We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Santa Rosa Hotel Boutique
Ranked #29 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This hotel would have been nice, however it's terribly overpriced. It's several blocks away from Parque Central and many of the tourist destinations in Antigua, and also has no restaurant on premises. The rooms are impractically large, which is probably where the high price comes in, and while the gardens are beautiful, there's far more beautiful and interesting things to do in Antigua than relax in the hotel's garden.

But most importantly, the plumbing is spotty. My reservation for a standard room was outfitted with a great shower, but no hot water. After being urged not to leave immediately, I was upgraded to the suite: an even larger room, with not only a shower (that was broken) but a hot tub (which also didn't have hot water).

If you're going to Antigua to relax at a hotel, just check the water first before you hand over any money to Casa Santa Rosa. If you're going to Antigua to see the sights and enjoy the wonderful food and nightlife, spend your money (and far less of it) on a place closer to Parque Central, because you probably won't be spending much time in the room anyway.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa Santa Rosa H, Gerente at Casa Santa Rosa Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Google Translation
Sr. David McCann

Para nosotros hubiera sido un gusto que su estancia fuera agradable.

Según su comentario gastó demasiado dinero lo cual no es ciero, nosotros no hicimos ningún cobro de la tarifa que habíamos acordado para su habitación y con respecto al servicio de agua, todas nuestras habitaciones tienen servicio de agua caliente ya que antes de que los huéspedes ingresen, nuestro personal de ama de llaves y recepción hacen los chequeos previos y que todo esté en optimas condiciones al momento del ingreso del huésped.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    24
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
35
90
11
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2013

six of us stayed there, the rooms were good size, and the court yard was very charming, peaceful, and private. Staff were very helpful.

The shower could be a bit better (tricky to get the right temperature), some protien for breakfast (e.g. eggs) would be great.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay very much and would return again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XLIwdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. We have travelled in some 70 countries and this Guesthouse/Hotel was one of the better we have stayed in. The rooms were lovely, the garden pretty and the staff very helpful! We would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllinorT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

My wife and I were only able to stay one night but wished we would have spent more time!!! We are planning on going back next year and this is the place we will spend our nights. It is a wonderful bed and breakfast type setting with clean updated rooms... internet courtyard and a wonderful breakfast. If you are looking to relax and be close enough to everything without having to be in the middle of it... then this is the place for you. We loved it and could get everywhere we wanted to go. The people who work there are also very helpful and friendly!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

This place is so well maintained, tranquil, set in beautiful gardens....but the best thing by far is the amazing staff.
I sprained my ankle in Antigua, and when we got back to the hotel, all of the staff helped with organizing ice, crutchers, ordering in food, helping me walk to the room, bringing me breakfast....nothing was too much trouble.
Even before I hurt my ankle, I would have thoroughly recommended staying here to anyone who likes great service, beautiful, comfortable and quiet rooms, and exceptionally friendly and professional service.
I would not stay ANYWHERE else in Antigua!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shellby06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I'm a pretty picky traveller and we moved to Santa Rosa from another hotel that was reeeealy loud. I was assured by staff here that the property was quiet, and true to their word it was PERFECT! Our suite was AMAZING and huge, with a spa bath and beautiful comfy beds.

Breakfast was awesome with pancakes (its a shame they don't serve them every day) but variety is good. The coffee is great and the wifi works just fine in the lounge area (you get it in some rooms). The location is great with a little store 1 minute away. It takes approx 5 minutes walk to reach the archway of the main street. it is a very safe neighborhood.

Most importantly, the service is outstanding, with Andrea being so helpful, kind, making phone calls for us, the maids gave us umbrellas when it was raining, and our room was kept very clean each day. 2 bottles of water included each day - we were so happy here we will return to Santa Rosa in a few days after a trip to the lake.

I can't speak more highly of this hotel and it's beautiful, manicured surroundings. I have never given 5 stars for every aspect of a hotel except for this one! You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Stay in a room out the back near the patio area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank smarty1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooper City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

For years, we have visited Antigua a few times a year. In this visit, we stayed a full week at Hotel Santa Rosa which we have visited in the past and admired its beautiful and well manicure garden. We were pleasantly surprised by the attentiveness and care of all the staff, Andrea, Lucia, Elida, Luis and even the internship student, Roxana. The cleanliness of this beautiful small hotel was impeccable. You sit for breakfast over looking their beautiful gardens and are serenaded by the birds in a cool quite Antigua morning. If this is the experience you are looking for in a boutique hotel, we highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HECTOR G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel la Catedral
Hotel la Catedral
#15 of 76 in Antigua
257 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Virrey
Hotel El Virrey
#49 of 76 in Antigua
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Los Pasos
Hotel Los Pasos
#13 of 76 in Antigua
239 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pensativo House Hotel
Pensativo House Hotel
#10 of 76 in Antigua
146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#30 of 76 in Antigua
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Santa Rosa Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Santa Rosa Hotel Boutique

Property: Casa Santa Rosa Hotel Boutique
Address: 1a. Calle Oriente No. 11 | Alameda Santa Rosa, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Santa Rosa Hotel Boutique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel Casa Santa Rosa is one of the most luxurious Hotels in Antigua Guatemala, offering our guests the comfort, tranquility, security, in an exclusive environment. Two beautiful gardens contribute to the natural environment which will make you feel right at home.Casa Santa Rosa is located just a few minutes from the Central Park to La Antigua Guatemala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Santa Rosa Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing