We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Craft Market” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercado de Artesanias

Mercado de Artesanias
Ranked #6 of 35 Shopping in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Craft Market”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

I really like this craft market. Generally, venders are polite and avoid being pushy. They will greet you as you walk by their shop and invite you to look, but they will not hound you as some venders do in other parts of the world. There are a variety of products available. Expect to pay a small fee to use the restroom. You'll need to ask a vender to locate the staff person with the key. There is an ATM machine on site. You can find a small place to purchase soft drinks or coffee, but to date there is not a restaurant. Expect to negotiate with every vender. Its part of the fun. Be polite and have fun. You'll get better prices from venders who like you. Its best to purchase with the local currency (Quatzales) but most venders will take US dollars. If you use dollars you'll need clean, unmarked, un-torn bills. Avoid $1 because venders have a difficult exchanging them at the bank. There is another market next door outside the area of the Artisan Market. You should probably avoid going deep inside that area alone.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Chapingros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    33
    14
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
203 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“All the stalls have the same stuff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

It was nice to walk around for the first 5 mins, then you realize that every shop seems to have the same stuff. I'm sure it was a good idea grouping them together to make it easier for tourists, but if you are looking for a unique piece, this is not quite the place. However, if you are sweeping (relatively) cheap mementos for a large group of friends/ family, this could be the place.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank travel-bitten-shark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pretty good market”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

I thought this was a nice little market for souvenir shopping. It's definitely geared towards tourists and sells the usual tourist goodies -- t-shirts, key chains, toys, native cloth, jewelry, chocolates, coffee, etc. It gets a little bit repetitive after a while, but since the market is pretty self-contained, it's easy to walk through and get comparative prices for things. That said, things were more expensive here than ChiChi Market and I felt that there was a little less room for bargaining prices down. But it was otherwise a pretty good time.

It's a bit of a labyrinth but the great thing is that it's quasi indoors -- it's almost entirely covered which becomes important when you're shopping during the rainy season. Also, there are some really nice hidden gems. I saw a great painting that was a bit too big for my apartment. I asked the young man there if he had it in a smaller size and he actually offered to replicate the painting for me in a smaller size. He'd actually done the paintings himself. It was nice not to be buying mass produced tourist junk. I was able to come pick it up in two days, freshly prepared (if still a bit wet). Wonderful.

This is not as authentic a market experience as the ChiChi Market (Chichicastenango), but still great for picking up some souvenirs for friends and family.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ndidi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olney, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Overwhelming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

For me, I wish I could have had a second day to go back and get the things that I found myself thinking about that night. There is SO MUCH, and much that is similar, that I think it is best enjoyed casually. I bought some beautiful things at amazing prices, but have regret that almost hurts about two jade bracelets that I didn't buy. There is a lot of bargaining that goes on, and some of it too aggressive for me, but I also really enjoyed some vendors that were really sweet, willing to talk a bit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank jlee2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varde, Denmark
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Packed with all kinds of Guatemalean souvenirs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

This place gives you a great overview of all the typical souvenirs, you can buy everywhere around Guatemala. It is slightly expensive, though, but if you don't have time (or patience) to discover all the smaller markets, this is definitely a good place to buy souvenirs and spend some quality time in Antigua.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank SofieToft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mercado de Artesanias also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Mercado de Artesanias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing