We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Quiet, Helpful”
Review of Hostal Las Marias

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Las Marias
Ranked #6 of 131 Antigua B&B and Inns
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Quiet, Helpful”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We enjoyed two different rooms there over our stay - a double room for two of us and the apartment when our son joined us. Both rooms were spotless, tasteful and comfortable. Wifi worked well except for the first day when the manager was very apologetic. Breakfasts on the patio were delicious and ample. Although it is a bit of a walk from the central part of town, we didn't find it a problem, and we were never worried about safety even in the evenings. The staff were very helpful about arranging bus pick up for a trip to Copan.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svMadcap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    65
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
89
23
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

There is no doubt: it's a good value for money. The general conditions of the place is quite ok and the central garden a nice place to relax.

The location a bit far from the city centre. They gave me 2 single beds when I asked a double bed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emercenier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Everything was pretty perfect here, the staff, the cleanliness of the room, etc (have stayed here on 2 separate occasions, for a total of 3 nights.

The only thing to be slightly aware of is that it is a little out of town, and as such, just make sure you have everything you want with you for the day, as otherwise you could end up doing a lot of inconvenient backwards & forwards!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

I travel to Antigua by myself I decided to stay in this Hostal which is gated Community place very safe, about 15min walking to Central Park, the people are very nice and always willing to help u, just a few things I was not happy about the wi-fi doesn't work in your room u have to go out hallway or leaving room, the room is a little cold at night and need to ask for extra blanket, but other than that this place is worth the money and breakfast was nice.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank titi110580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I highly recommend to stay at Hostal Las Marias. Everybody was very helpful and kind! This hostel is very charming and beautiful. It is located in a nice and safe neighborhood and it takes around 10 minutes on foot from here to the downtown Antigua. Otherwise, you can take a tuc-tuc a traditional mean of transportation and go everywhere. They also helped me with my travel arrangements to Tikal and they always were willing to help me with any request I had. Overall, I had a really good time while I was here and if I comeback to Antigua, I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Excellent stylish hotel situated in quiet and safe part of town. Little bit far from the center of town but close to the market, supermarket and chicken bus station area. Plentiful and tasty breakfast. Well-groomed and cozy patio full of plants. New and fresh bed linen. Excellent hot shower. Very friendly staff helped us to book a minibus ticket, provided with information.
We spent 2 nights with no other guests.
Internet is very slow.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VKalmykov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#44 of 75 in Antigua
247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#30 of 75 in Antigua
422 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#7 of 75 in Antigua
310 reviews
0.6 mi away
San Jorge Hotel
San Jorge Hotel
#38 of 75 in Antigua
96 reviews
0.5 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#22 of 75 in Antigua
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Las Marias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Las Marias

Property: Hostal Las Marias
Address: Calle a San Bartolo | Las Jacarandas #7, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Las Marias 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Las Marias is a hotel with a mixture of style Colonial folklore of Guatemala and today's comfort facilities. We are located in a quiet area of the city of Antigua, away from city center's noisy movement but a few blocks from the Central Park. Hostal Las Marias is a ten- room family-owned, the rooms are arranged around a garden courtyard and are comfortably furnished with private baths and cable TV. Each room is decorated with carefully selected hand craft details from the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Las Marias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing