We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a lovely place to say (but a few blocks out of town)”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Las Marias

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Las Marias
Ranked #7 of 130 Antigua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“a lovely place to say (but a few blocks out of town)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Everything was pretty perfect here, the staff, the cleanliness of the room, etc (have stayed here on 2 separate occasions, for a total of 3 nights.

The only thing to be slightly aware of is that it is a little out of town, and as such, just make sure you have everything you want with you for the day, as otherwise you could end up doing a lot of inconvenient backwards & forwards!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    64
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
87
23
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

I travel to Antigua by myself I decided to stay in this Hostal which is gated Community place very safe, about 15min walking to Central Park, the people are very nice and always willing to help u, just a few things I was not happy about the wi-fi doesn't work in your room u have to go out hallway or leaving room, the room is a little cold at night and need to ask for extra blanket, but other than that this place is worth the money and breakfast was nice.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank titi110580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I highly recommend to stay at Hostal Las Marias. Everybody was very helpful and kind! This hostel is very charming and beautiful. It is located in a nice and safe neighborhood and it takes around 10 minutes on foot from here to the downtown Antigua. Otherwise, you can take a tuc-tuc a traditional mean of transportation and go everywhere. They also helped me with my travel arrangements to Tikal and they always were willing to help me with any request I had. Overall, I had a really good time while I was here and if I comeback to Antigua, I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Excellent stylish hotel situated in quiet and safe part of town. Little bit far from the center of town but close to the market, supermarket and chicken bus station area. Plentiful and tasty breakfast. Well-groomed and cozy patio full of plants. New and fresh bed linen. Excellent hot shower. Very friendly staff helped us to book a minibus ticket, provided with information.
We spent 2 nights with no other guests.
Internet is very slow.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VKalmykov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

This is honestly one of the best hotels my wife and I have stayed in. Being a new resident of Guatemala I have stayed on many and have to say this is one of the best. It is clean, the staff are friendly and very helpful and we had no problems whatsoever during our 3 day stay here.

On our second night we asked for another bottle of water as we had finished ours and were given a massive jug of drinking water for free (from the eco filter located in the courtyard).

As other reviewers have said the staff do not speak english but why should they? This is a Spanish speaking country so learn sufficient Spanish to make your stay easier. The hotel is located in a gated community which does cause some late night frustration when trying to access the hotel, but with some forethought this can be avoided.

This is a beautiful hotel and I would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Siidney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

+ve:
Staff are very friendly, nice decor in rooms, bed is comfortable.
Breakfast was nice and fresh. Normally only from 7:30am, however on three occasions we told them the man at the desk that we had a trip leaving at 6am and he was kind enough to personally get up early to put breakfast out at 5:30am for us!
The location is good and not so good depending on what you want. It is a 5 minute walk from the centre of the town, but that also means that you don’t get [incredibly loud] chicken buses, beeping horns etc at 5-6am. It is a pretty safe area though, and staff will call you a tuk-tuk if you so wish.


-ve:
Staff don't speak English - only the manager does, but she isn't there often.
Pillows are average, Internet is very slow.
Rooms all front a central courtyard - very noisy in the morning when guests get up early and make noise and talk.
My biggest area of frustration was something they really need to address. The hotel is inside a gated community, with a part-time security guard out the front. We arrived late and there is no buzzer/intercom for the hotel, so the only reason we could get into the property was because our bus driver was kind enough to use his phone, as nobody could hear us banging on the gates!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkTBrizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#45 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#24 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
1.1 mi away
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
#22 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
14.9 mi away
Posada Don Valentino
Posada Don Valentino
#59 of 82 in Antigua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.5 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#15 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Las Marias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Las Marias

Property: Hostal Las Marias
Address: Calle a San Bartolo | Las Jacarandas #7, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Las Marias 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Las Marias is a hotel with a mixture of style Colonial folklore of Guatemala and today's comfort facilities. We are located in a quiet area of the city of Antigua, away from city center's noisy movement but a few blocks from the Central Park. Hostal Las Marias is a ten- room family-owned, the rooms are arranged around a garden courtyard and are comfortably furnished with private baths and cable TV. Each room is decorated with carefully selected hand craft details from the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Las Marias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing