We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, clean, and hearty breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Hostal Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great staff, clean, and hearty breakfast!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here a while ago and I always remember this as obe of the top 3 hostels ive visited! The breakfast was delicious, good portion, and the place was very clean. Great environment and the staff were friendly as well! Will definitely be staying here when I go back to Antigua.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank L T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    63
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
6
63
99
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I've stayed at this wonderful hostel twice, and now even though I'm based at a homestay while I study spanish in Antigua, I come back just to visit.
The staff are amazing. Friendly, loads of fun, attentive and professional.
The accommodation is really clean, well thought-out and comfortable. The heart of the hostel is the centre courtyard where you'll be served a delicious breakfast (FREE) and can get top quality coffee, fresh juices and some of the best gluten free treats I've had.
If you don't stay here then you've missed out on something special.
A special note to Choko, Mario and Marina who have become friendly faces to me as I travel the world solo. Choko you're like family!
PS Choko knows all the best bars, restaurants and live music haunts in Antigua so make sure you ask!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

One of the best hostels we have ever stayed in. Location was about 5 blocks from the "Parque Central". The price, $10 p/p included taxes and breakfast, and the staff was excellent. It has a very pleasant inner courtyard with hammocks, tables/chairs, sofas, bar, front desk. The girls that make breakfast are very nice and the choices are all good. Even the pancakes. The fruit smoothies are great and they have Happy Hour every day including specials on wine. The rooms are very plain, just the beds and the lockers, but the mattresses were good and they were clean. They will make your bed and clean the room every day if you want them to. They will also wash your clothes for 10Q a lbs (less than a dollar) or something like that. They have a dryer so you can get it back the same day. They have a his and hers bathroom with about 4 stalls/showers each and the hot water was great. They also provide towels. They have several tanks of filtered water so you can refill your bottles and not buy more. A good selection of paperbacks. They have a binder with available tours, however, some were priced reasonably and some I booked elsewhere. Even though the town (Antigua) felt very safe they closed the iron gate at dusk and locked the front door around 9pm. The front desk was very alert to anybody walking in that wasn't staying there and asked them to leave by dark even if they were visiting a guest. They provide a large shelf for luggage storage and a "safe" box. Just a lock box that they keep under the front desk, wasn't attached to anything and not very heavy. The internet worked pretty good. We were there for 5 nights and one night there was no water, (in the whole neighborhood) but was repaired before breakfast. We walked everywhere or took a tuk tuk if we were tired (10 to 20 Q's) There was a cute little club across the street with live music every night and a friendly crowd, a couple of restaurants (my favorite was the one with a Middle Easter/Indian menu and British waiters) just to the right coming out the front door of the hostel. Places we visited: Pacaya Volcano hike, Craft Market in Antigua, Craft market in Chichicastenango, Hike up to Cerro de la Cruz (everyone warned to be back before dark), Filadelfia Coffee Plantation, Canopy/Zip Line, El Mono Loco (club/restaurant) El Rincon Tipico, Reilly's on the Corner, La Sala, I will review those separately for anyone interested. Very friendly and safe little town, lots of students and volunteers, and very affordable.

Room Tip: The front rooms can be a little loud if people walk by on the street or someone comes in after 11pm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Very clean, big rooms. Staff are excellent and so helpful. Location is great. Free breakfast is very good - lots of options. Decent showers/toilets. Good book exchange and lots of games. Bars across the road can be loud if you have an early start.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshleighDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Only $12 for a dorm. So clean throughout, happy hour from 4-8, Great common area, fantastic staff, comfortable beds, the best showers, incredible breakfast (included!) close to everything. Highly recommend

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillianthea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigua, Guatemala
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Having traveled in Guatemala 3 times, I have stayed in El Hostal in Antigua every time. Rooms are clean and spacious. Hot water is HOT. Service is excellent! Very knowledgeable staff who clearly are all proud of where they live and the way the hostel gets run. Social area for when you choose to be social and private rooms for when you choose to be private. Excellent breakfast included and amazing smoothies freshly made to order. My family's favorite hostel in Antigua!

Charmaine

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 373Charmaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel aviv
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This hostel was awesome ! Clean and the staff was amazing :)
Breakfasts were so good and the atmosphere is very nice and relaxing (thanks to the cool guys that running the place! )
Recommend el hostal and already miss the place:)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oshratmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#26 of 76 in Antigua
419 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#2 of 76 in Antigua
297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Three Monkeys Hostel
Three Monkeys Hostel
#2 of 105 in Antigua
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cucuruchos Boutique Hostel
Cucuruchos Boutique Hostel
#8 of 105 in Antigua
75 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Yellow House
The Yellow House
#11 of 105 in Antigua
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Hostal Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Hostal Bed and Breakfast

Property: El Hostal Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1ra. Avenida Sur No.8, Antigua, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your El Hostal Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Hostal Hotel Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing