We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice place in good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Meson del Valle

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Meson del Valle
Ranked #23 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice place in good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

we stayed here for 2 nights while just arriving in Guatemala. Sandra the receptionist was very friendly and spoke good English which was very helpful. as you walk into the courtyard there is a charming garden with a nice fountain. you can also go upstairs where they have a chill area with a table and some lounge chairs. nice candle setup which creates a romantic atmosphere. great breakfast service to! only thing if you are trying to sleep in and are sensitive to noise avoid the room next to the laundry. they start the washing around 10am.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Viola Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    60
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
20
70
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
332 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

This a nice small hotel, 10 rooms that is friendly and safe and 2.5 blocks from the downtown square. We are traveling with OAT and stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. There is not a restaurant at the hotel however the brkfst is very good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank somanyfoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Didn't know what to expect but loved the result. Stayed here for ten days and loved every minute. Some people complain about musty smell but it reminded me of my aunts place at the lake and I looked forward to that smell every night we came home after we roamed the streets of Antigua. The staff was wonderful and put up with lack of Spanish that we spoke the desk attendant was very fluent in English. We will be back just a warning to the staff.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

An idyllic small, clean and cute hotel. I enjoyed the garden and the roof terrace. The reseptionist didnt seem to speak much english, but then i got to practise my spanish (part of the travelling adventure!) Close to the senter, but quiet. Big breakfast ($5) with many choises (eggs, cereal, yoghurt, fruit). I enjoyed my stay here and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LovetSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

The most exceptional feature of this hotel is the service. The receptionist, Sandra, is eminently pleasant and has tremendous patience. I had some difficulties with my flight back to New York and bothered Sandra for about two full hours as I made telephone calls from the front desk, ordered/canceled/ordered a taxi to the airport, checked out late, etc. She never showed any signs of frustration and was accommodating until the bitter end. Aura, the breakfast cook and cleaner, was a sweetheart. She smiled always and took a genuine interest in my friends and me.

The HMdV is small, cozy, quiet, and close to everything. This is a great choice for the price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed here for one night. The room was acceptable although had a bit of a musty smell. The real issue was the lack of breakfast.Had asked what time breakfast was served from and was told 0700.
The next morning with an early bus to catch we got up for breakfast only to be told there was none as it wasn't ordered!! Humm pity the receptionist didn't bother to inform us about that. There's even a list of available breakfasts at the front counter with no mention to pre-book.
We noticed that when the staff went into the kitchen there were plenty of eggs and bananas available but there was absolutely no effort to help us out. Generally felt their attitude was pretty poor and they couldn't be bothered. We were even told the nearest cafe was in the main square when there was one less than a block away.
For the money it's not really worth it.
Must try harder 3/10

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mexicohicks1, Owner at Hotel Meson del Valle, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
We are glad to receive all reviews positive or negative. However what these guests said is not completely true. When these guests checked in they asked what time breakfast was served. The receptionist told them that breakfast was served at 7:00 and if would like breakfast they would have to order it the day before. However they did not order any.
At about 7:15 a.m. the next morning the guests asked again if the room included breakfast. The night guard let them know that breakfast was not included but if they wanted they could pay $5 extra for it. He let them know that if they would like breakfast they would have to wait for a few minutes seeing as there was nothing ready at the time. However they said they had to go out for a tour and they could not wait. They asked where they could buy coffee, and he replied that the nearest place was two blocks away. The hotel does offer free coffee but the night guard assumed that they did not want that coffee and preferred to go elsewhere.
We agree that the night guard should have offered the guest coffee at the hotel or told them about a café that was closer to the hotel. He also should have asked them when their shuttle lafe and offered them options that would not make them late. We have spoken to him and asked him to be more considerate and helpful to guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Front desk staff Sandra and Housekeeping Aura were both very helpful and amazing! They both made sure i had a great stay. Good location just a quick walk to the plaza. Tucked away from the busy area but comes with some tolerable noise from nearby bars especially on the weeknds. Overall a good hotel with great staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sherdan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#26 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.3 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#15 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Casona de Antigua
La Casona de Antigua
#10 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
#22 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Jorge Hotel
San Jorge Hotel
#38 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Pasos
Hotel Los Pasos
#11 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meson del Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meson del Valle

Property: Hotel Meson del Valle
Address: Avenida Sur #11C City center 5a | Sacatepequez, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meson del Valle 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful 4-star hotel in the colonial city of Antigua Guatemala, 2 blks from central park, on the famous Arch Street. We offer everything you need for a comfortable & enjoyable vacation. All 10 beautiful rooms are w/bath (some w/Jacuzzi tubs), cable TV, DVD, fast WI-FI & a guest internet computer to use free, breakfast offered, travel agency, travel services & a helpful bilingual staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Meson del Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing