We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly family owned hotel and good value for money”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Los Nazarenos
Ranked #58 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Friendly family owned hotel and good value for money”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

The hotel has a good location in a quiet sidestreet, just a block away from the La Merced cathedral. Close to some nice restaurants and breakfast places. The rooftop terrace has great views over La Merced. The owners are very friendly, interested and forthcoming.

There are lots of seating areas with chairs and sofas that look out over the central patio, which adds light to all levels. Free drinking water (agua pura) is provided in the hotel lobby.

The light rooms sport good beds, albeit a bit high, lots of room and plenty of closets and tables to put your stuff. Clean towels and bed linens are provided, and the room is cleaned daily. There's ensuite bathrooms with great (hot!) showers. Though there is not much room near or on the bathroom sink to put your own toiletries.

We prefer this hotel over the cramped, dark rooms next door in Casa Cristina, where your reservation might be a gamble.

Room Tip: Room 207 is on the street, so you might hear some traffic early in the morning (6:30 am onwards).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanderRuitenbeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    16
    4
    0
    4
See reviews for
3
15
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
s pedro
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2011

i have been travelling to guatemala for years. los nazarenos is my favourite place in the center of antigua, family run, very friendly people who like to talk and give informations if you ask. rooms are clean. the place is very quiet and there ar enot so many guests. good breakfast place in the same block. rates affordable

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pumsti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2011

This hostel is the best for couples on budget but with private bathroom - about 200 quetzal (Antigua is the most expensive place in Guatemala), owner is the nicest person and helps with anything you want, really quiet family place.
Located well by 6 avenue (central in town together with 5 ave) and La Merced chapel (nice place to visit for great view of all three volcanoes).
The place has very nice quiet inner garden and a lot of light compared to very nice but really dark casa cristina nearby.
The shower was the best of the whole 3 month trip, real hot water without the annoying electric unit!!Important cause Antigua gets pretty cold at evenings.
on the corner of the street (callehon campo seco) and 7 ave they have the best coffee in town.
Enjoy guatemala...

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilia-sin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2010

I stayed at Hotel Los Nazarenos for two nights; it was my second time in Antigua. The location is excellent, near La Merced. Close to some great bars and restaurants. I stayed on the exact opposite side of town the first time i was in Antigua and found Hotel Los Nazarenos' location to be superior. The rooms are clean and my bed was comfortable. Each have their own bathroom, with hot water shower with good pressure. The hotel itself is very unique, with antique, shabby chique furniture throughout, and handcrafted wooden furniture by local artisans in the rooms. The hotel surrounds an open courtyard which gives it natural sunlight and there's also a roof deck. The owner (Roberto) and his wife are extremely nice and helpful. When you consider all of these pros and the fact that it's around $20 a night to stay there, you're looking at one of Antigua's best values for accommodation. I recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clutchrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baltmore, md
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2010

We had been staying at the MUCH nicer Casa Cristina next door. Unfortunately, they were booked for the two extra nights we decided to stay in Antigua, so our options were limited. From the entrance, this hotel seemed on par with Casa Cristina, and as it was the same price, we assumed it would be comparable. Our mistake. It wasn't anything like Casa Cristina. The rooms were disgusting--moldy ceilings with paint chipping off, moldy bathrooms that looked like they never bothered to clean them from the previous guests. We stayed in two different rooms, too--and both were equally disgusting. The sheets smelled moldy, too. The staff there was creepy, too. We really did not like this place!

Do yourself a favor and try Casa Cristina next door where the rooms were clean and tidy and where the duena, Rosario was warm and welcoming--or find another location.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liltraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2010

this place should be your choice of last resort in antigua. moldy, with peeling paint and and an overall down-at-the-heal feel to it, you might do better at an upscale hostel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpdjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feldkirchen in Kärnten
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2009

Hotel Los Nazarenos is an ideal place to stay in the center of Antigua, just 2 minutes away from the church La Merced y 5 minutes from the Arco. Very friendly stuff, clean rooms, cosy excelent beds, hot water showers, fresh towels every day and fresh bed linen every second day.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Almita85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
#50 of 75 in Antigua
113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#46 of 75 in Antigua
245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#30 of 75 in Antigua
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#2 of 75 in Antigua
303 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
14.4 mi away
Posada Don Valentino
Posada Don Valentino
#60 of 75 in Antigua
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Nazarenos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Nazarenos

Property: Hotel Los Nazarenos
Address: Callejon Camposeco # 3 | Barrio La Merced, Antigua, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing