We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, fantastic service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Santa Rosa Hotel Boutique
Ranked #27 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I used Trip Advisor to help choose the hotels that my husband, son and I stayed in during our December 2012 trip to Guatemala. Casa Santa Rosa was by far our favorite. This is a fabulous boutique hotel!

The communication I had via email with Andrea, the manager, before we even arrived was great: she was prompt, helpful and thorough. She arranged for Edgar, one of the hotel employees, to pick us up at the airport. He was waiting for us when we arrived and couldn't have been nicer or more helpful.

The hotel is even prettier than the pictures on the website can convey, with beautiful landscaping and flowers all around. The inner courtyard is so self-contained that it feels like a luxurious oasis. The rooms themselves are beautiful. The staff had set up an extra bed in the room before our arrival for our teenage son. We had plenty of space in the room for the three of us. Plus we had lots of room in the outdoor areas to read or relax. (I would recommend a room off the street because it's quieter.)

The breakfasts are so good and so filling that we rarely ate lunch. The staff are all really nice and very accommodating. When my son's stomach was upset one morning, one of the women on staff made him a special tea to help his stomach. There were lots of little touches like this throughout our stay.

Andrea and the rest of her staff are so nice and helpful. She always was happy to make recommendations for sightseeing or restaurants.

We visited Atitlan and Tikal after our stay in Antigua and stayed one last night in Antigua before flying home. Our plan had been to stay in a less expensive hotel on our last night. But our stay at Casa Santa Rosa was so delightful that we cancelled the other reservation and came back here for our last evening. It felt like coming home. I can't say enough about how great this hotel is. You will be happy you stayed here!

Room Tip: The rooms off the street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolinatraveler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2013

I had the same experience as Yakermary. Arrived a nite early and was moved to this fantastic location. The grounds couldn't have been more beautiful. The location was perfectly convenient to the rest of town. The staff were so helpful in booking airport transportation for us and giving us dinner recommendations. We definitely felt spoiled while we stayed here. Also had very good wi-fi.

Room Tip: Just one block down and one block left is the restaurant El Convento. A little pricey but worth it f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderinAndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We had a hotel reserved in Antigua, but arrived a night early and they did not have a room. so they moved us to Casa Santa Rosa. They took the money we had already paid to the other hotel and charged us the same amount for the 2nd night even though it was considerably more. The water in the rooms were very hot, so much so we had enough to fill the huge Jacuzzi type whirlpool bath. The rooms were huge and clean and very private. The breakfast that came with the room was exceptional. The staff went out of their way to provide us with a wonderful experience. The locations was right on the Lonely Planet recommend walking trail. Only 2 blocks to the main pedestrian road where the arch is. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yakermary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Just back from a week in the Antigua area and spend Valentine's night at the Casa Santa Rosa. Cannot say enough nice things about the hotel and staff. It is an oasis of peace in a very hectic little city. Very close to all of the attractions of the city on a lovely, tree lined street. The rooms are big and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and the staff were very nice and very helpful. Will stay there for sure on our next trip.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lewmorski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

This charming boutique hotel offers the perfect combination for those looking for: relaxation, luxurious comfort without the formality and exceptional attention to detail in both service and accommodations.

We were particularly impressed by the sincere, genuine and seamless service that the Manager Andrea and her staff exhibited. They were like 5-star hotel Elves- anticipating when you needed their assistance and magically disappearing when you wanted privacy and space. Well done. Very impressive.

We viewed many rooms before making our final choice (a hard decision as they are ALL amazing and unique). We chose ¨Suite Magnolia 4¨for its layout (website pics don't do justice), abundant natural light, candlelit fireplace with living room and the bathroom's grande skylight.

We knew this was where we wanted to stay from the moment we peeked in the carved wooden door's window and then warmly greeted by Andrea, the reservations manager. The boutique hotel has a wonderful layout and flow to it. Gardens, walkways, various seating area, small details- all thoughtfully designed without being over-designed, stuffy or contrived.

Very well priced!
We were offered a special price of $140 a night which included breakfast, free parking, wifi and early check in (10am) The room was the size of a presidential suite at most hotels. Large but architecturally charming, private and comfortable. King sized bed with fireplace filled with ivory pillar candles. Vase of pink roses tastefully arranged not cheesy. The bathroom was very large (probably 10'x20') and featured a large shower, double sink and the ceiling was essentially one big skylight diffused by white sheers.

Private transportation: After accessing the driving situation at the airport and Antigua, we wanted to find private transportation from the hotel to the airport where we could control how fast the driver drove (most drivers are paid by how many runs they do so therefore, drive dangerously fast.) Andrea assisted us with finding private transport from the hotel to the airport ($36 for 2 people.) We were really impressed by our driver Edgar Monzón and his comfortable, clean Volkswagen sedan. We got to the airport quickly but safely. We would highly recommend Edgar as he was genuine, outgoing, very personable, responsible and a great driver. If you speak spanish, you might end up talking the entire drive with him like we did.

We would highly recommend this hotel and Andrea's service -we can't wait to visit again hopefully soon as it surely exceeded our expectations! Well done!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katma_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013 via mobile

We came to this hotel by tripadvisor recomendation for the first time. Since than we return here twice in the last month because we just fell inlove with place and the staff.
The rooms are decorated with lovley style, very clean and big.
The staff are friendly and always willing to help. The hotel is well reserved thank to the staff that keep cleaning and nurture the beutiful garden !!!
Oh, and the breakfast is great.
Definattly the best hotel in Antigua

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shellylipman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This hotel would have been nice, however it's terribly overpriced. It's several blocks away from Parque Central and many of the tourist destinations in Antigua, and also has no restaurant on premises. The rooms are impractically large, which is probably where the high price comes in, and while the gardens are beautiful, there's far more beautiful and interesting things to do in Antigua than relax in the hotel's garden.

But most importantly, the plumbing is spotty. My reservation for a standard room was outfitted with a great shower, but no hot water. After being urged not to leave immediately, I was upgraded to the suite: an even larger room, with not only a shower (that was broken) but a hot tub (which also didn't have hot water).

If you're going to Antigua to relax at a hotel, just check the water first before you hand over any money to Casa Santa Rosa. If you're going to Antigua to see the sights and enjoy the wonderful food and nightlife, spend your money (and far less of it) on a place closer to Parque Central, because you probably won't be spending much time in the room anyway.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa Santa Rosa H, Gerente at Casa Santa Rosa Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013
Google Translation

Sr. David McCann

Para nosotros hubiera sido un gusto que su estancia fuera agradable.

Según su comentario gastó demasiado dinero lo cual no es ciero, nosotros no hicimos ningún cobro de la tarifa que habíamos acordado para su habitación y con respecto al servicio de agua, todas nuestras habitaciones tienen servicio de agua caliente ya que antes de que los huéspedes ingresen, nuestro personal de ama de llaves y recepción hacen los chequeos previos y que todo esté en optimas condiciones al momento del ingreso del huésped.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#7 of 75 in Antigua
434 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Good Hotel Antigua
Good Hotel Antigua
#8 of 75 in Antigua
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pensativo House Hotel
Pensativo House Hotel
#14 of 75 in Antigua
172 reviews
0.9 mi away
Soleil La Antigua
Soleil La Antigua
#12 of 75 in Antigua
545 reviews
0.6 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Santa Rosa Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Santa Rosa Hotel Boutique

Address: 1a. Calle Oriente No. 11 | Alameda Santa Rosa, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range: £73 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Santa Rosa Hotel Boutique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel Casa Santa Rosa is one of the most luxurious Hotels in Antigua Guatemala, offering our guests the comfort, tranquility, security, in an exclusive environment. Two beautiful gardens contribute to the natural environment which will make you feel right at home.Casa Santa Rosa is located just a few minutes from the Central Park to La Antigua Guatemala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Santa Rosa Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing