We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Hostal Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Aurora Hotel(Antigua)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (316)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveller rating
236
66
10
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
236
66
10
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscafe no sefree breakfastprivate roombig lockersclean dormsdifferent optionsbed dormgreat hostalnice common areafacing the streetcleaned dailyarrange toursmonth triphome away from homenoisy at nightbars and restaurantslight sleeper
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 317 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great hosts - lots of very clear information and endlessly patient about answering our questions. Very nice breakfast. We stayed in a big private room. Bathrooms are clean and showers are good. Great central location in beautiful Antigua.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat19b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed here a while ago and I always remember this as obe of the top 3 hostels ive visited! The breakfast was delicious, good portion, and the place was very clean. Great environment and the staff were friendly as well! Will definitely be staying here when I go back to Antigua.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
Thank L T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I've stayed at this wonderful hostel twice, and now even though I'm based at a homestay while I study spanish in Antigua, I come back just to visit.
The staff are amazing. Friendly, loads of fun, attentive and professional.
The accommodation is really clean, well thought-out and comfortable. The heart of the hostel is the centre courtyard where you'll be served a delicious breakfast (FREE) and can get top quality coffee, fresh juices and some of the best gluten free treats I've had.
If you don't stay here then you've missed out on something special.
A special note to Choko, Mario and Marina who have become friendly faces to me as I travel the world solo. Choko you're like family!
PS Choko knows all the best bars, restaurants and live music haunts in Antigua so make sure you ask!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

One of the best hostels we have ever stayed in. Location was about 5 blocks from the "Parque Central". The price, $10 p/p included taxes and breakfast, and the staff was excellent. It has a very pleasant inner courtyard with hammocks, tables/chairs, sofas, bar, front desk. The girls that make breakfast are very nice and the choices are all good. Even the pancakes. The fruit smoothies are great and they have Happy Hour every day including specials on wine. The rooms are very plain, just the beds and the lockers, but the mattresses were good and they were clean. They will make your bed and clean the room every day if you want them to. They will also wash your clothes for 10Q a lbs (less than a dollar) or something like that. They have a dryer so you can get it back the same day. They have a his and hers bathroom with about 4 stalls/showers each and the hot water was great. They also provide towels. They have several tanks of filtered water so you can refill your bottles and not buy more. A good selection of paperbacks. They have a binder with available tours, however, some were priced reasonably and some I booked elsewhere. Even though the town (Antigua) felt very safe they closed the iron gate at dusk and locked the front door around 9pm. The front desk was very alert to anybody walking in that wasn't staying there and asked them to leave by dark even if they were visiting a guest. They provide a large shelf for luggage storage and a "safe" box. Just a lock box that they keep under the front desk, wasn't attached to anything and not very heavy. The internet worked pretty good. We were there for 5 nights and one night there was no water, (in the whole neighborhood) but was repaired before breakfast. We walked everywhere or took a tuk tuk if we were tired (10 to 20 Q's) There was a cute little club across the street with live music every night and a friendly crowd, a couple of restaurants (my favorite was the one with a Middle Easter/Indian menu and British waiters) just to the right coming out the front door of the hostel. Places we visited: Pacaya Volcano hike, Craft Market in Antigua, Craft market in Chichicastenango, Hike up to Cerro de la Cruz (everyone warned to be back before dark), Filadelfia Coffee Plantation, Canopy/Zip Line, El Mono Loco (club/restaurant) El Rincon Tipico, Reilly's on the Corner, La Sala, I will review those separately for anyone interested. Very friendly and safe little town, lots of students and volunteers, and very affordable.

Room Tip: The front rooms can be a little loud if people walk by on the street or someone comes in after 11pm and knocks on the door, however, the back rooms don't get the cool breeze like the one around the main courtyard. They are very good about enforcing quiet time in the hostel after 11pm. NOT a party hostel.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Very clean, big rooms. Staff are excellent and so helpful. Location is great. Free breakfast is very good - lots of options. Decent showers/toilets. Good book exchange and lots of games. Bars across the road can be loud if you have an early start.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshleighDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews