reserving and/or checking in. Each room is different so look at the website for the different options before booking.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cakoukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This place is amazing... great gardens , tiny swimming pool but not important, one doesnt go to Antigua to stay in a hotel pool
every detail has been clearly well thought, bathrooms huge and very clean, each room has a name
walking distance from everything
they have a buffet breakfast during week ends only and very nice lounge terrace on the roof

I had one problem though with my final bill.. I had a suite, booked at special usd rates on internet, 204 usd per night for saturday till sunday, and 153 usd for week days... they covered me first all nights at 204, which was not what I had booked ... I had copy of my internet booking so they agreed but on top they didnt charge me in USD but in local currrency at 8.15 quetzal per USD which is far from 7.70 official rate ... I dont think it is fair if you propose a deal in one currency, that is the currency you charge to customer

Room Tip: my room 215 has a jaccuzi outside in private garden which is very nice
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paris16traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

They are very unprofessional:
- They showed our credit card number publicaly
- We did the reservation on their website, confirmation said "prepaid" but we had to pay again onsite
- It took us an hour to do the checkout
The hotel is very well located and staff is very nice!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kasiaetcharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My wife and I spent a long weekend in Antigua - our first time there - and stayed at this quaint, historic boutique hotel built among the ruins of a 300 year old convent, recommended by friends from Guatemala City. We highly recommend this hotel for a quiet weekend getaway... we loved it.

We stayed in the El Capitan (Captain) room, which comes with a jacuzzi tub located on a private outdoor patio. The room had both natural stone and plaster walls, with a high quality, yet rustic feel. The king size bed was very comfortable, the room was spacious and the shower gives you the choice of two shower heads (rain, and directed). The room comes with two TVs and a music sound system (with speakers throughout the rooms). Two ceiling fans and double doors to the outdoor patio more than makes up for the lack of air conditioning (which you really don't need in this climate).

The hotel is located in the northeast section of Antigua. It's an easy 10 minute walk west to the center of town (the town square), many of the church ruins and shopping opportunities. Alternatively, you're only 5-10 minute walk east to the Casa Santa Domingo, a larger hotel also built among the ruins of a convent.

The hotel and restaurant staff were extremely courteous and accommodating. Our Spanish is poor, and the staff was patient with our attempts at Spanish. Most of the staff had at least some command of English.

We did not meet the chef at the restaurant, but we were very impressed with the top shelf quality and presentation of the menu choices. The outdoor lounge on the second floor offers a beautiful view of two volcanoes on a clear day.

We couldn't come up with anything we didn't like about El Convento. If we ever go back to Antigua, we'll stay here again.

Room Tip: You get the choice of rooms when you make the reservation. Check out their website to see each room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philipbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

we needed a place for one night, usually stay at casa santo domingo but it was full easter saturday, so we booked El Convento and let me tell you we LOVED it! such a beautiful hotel with very friendly staff.. The grounds are beautiful, such style. and the room was incredible. with a fireplace and a jacuzzi on the patio, not to mention a huge wonderful bathroom with heated towels and a huge tub, huge rain shower, and sky light... the best! and the beds incredibly comfy.. highly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: get a jacuzzi on the patio..worth it
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tucsonjohnjuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews