We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”
Review of Hotel Cirilo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cirilo
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel Cirilo is beautiful. The grounds are tranquil and a perfect blend of manicured gardens and ancient ruins. The rooms are big with high ceilings and decorated with an eclectic style that suits the surroundings. Staff was very helpful and friendly. The hotel was a little hard to find as the address is a bit deceiving ( the numbers on that street are not consecutive )
Would love to return!!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Ninaomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (417)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cirilo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Let me start off by saying the service here is outstanding. We arrived late and we were greated with a nice note from Oscar apologizing he could not be there in person to greet us! I have never seen such a gesture in any hotel. He met us the next morning with smiles. He is super cool and kind. Second, Ricardo, the owner, offered us a lift to the restaurant for dinner and made reservations for us the next night. They did an incredible job with the design of the hotel and incorporating it into the monastery. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious. I don't know why anyone would want to stay anywhere else in antigua. Do not be discouraged by the 10 min walk to the center of town..it's much more peaceful to stay at cirilo.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ashanyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

There is a reason why this hotel is the number one place to stay in Antigua. Everything is amazing! We stayed here only for one night and fell in love with the place.

First of all, the service. We arrived early (8 am) on a Sunday, several hours before regular check in time. Because our room was not available yet and we had a lot of bags we didn't want to carry around with us in Antigua, Oscar (manager) graciously offered us a free room upgrade to a master suite so we could leave our bags locked safely in our room for the day. Oscar invited us for coffee and we really enjoyed chatting with him and getting to know the history of this place. Super nice guy! He gave us a map of the town and provided many suggestions of place to go for lunch and dinner.

Now the hotel itself is really special. It was built around ruins of an old monastery, and needless to say, the energy of this place was just indescribable. There was this serenity you could fee the minute you entered the hotel - similar to what you feel when you enter an old church/temple. It was peaceful and relaxing. The room was incredibly spacious, quiet and comfortable. The bed was awesome. We slept like rocks that night.

The setting of the hotel is gorgeous. They did a fantastic job with building this small boutique hotel around old ruins surrounded by with beautiful gardens and flowers everywhere. If we had more than just one day in Antigua, we would have loved to just sit outside on the grass and enjoy the scenery and tranquility of this place. Yes, it is 15-20 min walking distance to the busy downtown area - but this is one of the reasons we picked this place. It felt like we were in a monastery up in the mountains somewhere far away from civilization. We enjoyed the walk. We passed many cool stores and ruins along the way and never felt unsafe.

Lastly, the breakfast. Probably one of the most generous and delicious (free) hotel breakfasts we have ever had. We were amazed at the breakfast choices we had. It was like a 3-4 course breakfast experience, which included this delicious Guatemalan coffee. The local freshly baked banana bread was one of the highlight for us. We liked it so much we went to the bakery and bought two loafs of it to bring back to the U.S. Amazing. 5 starts. Cannot think of a single complaint or constructive criticism to provide. We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Luis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Hotel Cirilo is far the best hotel in Antigua. The accomodations are extremely well thought and designed. It's a beautiful hotel with helpful and friendly staff. Breakfast is delicious. The fireplace in the rooms is a nice detail.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xavier C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My husband, mother-n-law, and I just finished an 18 day trip to Guatemala. We stayed at several beautiful places throughout the country, however, Hotel Cirilo is the spot that is still stuck in my mind. The staff and owner were so friendly and helpful. The place was beautiful and so peaceful. We returned twice after our initial stay. Oscar and the owner also speak English. Also, this was the only hotel we stayed at that had a bath tub. It was large and clean and I enjoyed soaking in it after much walking. This is a very special place!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fancita1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Hotel Cirilio is simply beautiful. Built among church ruins, it's incredibly romantic and charming. For Antigua, a tourist town, it's very quiet, and because it only has seven rooms, you're more likely to be awakened by the birds in the garden rather than other guests. It's a very secure hotel, although the location is slightly outside the heart of town, which makes it seem a bit dodgy late at night if you happen to be walking back. We didn't have any problems, but some people recommended taking a tuk-tuk, especially if it's late or on the weekend. We grabbed a ride one night, and it cost us just over two dollars. The staff is friendly, and sweet, and they were available at seemingly all times of the day; the concierge is knowledgeable and will help you with arrange anything you want. He helped us find a great tour on Lake Atitlan and Pacaya Volcano, as well as a private car back to the airport. The hotel was so spotless that it made us ashamed of some of the hotels in America. The rooms are fairly large and charming. They don't have air-conditioning, but you won't need it either, as Antigua cools down quite a bit in the evening due to the altitude. The only thing that we didn't like was the television in the room, as it just felt out of place, and the mosquitoes, which obviously, is out of their hands (and who likes either of these things anyways? Which reminds me of a Sedaris essay.) Although we went on many day trips, we loved the Cirilo so much that we skipped a few things just to hang out at the hotel. I've stayed in quite a few hotels while traveling but maybe none as memorable as the Hotel Cirilo. Thank you for the great memories Cirilo.

Room Tip: Probably not a bad room in the hotel, as there are only seven. The room at the very end, opposing th...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Hotel Cirilo provides a clean, quiet and secure accommodation when staying at La Antigua. The contracted airport pick-up/drop-off ($20pp) was on-time and efficient specially for late night arrival. Front-desk services was helpful and reasonably priced. The room and bathroom was generally clean although the shower curtain rod was not wiped down on our first day of stay as evidenced by dirt stains on the towel when placed on it. The room comes with an in-room safe for your valuables although you may need to request for batteries to power it. Contrary to my concern, the ceiling fan was adequate but a floor fan may have been helpful after the 10-15 minutes walk back from Parque Central/Plaza Mayor area to the hotel on a hot day and/or end of the day walking activities. The complimentary breakfast was good to kick-start your day. The garden and swimming pool area is beautifully landscaped with the ruins nicely incorporated. All sights are within walking distance from either the hotel or Parque Central. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk to Santo Domingo hotel/ruins on the way to Parque Central. Our 3 course dinners with a glass of wine at Santo Domingo Hotel was about US$90 for two.

Overall, I would recommend Hotel Cirilo for folks who wants to stay in a small, well-run hotel and don't mind walking a bit to Parque Central and to visit sites.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rxchiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.3 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#8 of 75 in Antigua
437 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#7 of 75 in Antigua
318 reviews
0.8 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#5 of 75 in Antigua
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cirilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cirilo

Address: Calle de los Duelos No. 11, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range: £104 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst the restored ruins of a colonial chapel, our hotel is a refuge of peace in the quietest area of Antigua. Only seven rooms, gardens, terrace, restaurant and solar-heated lap-pool. Complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cirilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing