We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay and perfect location in the centre of Antigua”
Review of Hotel Casa Antigua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casa Antigua
Ranked #29 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2010

Casa Antigua is a nice, quaint and not too big hotel in the centre of historic Antigua. Excellent price-quality balance and great, personalized service of the exceptional Esperanza and Edgar and lovely breakfast on the patio every morning. Absolutely worth your stay and room 1 is a true recommendation! We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renee0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2010

We really liked Hotel Casa Antigua. The rooms were clean and comfortable. One room we stayed in didn't have a lot of natural light but the other was nice and bright. There was lots of outdoor space to sit and read. The internet was unreliable and was down a lot of the time.
The staff was accommodating and friendly. They arranged shuttle service and dealt with a local adventure company when we had a problem.
We loved having breakfast in the beautiful courtyard with hummingbirds flying around us. There was a simple buffet breakfast every morning with coffee, cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt, eggs, beans and sausage.
Our only problem was that we had originally reserved a room at Casa Rustica. When we arrived we were told they didn't have a room for us and that we had to stay at Casa Antigua. We didn't see the rooms at Casa Rustica but from the photos they seems very similar to those at Casa Antigua. This "bait and switch" happened to a few other people as well.
Overall the hotel was a little expensive but it was clean, comfortable and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ohew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

I liked everything about this hotel. It was clean and comfortable with great staff and a good breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mickeyd81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

The best of everything, We were set up with the right tours and adventures, They know what to do and where to go. Thanks

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wbmccray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

I have stayed in several places in Antigua. I loved staying here.
A group of 6 women on a mission/womens retreat along with our driver and guides stayed 3 nights here. It is gorgeous, clean and quiet; which is sometimes hard to find. Its really close to the Arch and Central Park. Esperanza and the staff are so nice and helpfu. Its a great value too. I will be going back with 22 other people in Sept. and we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tanszy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

I found my visit to be most interesting. The staff was eager to please and provide services as needed.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cowboybf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2010

It felt like a home away from home. Very close to the central park. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KentuckyCougar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#26 of 75 in Antigua
198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#50 of 75 in Antigua
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
#47 of 75 in Antigua
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
#44 of 75 in Antigua
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Parque
Hotel Casa del Parque
#34 of 75 in Antigua
230 reviews
0.7 mi away
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
#30 of 75 in Antigua
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Antigua

Address: 3rd Calle Poniente # 5, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range: £40 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Antigua 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical property in the majestic colonial city of Antigua Guatemala, only a 2 minute walk from central park in a very safe and tranquil location, large comfy rooms filled with many priceless antiques. We offer all private rooms w/bath, 24hr hot water, cable TV, free fast WI-FI & free internet computer for guest use, breakfast buffet is offered, travel agency & travel services, laundry service, bag storage & a helpful bilingual staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Casa Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing