We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stya”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Palacio Chico 1850
Ranked #53 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Reviewed 5 January 2014

we had a great stay here for one night. good location, friendly staff and a hotel with lots of character and a lovely central courtyard. price was good value and included breakfast continental style. recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 28 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

I spent one night in La Antigua, upon arrival in spite of having made reservations for a room with two queen beds I had to pay for an extra room because the hotel does not have rooms with two queen beds. Having a print out of my reservation that clearly stated my request and confirmation was useless. The restaurant is not very good.

Room Tip: For the price I am sure there are better hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virgola09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Great location, lovely and courteous staff! We stayed in room #2 which had a nice view of the church across the street, a little drafty but nice decor. The place was over all very quiet, probably because we stayed during low season. A bit expensive considering all the accommodation options in Antigua though!

Room Tip: Ask to see different rooms available, they are all different and the ones with a window are much nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalongwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I have stayed at Palacio Chico several times with mission team groups. It gets us an evening where we can tour the markets, and is very close to several places to eat. They are very accomodating to let us double or triple up. The facility is clean, quiet, and the staff always helpful.

Las Torches across the street is a good restaurant, with easy walking to Palacio Chico. Pricey wine, but the food is fairly priced for the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This hotel was centrally located to great restaurants, central park. The room we had #6 was fabulous! Beautiful decor, nice touches, etc. the staff was helpful and courteous.The patio/garden was lovely w/parakeets that kept you company while you had a simple breakfast that was included w/ the room. I will most definitely go back!
Rach

Room Tip: #6 room is lovely, but can be noisy as it faces a church and busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rach831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

The hotel is located in an old mansion that is well preserved. The architecture and the decoration of the rooms makes it very inspirational of Antigua life in the old days and this is what I liked most. The rooms are big with high ceilings, there is a large patio with a lovely garden in the middle of the building. You can sit in one of the hammocks and spend some relaxed time. See picture. Service was great. Two thumbs up! A great value for the price.

Room Tip: Get a room on the left that have a view towards the old church across the street. Great scenery at s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amsi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

The hotel is near to the central park. It has a great service and the employees always are attentive. The price is ok according to the quality. I recommend to travel to Antigua, Guatemala and to this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Bella
Hotel Casa Bella
#42 of 75 in Antigua
124 reviews
0 mi away
Casa Santa Ines
Casa Santa Ines
#54 of 75 in Antigua
23 reviews
0.2 mi away
Euro Maya Hotel
Euro Maya Hotel
#51 of 75 in Antigua
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Posada Landivar
Posada Landivar
#71 of 75 in Antigua
26 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#25 of 75 in Antigua
197 reviews
0.7 mi away
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
#30 of 75 in Antigua
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio Chico 1850? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio Chico 1850

Address: 3rd. Avenue South. Number 6, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range: £49 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Property of great historical and cultural value because it was made by the landowners of the time and it still retains many of the features of a house of the great estates of yesteryear of Antigua Guatemala. This home is surrounded by the main monuments and museums of the city where the hotel becomes part of a harmonious whole story at the time. It is located right in the city center, being just two blocks from Central Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Palacio Chico 1850 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing