We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm and Serenity”
Review of Hotel Cirilo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cirilo
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Hotel Cirilo is a beautiful tranquil retreat built around the restored ruins of a 18th century church. There are seven rooms and we were the only guests. We received personalized attention, including a private 6 hour walking tour of the city with Oscar, the nephew of the owner. The hotel's location makes it ideal for exploring Antigua, but provides a peaceful setting to enjoy a lovely meal by the pool with a glass of wine. The food was delicious and well-priced. The architecture, exquisite decorations, and artwork make Hotel Cirilo an ideal location for adults without children who are looking for reasonably priced stylish accommodations in Antigua. Ricardo, the owner, and Oscar made everything easy from the reservation, to arranging airport pick-up, to a full day's activities and meals.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wanderlust2travlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

It is a small very relaxing hotel, with colonial ruins and decorated with colonial Spanish style.

The room was very comfortable with a chimney and a modern tv with cable.

In each corner there is something to admire, antiques, sculptures, modernity.

The service and the staff were excellent, I would totally recomend this hotel to couples, businessmen, or individuals with no children.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pamela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We arrived late to the hotel during a down pour in May. It was our last night in Guatemala and that day my wife had her wallet stolen traveling the country side. Needless to say we were stressed out, but the ownership went out of their way to help us. He helped us with our bags and had an umbrella waiting, opened the kitchen even though it had closed 10 minutes prior to our arrival and only charged us half of the normal rate to use the phone while canceling our credit card. The accommodations were great. Their are not many rooms and this makes the hotel very peaceful and quite. Views in the courtyard mimic the rustic relics of bigger hotels in Antigua, but with a quarter of the size. We will definitely be back to Hotel Cirilo!

Room Tip: Not sure if every room has one, but our room had a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mp_max07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This place is a little out of the way, which can be good or bad depending on your objectives in Antigua. The rooms had fireplaces and they are very charming. You can order room service with a bottle (or two) of wine for a reasonable price. The gardened grounds are in a ruined church, which is very picturesque. It is quiet and away from the Antigua party scene. Please don't bring your kids, they will ruin the atmosphere. Thanks! The breakfast is very nice. The staff is the best!

Room Tip: Room #7 is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My wife and I just returned from 4 days in Antigua, staying at the Hotel Cirilo.

We booked it based on the reviews and gorgeous photos, and it 100% lived up to all of our expectations. The hotel itself is truly beautiful - built among the ruins of a church, and with carefully manicured gardens and public areas it is truly an oasis once you enter the gates.

We were staying in Room #7, which is the largest room and has a beautiful fireplace and loft area as well as a large section of the actual ruins acting as one of the room's walls. It was one of the most unique and romantic hotel rooms we have ever stayed in.

The hotel is located just a little away form the center of town, which is perfect for guests who like to walk and explore cities on their own. To get to central park was about 15 minutes each way, which was perfect for walking up an appetite, or walking off one's dessert.

Breakfast was included every morning and we also chose to eat a couple of dinners at the hotel, the menu was simple, delicious and incredible good value, and the service from the staff at Cirilo was impeccable.

Most notably the hotel manager - Oscar - made the stay truly special. Nothing was too hard, and every request was met with enthusiasm and generosity. Oscar went above and beyond to make our stay (and our planning before our stay) seamless and special - even organizing a last minute candle-lit birthday dinner at the hotel when a restaurant in Antigua closed unexpectedly. Often when we travel it is the people that make or break the stay and in this case Oscar truly made Cirilo even more special than you would imagine from just the photos and setting.

Overall, this was an incredibly relaxing and rejuvenating week for us in a truly unique and beautiful boutique hotel.

Room Tip: I think room #7 is beautiful (fireplace and loft area) and room #6 is also lovely and well situated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AbsolutelyNoBorders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two days (one night) but I would have stayed here longer!

Quick note...my wife plans everything so I always go into our vacations with little to no knowledge of where we're staying or what activities she has planned.

This place is a diamond in the rough! The entrance seemed a bit sketchy being that it was in an alleyway. Once we were buzzed in, I was even more skeptical as we were surrounded by block walls and a few random parking spaces. Once we turned the corner and saw the actual interior of the hotel, my jaw dropped. The grounds are well kept and the garden and pool are simply beautiful!

Oscar was the manager in charge and he was quite a charming lad with an intriguing back story. Take time to chat with him as he has a strong knowledge of the town, people and culture.

We ran into an altercation with a tuk-tuk driver and he came out and handled the situation immediately.

We ate our meals in town, but did have the opportunity to try their breakfast and it was tasty!

I would highly recommend staying here if you plan on visiting Antigua!

If you have never been before and would like to see just how amazing Guatemala is, please enjoy the video we filmed while in the area!

http://youtu.be/9KlCacLtp1Y

Enjoy!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Boyd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel Cirilo is beautiful. The grounds are tranquil and a perfect blend of manicured gardens and ancient ruins. The rooms are big with high ceilings and decorated with an eclectic style that suits the surroundings. Staff was very helpful and friendly. The hotel was a little hard to find as the address is a bit deceiving ( the numbers on that street are not consecutive )
Would love to return!!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Ninaomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.8 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
925 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#7 of 75 in Antigua
809 reviews
0.4 mi away
Good Hotel Antigua
Good Hotel Antigua
#8 of 75 in Antigua
157 reviews
0.9 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#9 of 75 in Antigua
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cirilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cirilo

Address: Calle de los Duelos No. 11, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range: £91 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst the restored ruins of a colonial chapel, our hotel is a refuge of peace in the quietest area of Antigua. Only seven rooms, gardens, terrace, restaurant and solar-heated lap-pool. Complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cirilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing