We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine”
Review of Posada Don Diego

Posada Don Diego
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Posada Don Diego
Ranked #40 of 139 Antigua B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

This place was fine, but we didn't think it was particularly good value, at Q375 for a double room (though we did talk them down on price a bit; I think we paid Q300). The room itself was nice, quiet, the courtyard was pleasant, and the staff were all really nice and friendly. On the downside, there was no hot water and the bathroom was quite unpleasant smelling. There was also a lot of Mosquitos around - not something we would usually mention, but it was a bit of a problem as while the courtyard was nice and cool, the rooms were very hot, but we couldn't open the doors because of the Mosquitos. Couldn't sit in the courtyard without emptying half a can of repellant on us. Some citronella or something similar would go a long way! Overall our stay was fine, but couldn't say it was great value (rate didn't include breakfast). This review is no criticism of the staff who were all nice and helpful.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank robby71187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

The owner, Carlos, speaks perfect English and was more than helpful with local info.etc. We found the staff to be very courteous and fun. We had a large room facing the courtyard which was just what we wanted. Street level access without being directly on the street - coffee shop situated in front (served the best coffee!) great Guatemalan breakfast - reasonably priced.
The location was perfect - right across from La Merced and a short walk to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Located in the back patio of a coffee shop, these rooms allow easy in-and-out thanks to their ground level access in a central city location. We stepped out of our rooms and sat at nearby tables for tasty food and beverage. This place is a hidden gem.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed at posada don Diego for 3 nights, this is a great family place, Carlos, the owner speaks perfect English and will help with every little thing, his family is great and we had an amazing time, the location is perfect, just too bad it didn't include breakfast and the beds were not comfortable....

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liran_el_sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

We stayed six nights and found out that Posada don Diego provided us with everything we needed: safe place to stay, warm shower, comfortable beds, good location, clean rooms, internet connection, a view to the volcano, and transport to and from the airport at not the most convenient time of the day. Maria Isabel, Carlos and the dog give a personal touch to the Posada and look after their guests.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraciasMuchas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

I just returned from Antigua and thanks to a tip for a fellow TripAdvisor traveler, I stayed at this little posada for 5 nights. I was doing a homestay with a family prior and it was not working out, so I moved here. What a great choice I made!! Carlos and all the ladies who work in the cafe are warm and are happy to accommodate you as much as possible. I got the sweet room in the very back which has a window to the backyard and the volcano. It was super quiet and the sleeping was good. Plus this room has a "regular" shower (not the usual electrical wired showerhead) that I really appreciated!! The location is awesome, right by the Merced church. I really recommend this place! It's not luxurious, but for the price, it's fab!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curlyredatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

It's in a safe location, central to anything you need. We stayed here for two weeks and the staff bent over backwards to accommodate us. We were in Antigua for 6 weeks and spent the beginning of our trip in a homestay. They are either hit or miss but I wouldn't suggest staying at one if you are a couple. Many of the families run their homestay like a business and it is not truly immersion. The hotel manager/owner is available to speak more Spanish to us than our family was. He also speaks English if you need that.

There are only a few rooms and that makes it really peaceful. There is free wifi and a computer you can use if you don't travel with one. Most of the rooms have TVs and they have around 80 channels. It's nice to reconnect with world events. There is a maid service everyday and fresh towels. Also the cafe in the front of the hotel is delicious. It is extremely affordable for how nice of a hotel it is. I highly suggest it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love4People
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#25 of 75 in Antigua
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#31 of 75 in Antigua
442 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada La Merced Antigua
Posada La Merced Antigua
#23 of 75 in Antigua
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ixkanul Antigua Hotel
Ixkanul Antigua Hotel
#22 of 139 in Antigua
16 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Ermita
La Ermita
#3 of 139 in Antigua
147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Los Encuentros
Hotel Los Encuentros
#18 of 139 in Antigua
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Don Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Don Diego

Address: 6 Ave Norte # 52, Antigua, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Price Range: £41 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Don Diego 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Don Diego, Cafe - Hotel *Located in front of La Merced Church, 1 block away from the Arch and only 3 blocks away from Central Park. All our rooms are facing a garden, an original house turned into a Posada, so that you can experience a real house from Antigua Guatemala, with the wide adobe walls and filled with colors that involve you with our rich and beautiful culture. Antigua Guatemala, color and charm... Live the experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Posada Don Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing