We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shaky start but they made up for it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casa del Parque
Ranked #34 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2013

A mixup in our reservation did not get us off on the right foot. They more than made up for it and we enjoyed our stay here immensly. It was only 1/2 block away from the main square and close to so much shopping and dining. Our room was excellent. Very comfortable beds, nice hot showers and an incredible view. Breakfast was tasty and adequate. Everyone was always friendly and helpful. We would stay here again and recommend it highly.

Room Tip: 2nd floor volcano view is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lams45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2013

The location was perfect – closest to La Antigua’s Central Parque. The facility is well maintained and has a very satisfying old-colonial appeal, with beautiful gardens, and a friendly staff. They were hard workers and were really trying to make our stay pleasant and comfortable -- good people. The reception staff is bilingual (Evi has a very good grasp of communicating and could work her way into other positions in international business environments.)
The staff did not know how to work the pumps and aeration system for the swimming pool and hot tub. After two days, the water began turning green and slime was forming in the corners of the pool. The pool/tub tiles need cleaning. The hot tub did not have sufficient water levels and some of the parts should be replaced to perform their job. Websites offering pool and tub/sauna as an amenity should be available for the whole day, be clean, and operating correctly throughout the whole stay – that was one of the amenities I looked for (and paid for) in staying in hotels in the area. With only 15 rooms, I felt this facility was priced high compared to other comparable locations I found along my touring. Still, I was satisfied that I was able to make my trip enjoyable and found the people of La Antigua very friendly and inviting.

Room Tip: Room next to kitchen is noisy. Upper rooms appear more sun but will be hotter (no A/C at location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bugsy54961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I'll break down the review in different parts so it's helpful for those people seeking detailed info:
-Location: couldn't bee closer to the action, is half block from the center park were on the weekends Antigua has some activities, and well positioned in the middle of restaurants and shops, you couldn't pick a more centered spot to stay. One block from ATM's, Citibank, cafeteria (Starbucks style) and a lot of restaurants that explode the Guatemalan cuisine and found some thai, itallian, mexican, etc...
- Food: well, for the breakfast they charge $5 USD (40 quetzales), and includes scrambled eggs, beans, fried bananas and sausages, plus orange juice (not fresh made) and coffee, while this could sound like a good deal, once you start walking around you'll find formal restaurants with the same deal and less price! 25 quetzales (3 USD). I just say that breakfast is not one of the strong sides of this place.
- Attention: to be fair I have to say that this is one of the strongest sides of all Antigua, and the personnel on this hotel is not different, 1st class! available at all moment, wanting to help you in all your needs, lovely!
- Rooms: clean, rustic style (wood), big, hard bed, shower with decent water pressure. On the noise since I've seen many comments I wanted to be clear on this, there is indeed in the hotel next door a bar that is most of the time crowded (because it's really good ambient, mostly foreigners), I couldn't hear them probably because I picked a room in the opposite side so I think this part can be controlled depending if you are clear with the front desk and ask them to place you far (entering to the hotel all rooms on the left will match this). The room doors are not thick so yes if there is people walking you could hear some noises, the hotel wasn't crowded so it was not a problem for my or my 4 yr daughter, not enough to keep us awake, I think because it was low season.
Pool: it does has a pool, because of the cold weather we decided not to use it but seems that during summer it can be fun for the kids.
Conclusion: Good hotel to stay, in the middle of the action, about the comments on the noisy rooms I have to say that this can be solved depending on the room location, would be unfair to catalog this hotel as noisy overall for this detail.
I'm raiting kids activities and fitness center as poor because there are non, not because it was bad.

Room Tip: Ask them to give you a room on the left area, don't pick the right because this would be closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okumare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I wonder if I stayed in the same place as the other reviewers. I was there this year at the beginning of August and had no problems with noise. Our room was right near the reception, so maybe the other part of the hotel was noisy.

We had a budget trip but decided to go mad at the end and splash out on Hotel Casa del Parque. Staff are nice, breakfast is tasty and the jacuzzi can be hot if you ask the staff to turn up the heat!

Room Tip: Near the reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cybersusst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

The location is ideal but as others have said make for loud nights! It was very easy to hear loud music, talking, laughing, even karaoke form the neighboring bars until very late or should I say early in the morning. We were then woken up early by other guests talking, staff working on the hotel grounds, city sounds. Several mornings we woke up at 6:30 a.m. to workers trimming trees. The thin walls made it easy to hear our neighbors (I could hear our neighbor snoring through the wall and chatting early in the morning). Unfortunately we were sick for part of our stay, therefore were in our room a great deal. I suspect that had we not been sick we would have been gone more and may not have been so bothered by the noise. Otherwise, the room was spacious, clean, comfortable and the grounds beautiful. The wifi did not work and the breakfast was good. Minus the noise this was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandra m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mexicohicks1, Owner at Hotel Casa del Parque, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

We appreciate all the reviews, positive or negative. We always try to solve any reasons for negative things, and we had some noise problems from a bar across the street during July and August. This bar was operating after legal hours and was closed down on Sept 8th. They lost their lease and there will not be any more noise problems for our hotel. We apologize to any guest that were affected during this short time, but we as a hotel did all we could do to give our guest a good service. Sometimes things happen that are out of our control, but we recieved many bad reviews solely for this unrepecting business next door. Now that problem has been solved and we are a noise free hotel again. So, when reading reviews of Hotel Casa del Parque, please disregard the noise problems, because they are not a problem any longer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

This hotel is ideally located near the square. However, it is across the street from Riki's bar and above Ocelot which means that many nights every week it is almost imposible to sleep; drunk foreigners keep you up til 4 and Guatemalan workers wake you up at 6:30! The hotel is pretty, the staff hard-working and helpful. But if you value your sleep, think twice. I see that someone commented ont he free wifi -- we found it to be unreliable. And we were charged US$5 for breakfast so only did this once.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsKNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mexicohicks1, Owner at Hotel Casa del Parque, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

We appreciate all the reviews, positive or negative. We always try to solve any reasons for negative things, and we had some noise problems from a bar across the street during July and August. This bar was operating after legal hours and was closed down on Sept 8th. They lost their lease and there will not be any more noise problems for our hotel. We apologize to any guest that were affected during this short time, but we as a hotel did all we could do to give our guest a good service. Sometimes things happen that are out of our control, but we recieved many bad reviews solely for this unrepecting business next door. Now that problem has been solved and we are a noise free hotel again. So, when reading reviews of Hotel Casa del Parque, please disregard the noise problems, because they are not a problem any longer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The hotel is very beautiful, but its location next to a bar makes it difficult to find sleep before 3 am. The rooms are small. Free internet everywhere, breakfast (although basic) is included in the price, the location very close to the Parque is ideal, but if you need to rest well, this is not the place to be. In addition to the noise from the bar I also found the walls extremely thin; i could understand every word of the conversation in the neighbouring room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NGrube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mexicohicks1, Owner at Hotel Casa del Parque, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

We appreciate all the reviews, positive or negative. We always try to solve any reasons for negative things, and we had some noise problems from a bar across the street during July and August. This bar was operating after legal hours and was closed down on Sept 8th. They lost their lease and there will not be any more noise problems for our hotel. We apologize to any guest that were affected during this short time, but we as a hotel did all we could do to give our guest a good service. Sometimes things happen that are out of our control, but we recieved many bad reviews solely for this unrepecting business next door. Now that problem has been solved and we are a noise free hotel again. So, when reading reviews of Hotel Casa del Parque, please disregard the noise problems, because they are not a problem any longer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#26 of 75 in Antigua
198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#28 of 75 in Antigua
433 reviews
0 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#21 of 75 in Antigua
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel la Catedral
Hotel la Catedral
#20 of 75 in Antigua
271 reviews
0.6 mi away
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
#30 of 75 in Antigua
143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa del Parque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Parque

Address: 4th Ave Norte # 5, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range: £63 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa del Parque 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 4-star hotel, with 5-star service, in the beautiful colonial city of Antigua Guatemala, only a few steps from central park in a very safe and tranquil location, which ensures your stay will be comfortable and enjoyable. Close to all the historical sites. We offer 15 rooms w/bath, cable TV, free fast WI-FI & free internet computer for guest use, breakfast buffet offered, heated swimming pool, sauna, travel agency, travel services & a helpful bilingual staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Casa del Parque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing