We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, location and atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Meson del Valle
Ranked #25 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The folks who wrote that the rooms are dark and the bathrooms are weird were right...but those things don't hardly compare to the positive qualities of this little gem. I stayed a couple extra nights after my team left and the staff was so helpful in making arrangements and recommendations as a woman exploring the area alone. I would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WordsnCoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

I spent two nights here after participating in a Public Health Mission trip in central Guatemala ( every one should do this!). What a nice relaxing place to recharge! The location is excellent, very easy to get around the city.

Room Tip: I was in room 7 and the room was dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Excelent service. They make you feel at home, is a very clean service and excelent accomodations.
I liked the speedy wifi connections, and although they don't have a restaurant they offer a delicious breakfast options.

Room Tip: higher floors have excelent wifi conection
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Extremely nice and smiley staff . No problem in changing room because mine was too dark . Close to center, and quiet with a small terrace.
Unfortunately, all the rooms are very dark, with inadequate lighting, the bathroom has a weird design with an useful "spa bathtub" and an unpractical access to the sink. i think this hotel is mostly booked by groups, which means it is noisy at night ( altough they toned it down when I asked) . They also occupy the small terrace.
The breakfast is $5 more ( did not take it so do not know the quality )
Best room is number 6 with a private outside lounge, but even so this is not worth the $100+ room when there are so many other choices in Antigua

Room Tip: Number 6 upstairs but still not very bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ondine21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed three nights here and had a good experience. There is nothing fancy about this hotel, but it is clean, quiet (an issue in Antigua) and well located. Excellent little coffee shop/wine bar next door which makes great baguette sandwiches. The hotel itself has a nice little courtyard, quaint decor (no air con, but not needed in Anitigua) and no pool. Breakfast was huge, and decently done. Nothing to blow your socks off but if you want a dependable place to stay, this hotel will do just fine. One little complaint, two chaise lounges on the rooftop deck were a nice touch, but only one with a cushion! C'mon guys, firstly, you need a few more than two, and secondly, buy another cushion for the one missing! I mean really!

Room Tip: Higher floor is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldProwler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

we stayed here for 2 nights while just arriving in Guatemala. Sandra the receptionist was very friendly and spoke good English which was very helpful. as you walk into the courtyard there is a charming garden with a nice fountain. you can also go upstairs where they have a chill area with a table and some lounge chairs. nice candle setup which creates a romantic atmosphere. great breakfast service to! only thing if you are trying to sleep in and are sensitive to noise avoid the room next to the laundry. they start the washing around 10am.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Viola Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This a nice small hotel, 10 rooms that is friendly and safe and 2.5 blocks from the downtown square. We are traveling with OAT and stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. There is not a restaurant at the hotel however the brkfst is very good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank somanyfoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#31 of 75 in Antigua
424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#5 of 75 in Antigua
322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa del Parque
Hotel Casa del Parque
#34 of 75 in Antigua
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#22 of 75 in Antigua
437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
#41 of 75 in Antigua
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#45 of 75 in Antigua
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meson del Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meson del Valle

Address: Avenida Sur #11C City center 5a | Sacatepequez, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range: £42 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meson del Valle 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful 4-star hotel in the colonial city of Antigua Guatemala, 2 blks from central park, on the famous Arch Street. We offer everything you need for a comfortable & enjoyable vacation. All 10 beautiful rooms are w/bath (some w/Jacuzzi tubs), cable TV, DVD, fast WI-FI & a guest internet computer to use free, breakfast offered, travel agency, travel services & a helpful bilingual staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Meson del Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing