We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a steal!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Palacio Chico 1850
Ranked #53 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This hotel was centrally located to great restaurants, central park. The room we had #6 was fabulous! Beautiful decor, nice touches, etc. the staff was helpful and courteous.The patio/garden was lovely w/parakeets that kept you company while you had a simple breakfast that was included w/ the room. I will most definitely go back!
Rach

Room Tip: #6 room is lovely, but can be noisy as it faces a church and busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rach831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 31 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2012

The hotel is located in an old mansion that is well preserved. The architecture and the decoration of the rooms makes it very inspirational of Antigua life in the old days and this is what I liked most. The rooms are big with high ceilings, there is a large patio with a lovely garden in the middle of the building. You can sit in one of the hammocks and spend some relaxed time. See picture. Service was great. Two thumbs up! A great value for the price.

Room Tip: Get a room on the left that have a view towards the old church across the street. Great scenery at s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amsi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

The hotel is near to the central park. It has a great service and the employees always are attentive. The price is ok according to the quality. I recommend to travel to Antigua, Guatemala and to this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Clean, quite, friendly staff. Great value for money. We stayed at another place in Antigua, but this one was the same price, but with nicer room (on the second floor). the room had 2 windows which is unique, the bath was immaculate and water hot.
They offer a simple but homemade breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeruslameats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We didn't stay here but stopped here a couple of times -- first, for directions, and second, because the staff were so helpful and friendly and we used the internet service, and had tea and coffee. It looks like a sweet place to stay, with clean and handsome interiors and a beautiful, flower-filled interior courtyard. The staff we met were very kind and attentive.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ryan61562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

"See, you know how to take the reservation, you just don't know how to 'hold' the reservation and that's really the most important part of the reservation, the holding. Anybody can just take them."
Seinfeld

I have lived in Guatemala for three years and have enjoyed many trips to different hotels, hostels and resorts during my time here. All have been pleasant or at least adventurous. In fact...I need to write reviews for all of my positive stays. This hotel made me sad. They hotel took my request for a room. I confirmed. Three days later I received an email saying they were sorry but they had given my room to a larger group. Interesting. I guess I expected something more then an excuse from them but in the end that is what I got. I was never offered a real apology just a "Sorry! You know it's high season!" Yep. I know. That is why I asked for the reservation. After I was upset, she said she would work on looking for something else for me. Nice I guess but it was a bit too little too late. I found another hotel in the meantime who has so far treated me wonderfully. Posada El Antaño.

Please think about staying in another one of Antigua's many beautiful boutique hotels. They appreciate your business and will go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. There are plenty of other options where you will be treated well. I can not imagine this hotel will be around much longer unless they beef up their expectations of their front desk employees and start treating their clients like people instead of a quick couple of dollars

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank APBERG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

The friendly lady at the reception ensures that the guests are comfortable: from breakfast till organizing tours and farewell. The patio is a rustic place to relax and the rooms have a comfortable, romantic atmosphere.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DutchAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palacio Chico 1940
Hotel Palacio Chico 1940
#56 of 75 in Antigua
44 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Bella
Hotel Casa Bella
#41 of 75 in Antigua
122 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#22 of 75 in Antigua
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
#30 of 75 in Antigua
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#25 of 75 in Antigua
195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#8 of 75 in Antigua
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio Chico 1850? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio Chico 1850

Address: 3rd. Avenue South. Number 6, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range: £62 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Property of great historical and cultural value because it was made by the landowners of the time and it still retains many of the features of a house of the great estates of yesteryear of Antigua Guatemala. This home is surrounded by the main monuments and museums of the city where the hotel becomes part of a harmonious whole story at the time. It is located right in the city center, being just two blocks from Central Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Palacio Chico 1850 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing