We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, very clean, amazing breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Meson del Valle
Ranked #25 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed here for two nights and it was a good value. Amazing cooked-to-order breakfast, lovely little garden, quite clean. Good service--the folks at the front desk found a fan for my husband that we were able to use for both nights, and they were generally friend as we came and went. (We loved the breakfast lady, she was super sweet.) Coffee, tea, and water are available all day/night, which was nice. The beds were pretty comfortable, and we were in a corner room facing the courtyard and it was incredibly quiet. The location is 5 minutes or so from the square on foot, so there are closer hotels, but I think the location is part of what made it quiet and less expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmb2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Meson del Valle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

this Hotel has a great location and it is a new construction, with new furnitures as well, it's ok for the price. We booked the suite with jacuzzi and we paid almost a hundred dollars for it. The room is small and somewhat dark and too warm that you need to leave the windows open, so you'll listen everything from the courtyard.

The breakfast is mediocre, the staff service is poor and when we came back to the hotel from dinner (around 11pm) the front door was locked up and nobody was there to open the door. We had to knock the door and ring the bell many times, and it happpened to the other guests as well because we could listen the door knocking during the night from our bedroom.

So... it was ok, but definitely could be a better experience if the owner could pay a little more attention to the service.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j_traveller2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed 2 nights because we wanted to use the jacuzzi. The hotel, room and staff were all nice but it wasn't worth the price. I've stayed at as nice or nicer places without jacuzzis for far less and it wasnt worth the price difference.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank yellowsubmarine404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We filled the hotel with a group for a week in March. Everyone loved it. Comfortable rooms, very accommodating staff. Not fancy, but excellent for the price and location. I would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luciamalacek7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We spent 3 nights at this hotel, so convenient to the centre of town, we walked to cafes/restaurants at night without worries. The hotel was quiet - I booked on the website and got a better deal than through hotel booking sites. Rooms are super clean, with all the amenities you need, great value for money.
There are nice sitting areas, the breakfast for $5 is huge - fruit, pancakes and a cooked breakfast. Continuous coffee and water all day.
The staff are sooo helpful and will find guides - we had a personal walking tour with Celestino, a Mayan freelance guide, well educated and passionate about his heritage. Speaks English too. He will tailor-make your tour - after having the city tour, he took one of us to the nearest Mayan ruins for the afternoon.
The hotel booked the early morning taxi for the airport,and the taxi arrived on time.
Definitely recommended, and I would use this hotel again.
No parking provided however - if you are travelling by car.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

The staff at the hotel was welcoming and attentive to any of our needs. The room was cleaned thoroughly every day. We were only a few blocks from the center of the city but far enough away that we were not bothered by any city noise. Coffee and purified water were always available. They also have a breakfast available, if desired, for a small up grade.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We were with a high school group and found the staff to be extremely accommodating, especially the kitchen and cleaning staff. They changed the sheets EVERY day and were warm and attentive. We needed to leave for an excursion by 6:30 AM and they were happy to have breakfast ready early for us. They were extremely appreciative of the tip we gave at the end of the week.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k5_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#30 of 75 in Antigua
423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#6 of 75 in Antigua
319 reviews
0.3 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#21 of 75 in Antigua
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa del Parque
Hotel Casa del Parque
#36 of 75 in Antigua
223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
#40 of 75 in Antigua
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#44 of 75 in Antigua
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meson del Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meson del Valle

Address: Avenida Sur #11C City center 5a | Sacatepequez, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range: £36 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meson del Valle 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful 4-star hotel in the colonial city of Antigua Guatemala, 2 blks from central park, on the famous Arch Street. We offer everything you need for a comfortable & enjoyable vacation. All 10 beautiful rooms are w/bath (some w/Jacuzzi tubs), cable TV, DVD, fast WI-FI & a guest internet computer to use free, breakfast offered, travel agency, travel services & a helpful bilingual staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Meson del Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing