We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience! Great stay! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Hostal Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience! Great stay! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Seriously, wonderful stay! Slept well, great value and the staff!

Chaco, certainly enhanced our trip with his lively spirit and a wealth of knowledge! He showed us all the best places in town and everything was perfect!

He has certainly set the bar high!
The hostel is beautiful, clean, not to loud and not boring... Recommended to all!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Crebsington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    62
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
6
63
97
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stopped in here. Wasn't even a guest. Needed to arrange a shuttle. Staff was very helpful. Let me use the restroom and the wifi. They called and arranged a shuttle for me too. Great people--so helpful. The facilities are clean and bright. I was very impressed. Will be staying there when I go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Couldn't recommend El Hostel enough! Everything you could want in a hostel and more! The free breakfasts were delicious, dorms were spacious and everywhere was very clean. Dorms had large lockers, and the whole hostel was very secure and safe. The staff went above and beyond to make our stay at El Hostel and Antigua memorable. We wouldnt have made the most of our trip to Antigua had it not been for the staff making sure we had our week planned and activities booked! They recommended great places to eat, and even gave us impromptu salsa dancing lessons in the court yard! We were sad to leave!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlotte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Spent a few nights here and loved it! I felt like I was part of a big family, Choco and Mariana made us feel at home. The place was very relaxed and friendly, with travelers from all over the globe. If you are looking to met new friends and need a place to relax, this is the place. It was very clean and quiet at night, breakfast was included each morning and happy hour at night.

Room Tip: Private rooms are available, but the dorm rooms are just as safe and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Solecito_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Great find!! Beautiful place to stay and a pretty central location. Staff are absolutely amazing-- they are so friendly and helpful and go out of their way to help you arrange any and every travel detail of your trip, locally in Antigua as well as exploring around the country. Very good deal-- clean and well-kept rooms and facilities, a fresh open courtyard, and full breakfast all included for less than $15 a night. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

After trying out a few other hostels in Antigua, I found this one to be just the right mixture of social and chill. They have a great little courtyard where you can mingle with other travelers if you like, but it's not a party hostel. They have big under the bed storage lockers for most of the dorm beds (fit my whole backpack), comfy beds, a decent bookswap selection, clean bathrooms (with real hot water), and free breakfast in the AM. My only critique: the main WiFi didn't work with my windows tablet so I had to use their backup WiFi which was incredibly weak (I ended up usually going to the internet cafe down the block), which was annoying given that it's one of the more expensive hostels in Antigua. However Apple products seemed to connect fine. The staff were wonderful and incredibly helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for the back dorm (room number 6) as the front dorm can be rather noisy at night since it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingbadger2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

This is without the best hostel I've ever stayed in. We returned three times during our stay in Guatemala because the staff made us feel so at home in Antigua. They offered great services and great ideas for things to do and eat around town, and they treated us like family. They even stayed up to wait for us on our late arrival during our last nights stay!!! So cute, we've never felt so welcome! And the breakfast was delicious, laundry service timely and excellent, and the location? Perfect. Close to many amazing sights and restaurants in Antigua. They've definitely enchanted me and I'm already planning my next visit! Thanks for everything El Hostal!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frestonian90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#24 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#8 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Three Monkeys Hostel
Three Monkeys Hostel
#2 of 102 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cucuruchos Boutique Hostel
Cucuruchos Boutique Hostel
#6 of 102 in Antigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Yellow House
The Yellow House
#10 of 102 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.1 mi away
Somos Hostal
Somos Hostal
#5 of 102 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Hostal Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Hostal Bed and Breakfast

Property: El Hostal Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1ra. Avenida Sur No.8, Antigua, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 102 Speciality Lodging in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your El Hostal Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Hostal Hotel Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing