We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful calm place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Camino Real Antigua
Ranked #7 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful calm place”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Great base to explore antigua, nicely decorated in a colonial style although modern the hotel has the charm of an old building.

The rooms can be a bit dark, more light would be great.

The staff is very friendly.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ike_fedas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Antigua, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guest!!

Thank you for a great comment it always motivating to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to keep our high service standard. It is a very important source of information to know our guests experience through their feedback.

Any additional comment will be welcome.

We hope to see you soon again in Camino Real Antigua.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    183
    32
    7
    18
See reviews for
155
204
26
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I spent 6 days here and everything was excellent.
The staff very friendly, attention to details and the room was like new. The bathroom simply outstanding, with a very high roof and with a lot of high quality details.
Internet quality was very good, but a bit expensive because they charge a daily rate.
Although there are many options for breakfast and dinner very close to the hotel, the restaurante and the bar there are a great option if you don´t want to leave the hotel.
Location is great as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan Cruz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Antigua, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your time writting about our property, it is a very important source of information to know our guests experience through their feedback, your comments will help us to improve the high service in each of your visit.

We really appreciate your additional comment about internet, we already sent the suggestion to the responsible department in order to give you more benefits in your visit. We hope to see you soon in Camino Real Antigua.

Very truly yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Camino Real is a beautiful hotel, very clean, well managed, very secured and reasonably priced. Staff is excellent, most everyone speaks good English, security is abundant, front desk is excellent.

Be aware that most of us travel with a cellphone and i-Pad or notebook these days (at least two internet devices). The hotel will charge $10.00 per device, per-day (otherwise $20 for internet per day). Internet at this hotel is not reliable and it was disappointing to have had paid for very poor internet service while staying there but internet at any hotel in Antigua has its bad days since internet in Antigua isn't the best.

But I give this hotel 5-Star's in that the staff goes out of their way to be of assistance and most importantly if you lose something on the premises the staff will always return it to you (unlike most hotels in Guatemala). I had left my backpack with passport, money and i-Pad near the lobby, and staff immediately stored it for me.

One does not find this type of honesty these days so this hotel is one which I will most definitely stay at again in the near future.

Room Tip: There are numerous hotels in the area. This hotel has one of the best reputations for being reliabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Antigua, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Guest!!

Thank you for a great comment it always motivating to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to keep our high service standard. It is a very important source of information to know our guests experience through their feedback, your comments will help us to improve the high service in each of your visit.

We hope to see you soon again in Camino Real Antigua.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mamaroneck, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I spent three weeks in Antigua studying Spanish and I stayed at the Camino Real. The hotel was beautiful and the staff was very attentive. I was alone on this trip and everyone helped to make my stay enjoyable and very comfortable.
I attended the school Ixchel for a four hour course each morning. The teaching was excellent and the ambience was pleasant and friendly. It was totally a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelpartner47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Antigua, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your time filling this survey in, it is a very important source of information to know our guests experience through their feedback, your comments will help us to improve the high service in each of your visit. We really appreciate your additional comments.

We hope to see you soon in Camino Real Antigua.

Very truly yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I have travelled over 166 countries and have stayed in 5 stars hotels.Camino Real deserves all the stars. There is nothing terribly bad about this hotel. In fact, it is a great value for your money. Rooms are extremely clean, the beds way too confortable and the people very nice. Needless to say, the location is great. The outdoors are impecably groomed. Very well designed, rooms, restaurants, gardens. Great jacuzzi, pool size. The gym is small, like most resorts...but we are not here to workout neither work...If I had to make a change, it would be the wi-fi issue. The charge is US10 per device. That I would strongly recommend to the administration to take a good look at it and make it more affordable. Between the 2 of us we had 3 iphones, 2 ipads and a laptop. I think Camino Real would be more attractive to future guests if they changed their policy. But that, would not deter us from coming back. I peronally think Camino Real is the bet choice in Antigua....seriously

Room Tip: all rooms have windows to the court yard....they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mezzogiorno B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Antigua, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear guest,

We are very glad to receive this kind of comments about our hotel; we really appreciate a positive stroke that pushes us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.
I will take the liberty to put your comment in our info staff board as it always motivating to receive such appreciation form our guests.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Camino Real is a chain of international hotels that pride themselves in being a cut above the rest. Their Antigua location does just that. Their beautiful layout, lush landscaping and traditional decor add up to all the hype.
But why oh why do this and other hotels insist on charging for internet. In this day and age Internet access is not a luxury but a basic service. This glitch is small but I hope they take notice. I and many would rather get internet access than a robe, flower or chocolate on my pillow.
Do try this beautiful place

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nednedned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Antigua, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your time writting about our property, it is a very important source of information to know our guests experience through their feedback, your comments will help us to improve the high service in each of your visit. Thank you for your additional comment about the internet fee, we already sent this information to the department in charge of it, for us your satisfaction is the most important.

A We hope to see you soon in Camino Real Antigua.

Very truly yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Beautiful lobby, rooms, excellent bedding, outdoor jacuzzi, food, location, service... If you want an affordable 5 star hotel, this is it. Hotel is about 4 blocks from the town's central park, which is really close, if you don't feel like walking they can provide you with transportation.

Room Tip: Any room you choose is great, trust me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldtrekker21012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Antigua, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your time writting about our property, it is a very important source of information to know our guests experience through their feedback, we really appreciate comments like yours, it is a very possitive stroke to know how was your experience during your stay.

Thank you again for every nice word, we hope to see you soon again in Camino Real Antigua.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.2 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#4 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#8 of 82 in Antigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#6 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Soleil La Antigua
Soleil La Antigua
#20 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Antigua

Property: Camino Real Antigua
Address: 7a Calle Poniente 33B, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Antigua
#5 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#11 Family Hotel in Antigua
#11 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Camino Real Antigua 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to enjoy of a first class experience in a luxury hotel that offers comfort and elegance in the middle of a legendary city. It is located at only 5 blocks from the Main Plaza of La Antigua, near from the main historical monuments, plazas, artisans workshops and commercial centers as well as another interest sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camino Real Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Antigua Hotel Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing