We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent restaurant”

La Pena de Sol Latino
Ranked #153 of 355 Restaurants in Antigua
Price range: US$5 - US$11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

This is an excellent restaurant and I would highly recommend it. The coconut- lemonade drink is delicious and I can highly recommend the nachos and seafood dishes. The atmosphere inside is welcoming and the waiters could not have been more helpful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    34
    12
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant and Great Music...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Every time our church mission teams visit Antigua, we make plans to eat here. We love Bill and Mary Harris the owners, and we also love the food and the live Andean music in this place. It is always a real treat. The grouper volcanoes are delicious by the way. Ask about their special lemonade drink...nice. So, don't go to Antigua without eating here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

This was my second trip to Antigua and my second time to enjoy La Pena de Sol Latino. This is an absolutely wonderful, quaint restaurant. Be sure you start with one of their "Lemonade" drinks! It is addictive. The food was delicious - my wife ordered the Chicken Quesadillas and I actually ordered a hamburger simply because when we were seated I saw another customer being served one and it looked so good I could not resist! Both dishes were fantastic!
They also have a 2 or 3 person band that plays and sings classic latin music including several different pan flutes. The music is both tastefully done and high quality, and truly adds to the ambiance.
The owners, Bill and Mary are hands on and love to personally interact with their guests, which ensures a very high quality of service. They have a 16 year old local teenager they are helping to afford to attend school - he makes several different kinds of jewelry - necklaces, bracelets, ear rings, etc. and always has some beautiful scarves that he offers for sell. This is done with great taste - offered but with no pressure. He is a humble young man, living on his own and working to put himself through school. We purchased several items from him to help him but also because they were really nice items at very reasonable prices.
Dessert!!! We ordered the brwnies and ice cream - it was incredible!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GregKell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lapenaantigua, Owner at La Pena de Sol Latino, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for the review and for supporting Felipe. He is 14, works hard making and selling jewelry and now he is in 2nd grade. We are very proud of him! Hurry back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Dora, Florida
1 review
“Lo mejor en Antigua!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

FANTASTIC! La Peña del Sol is the best restaurant in Antigua! The food is delicious, the lemonade is addictive, the service is outstanding, the music is mesmerizing, and Bill & Mary (owners) are amazing! I bring 20+ groups here a year and it only gets better. La Peña will be one of the highlights of your stay in Antigua, I promise!

Check out the Saturday morning cooking class.... I did and it was a treat to learn and cook typical Guatemalan food. The chefs mad the class fun AND delicious!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hoopmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lapenaantigua, Owner at La Pena de Sol Latino, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thanks, Hoopmeister, for the great review! And for bringing such great people to our restaurant! We always enjoy having you! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigua, Guatemala
1 review
“Best meal I have had in Antigua yet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

This is a great restaurant, pet friendly, cozy, friendly and great food! Owners are very hospitable. The music is typically wonderful for Antigua. We will be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pami_B_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Pena de Sol Latino also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to La Pena de Sol Latino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing