We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near main square in Antigua Guatamala.”
Review of Hotel Santa Clara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Santa Clara
Ranked #82 of 133 Antigua B&B and Inns
Essex
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Near main square in Antigua Guatamala.”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

About 5 minutes walk to the main square where there are many shops, restaurants and bars. Pleasant, well restored traditional hotel. Good rooms with queen sized beds. Old style TV. Roof light with no blind so woken quite early by light which was not a problem. No A/C but not needed. No tea/coffee. Good free Wi-Fi in room. Good shower and shower room. Very pleasant courtyard. Supermarket next door.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    12
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
2
8
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The rooms are ok, they are clean, and the building is nice. Unfortunately the atmosphere was a bit cold, not much light in the whole building, no staff around when I arrived. There might be better places in the same price range.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessatraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

It's not take you so long to reach the downtown. The advantage of this hotel was there was a small bakery nearby (just 2 mins walk). It's not expensive. The taste was good. There was a convenient next to the hotel as well. It's pretty a good location for me if there were some shops nearby. I was so sick when I traveled in Antigua. All of my tour group went to travel during the day, but I had to take a rest at the hotel, so, it's like I went to the pastry shop a lot because I didn't have enough power to walk too faraway from the hotel. I can say that 'that bread saved my life.' haha....Antigua is a old town with a beautiful landscape of volcano. You will like this city.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goodidear999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
horsham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed here as part of our G Adventures Tour. The rooms were small & basic with the hotel just a short walk from the main square. Not a great hotel but there is a shop just outside to buy drinks and snacks and a nice bakery next door which also does a tasty breakfast.
We had a nice view of the volcano from our room which was a bomus but we saw more inviting hotels around Antigua.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This place is the type of place you get what you pay for.. Not much to it, quite simple. It does have a daunting entrance, with the timber doors opening up to a nicer venue. The hotel is different. The rooms are quite dark and eery, the bathroom is very basic, but larger than i thought it would be. No in room safe or air conditioner. but that isn't much of a problem, as it is quite safe behind the high brick walls and solid timber gates, and the exposed concrete/brick rendered walls in the room act as a good insulator to keep the heat out.

Not the most inviting place, if you blink you will miss it. Right next door there is a convenience store for you to purchase your snacks drinks or smokes. next door on the other side, you will find a nice bakery which makes a nice coffee, and light snacks for breakfast.

The court yard is also quite small, there is no restaurant in the complex, although walk a few blocks to a lovely place called "Bohemia" and the owner Gabby who speaks english will whip you up a great meal at a great price... very welcoming.. be sure to visit Bohemia for a nice feed.

WiFi is available here. the staff wont greet you with much and will not inform you of much. The staff did not even show us to our room. and we found the WiFi code printed on a card located in the entrance hallway table.

Antigua though is a wonderful city and has many cute shops and the architecture is beautiful. at the end of the street this hotel is on you will see a beautiful tall volcano. an amazing sight. Central park is about 2 blocks from this hotel, which is basically the heart of the town.

In summery, the hotel is very basic, the staff is not the most helpful, it does look dodgy as hell from the outside, but inside it is cute. the rooms don't offer you much and the hotel is over all simple. But for some where to lay your head at night after a busy day exploring the beautiful city of Antigua, all the walking you will do through the magical cobble stone streets admiring some beautiful architecture, and wonderful coloured homes and shops, whilst meeting some lovely people... this place is a good cheap safe hotel to rest.

Safe Travels.

Simon from
Melbourne, Australia.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
98 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of Gap tour.

Room wasn't cleaned properly, half bottle of water on the table.

Room is dark and uninviting. Staff is very unhelpful( which is the exception in Antigua).

There is loads of better places in the same price range closer to the main plaza.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cautiousglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Antigua hotels

Mechanicville, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

The formidable old timbered doors mask a very pleasant respite after a days sojourn in the breathtakingly lovely city of Antigua. Our second floor room was compact but lovely with a small balcony looking out over roof tops as the spread at the typical one to two-story height to the city limit, and then had a magnificent backdrop of one of the iconic volcanoes. The room was clean, the common spaces were charming, the hotel was safe, and the location was easily accessible by walking to all areas of the city. There was a great bakery and coffee shop two steps from the front door for a quick breakfast every morning that we didn't walk to one of the full service restaurants in the city square area. We felt it was an amazing value, and definitely provided a non-USA hotel experience that we feel should be part of the traveling experience. In our hotel choices, we look forward to being provided a different experience based on what a local hotelier feels is acceptable for the price charged. These differences, to us, is what helps make the travel experience an opportunity for personal growth. Embracing the nuances of what is offered, rather than enumerating deficiencies compared to some preconceived ideal helps turn every boutique hotel like the Sta. Clara into a true Antiguan joy.

Room Tip: the balcony rooms seem less claustrophobic, but the other rooms may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcvilleme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#21 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa del Parque
Hotel Casa del Parque
#32 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
#53 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#25 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#5 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#46 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Clara

Property: Hotel Santa Clara
Address: 2a Ave. sur 20, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Santa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing