We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not miss this gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Cirilo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cirilo
Ranked #6 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Do not miss this gem”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We spent 5 nights at this glorious hotel in October. What a delight to step inside the closed gates and find this amazing hotel built around the ruins! Gardens were delightful- it was a patch of paradise. The rooms were thoughtfully designed, clean and comfortable.And the staff were so lovely- nothingh was too much trouble. We had coffee waiting for us before we left for the airport at 5am! Ricardo was the perfect host- there in the background if we needed anything- but otherwise left us alone.
We ate breakfast every morning- everything freshly prepared and simple.
We found this hotel on trip advisor- and were not disappointed. Guatemala is a long way from Australia so if we do not get back there- we certainly recommend it to others!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great- we broke our stay with a two day side trip to Lake Atitlan- so experienc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosem558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    38
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
65
228
30
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed at Hotel Cirilo during October this year. We live in Costa Rica so we are used to the Central American norm. Cirilo exceeded all of our expectations. Food was good. Staff was friendly and helpful...even preparing a take-away breakfast for us at 4AM! Grounds and the hotel itself are beautiful. We always felt secure. Recommend 100%.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ProvenPerformerCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We loved our stay at Hotel Cirilo. Built right into a ruin
the grounds are astonishing.

The rooms are clean and comfortable. ALl the staff are
friendly and helpful.

Twice we ate breakfast here. We had fruit with granola and
omelletes. The food was also very very good.

All around we couldn{t have asked for a better accomodation.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at Hotel Cirilo. Ricardo and his staff are amazing and offer a very personalized service. We strongly recommend staying in this beautiful hotel. They arrange for every single detail and even prepare our lunches to climb the Acatenango volcano at 5am!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jinprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful time at Hotel Cirilo. The hotel is well-designed and intimate - a welcoming oasis in Antigua. The level of service was very high and the hotel manager, Ricardo, was especially helpful. We were reluctant to leave at the end of our stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank instantnirvana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I can only add to the praise of the many reviewers who have had a happy stay at Hotel Cirilo. The reality is even better and more seducing than the photos. You feel like staying in a large country house smartly built into the ruins of an old chapel. Everything is impeccably kept from the rooms with working fireplaces to the lovely gardens. The Guatemaltecan breakfast is sumptuious and delicious and the price is reasonable. The hotel is in a quiet street, so that you are away from the noisy centre without beeing too far away. A short ride in a tuk tuk will bring you to all the sites and events lively and pitturesque Antigua has to offer. The best of all is the attentive staff who is always keen to help you in very way.

Room Tip: We stayed at room no. 4 with a twin bed facing the gardens, but every room is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2013

If I could give more stars I would. This hotel is very beautiful, but the best part of my stay was the people that work here. Everyone is so friendly and ready to make your stay a fantastic one. I have stayed in all kind of hotels before, but I must say that the customer service at El Cirilo has been by far the best I have experienced.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paoedson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.8 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#2 of 82 in Antigua
825 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#7 of 82 in Antigua
671 reviews
0.9 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#8 of 82 in Antigua
421 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#3 of 82 in Antigua
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cirilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cirilo

Property: Hotel Cirilo
Address: Calle de los Duelos No. 11, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst the restored ruins of a colonial chapel, our hotel is a refuge of peace in the quietest area of Antigua. Only seven rooms, gardens, terrace, restaurant and solar-heated lap-pool. Complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Cirilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing