We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cirilo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cirilo
Ranked #2 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

This hotel is certainly a hidden gem. It's a 15 min walk from Center Park which is great as it's quiet and away from the loud noise at night. The small boutique hotel was build around an old crumbled church so feels warm, elegant yet completely comfortable...and affordable. Once in the colorful courtyard and a cocktail in hand, we didn't want to leave. It was as though we were sitting amongst ruins in a museum and grounds at a botanical garden. Ricardo, the manager/owner was attentive, courteous, generous and always on the ball. we can't more highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: any room that is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaroOco10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    38
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
63
227
28
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2011

An amazing hotel with outstanding service - get there before this becomes the next in thing in Antigua!

The hotel is built around the ruins of an 18th century monastery - the ruins form the backdrop for the pool and garden and you can admire the view from the "living room" space as well. There are only 7 rooms, making this a very intimate property.

The rooms are very well appointed and the beds were very comfortable. Our first room (#3) was excellent and for the second part of our stay, we were upgraded to room #7, an even more beautiful space with exposed walls of the ruins forming the headboard. Showers were hot and the bathrooms were excellent. The details in every part of the hotel were meticulous and chosen with care and attention.

Service was stellar - Marina, Mirna and Cristian were excellent in the service they provided.

Ricardo, the owner, was a model of customer service and attention to detail. Not only did he help with every question we had including restaurant recommendations and making reservations, he also personally dropped us and picked us up from dinner twice. Excellent job!

In the interest of being fair and balanced, the only downside was that the hotel is about 15 minutes by walk from the main Plaza Central - but that didn't deter us one bit since it probably was the reason why it was such a tranquil place.

All in all, I would highly highly recommend the place not only for its beauty and value for money ($100 US+ taxes), but also for its excellent service and attention to detail.

Ricardo - I hope you have tremendous success with Hotel Cirilo. Please pass on my best wishes to your excellent and dedicated staff (especially Marina).

Room Tip: Room #7 is the loft suite - amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krishna_gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

We chose this hotel mainly based on the TripAdvisor reviews and were not disappointed. I am actually not sure I can add much to the previous reviews. We loved Hotel Cirilo!

We arrived after 7 PM after a long shuttle ride from San Pedro. Ricardo, the owner checked us in and was friendly and helpful. We decided to have dinner in the restaurant instead of venturing out. Though the menu was fairly limited, the food was well prepared and tasty.
The hotel itself is lovely and charming. It only has 7 rooms, so has a nice intimate feel. The hotel is only a year old. Nothing is dated or worn. But the style is more classic as opposed to modern. The rooms are tastefully decorated with special touches like fireplaces and nice drapery. Everything is clean and well kept. The shower had nice hot water and pressure. There was a safe in the room. The beds are firm and comfortable. The wi-fi worked well.

The architecture is unique. The hotel has been built amid ruins. Though the grounds are not overly large, they are beautiful. The effect of the garden amid the ruins is stunning. There is a small lap pool. My friend used it and found it refreshing after a day of shopping and sightseeing.

The common areas are elegant and tasteful. The mood is so calm and relaxing. There is classical music playing softly in the background. There is also a rooftop terrace.

Breakfast was included with our stay. There were 5 different choices. I had an omelette both days and it was excellent. It came with delicious fresh fruit and warm breads, juice and coffee.

The owner and all the staff were gracious and helpful. Since we had a 7.30 AM flight, we asked Ricardo to arrange for a driver to take us to the airport. The driver was prompt and efficient. Ricardo offered to pack us some food since we would be too early for breakfast. We opted for some juice and fruit. But in retrospect, given the service (or rather lack of it ) on Delta Airlines, we should have gone for the sandwiches he offered.

The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the Central area of Antigua. Sometimes we walked but other times took either taxi or tuk tuk.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Cirilo. It was quiet, comfortable and elegant. I was very impressed with the attention to detail and the service by the staff. I would definitely return or recommend it. Maybe next time I can get my husband to come with me.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raquel_z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

With a small and friendly staff, beautifully appointed rooms, and lovely grounds, our stay was a highlight of our trip to Guatemala. The quite hotel is a long walk to the square, but a great way to unwind and an excuse to windowshop in Antigua.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank semperflorens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

We were so impressed with the design of this hotel built around the ruins of an old church. It was very peaceful, personalized service, great food and fantastic staff. We had the room with a loft for a third person. It was very clean and comfortable - bathroom facilities were top-notch. They provided a large bottle of water daily and wood for use in the fireplace. We highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hans050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point Clear, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

We loved our stay at Hotel Cirilo. We felt like guests in a private home. Service was impeccable. Highly recommended. Within walking distance to restaurants in Antigua. Stayed 6 nights and hated to leave!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casper0401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigua, Guatemala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

This hotel blew our socks off! Having read all of the fantastic reviews on Trip Advisor, we expected a great hotel, but we weren't ready for how wonderful this place truly is...

After arriving from Guatemala City, the staff was very cordial and held our luggage while we explored the city. It is approximately a 5 to 10 minute walk from the hotel to the city center. The distance is both good and bad - There is less noise and distractions being a little further from the city, but you do have to make a brief walk to get downtown for food or shopping.

The grounds of the hotel are immaculate. It has a small pool and some poolside tables. There is a restaurant as well - There are complimentary breakfasts included. The food is fabulous.

The rooms are quiet and well-appointed. They feature cathedral-esque ceilings and our room has a fireplace in it, as well as a safe. The decor definitely has a Guatemalan vibe to it. Our bed was very comfortable.

All in all, we are amazed by the quality of this cute little hotel in Antigua. We will definitely be returning to La Cirilo next time we stay in Antigua.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarrieKennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
13.8 mi away
Casa Santo Domingo
Casa Santo Domingo
#6 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.8 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#4 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#8 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.9 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#7 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Casona de Antigua
La Casona de Antigua
#10 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cirilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cirilo

Property: Hotel Cirilo
Address: Calle de los Duelos No. 11, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst the restored ruins of a colonial chapel, our hotel is a refuge of peace in the quietest area of Antigua. Only seven rooms, gardens, terrace, restaurant and solar-heated lap-pool. Complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Cirilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing